• Tips gratefully accepted here. Thanks!:

  • Recent Comments

    Ivory Bill Woodpecke… on Episode 16: Public Speaki…
    Ivory Bill Woodpecke… on Episode 16: Public Speaki…
    Beata on Episode 16: Public Speaki…
    Ivory Bill Woodpecke… on Episode 16: Public Speaki…
    Ivory Bill Woodpecke… on Episode 16: Public Speaki…
    Propertius on Episode 16: Public Speaki…
    jmac on Episode 16: Public Speaki…
    Propertius on Episode 16: Public Speaki…
    jmac on Episode 16: Public Speaki…
    Propertius on Episode 16: Public Speaki…
    Propertius on Episode 16: Public Speaki…
    Propertius on Episode 16: Public Speaki…
    Propertius on Episode 16: Public Speaki…
    riverdaughter on Episode 16: Public Speaki…
    Propertius on Episode 16: Public Speaki…
  • Categories


  • Tags

    abortion Add new tag Afghanistan Al Franken Anglachel Atrios bankers Barack Obama Bernie Sanders big pharma Bill Clinton cocktails Conflucians Say Dailykos Democratic Party Democrats Digby DNC Donald Trump Donna Brazile Economy Elizabeth Warren feminism Florida Fox News General Glenn Beck Glenn Greenwald Goldman Sachs health care Health Care Reform Hillary Clinton Howard Dean John Edwards John McCain Jon Corzine Karl Rove Matt Taibbi Media medicare Michelle Obama Michigan misogyny Mitt Romney Morning Edition Morning News Links Nancy Pelosi New Jersey news NO WE WON'T Obama Obamacare occupy wall street OccupyWallStreet Open thread Paul Krugman Politics Presidential Election 2008 PUMA racism Republicans research Sarah Palin sexism Single Payer snark Social Security Supreme Court Terry Gross Texas Tim Geithner unemployment Wall Street WikiLeaks women
  • Archives

  • History

  • RSS Paul Krugman: Conscience of a Liberal

    • An error has occurred; the feed is probably down. Try again later.
  • The Confluence

    The Confluence

  • RSS Suburban Guerrilla

  • RSS Ian Welsh

  • Top Posts

Tomorrow’s Headlines

Summarize the debate in one sentence.

RD:  “Hillary Battles for Dem Nomination with Incoherent Token Male”

MABlue had several:

  • “Was This Combat Fair?”
  • “Now Hillary is Displaying her Depth and Breadth: Is there anything she won’t do to get elected?”
  • “How Hillary Clinton Destroyed The Democratic Party By Purposefully Knowing More Stuff Than Barack Obama”
  • “How Hillary Destroyed The Thrill Before It Got Up Matthews’ Nuts”
  • “Who Put That Usurper On The Stage?”

Go!

Debate Live Blog: Body Language Edition

It’s been a long time since we blogged a debate so some of you may not be familiar with the way The Confluence does things.  We tend to pay special attention to body language.  It can be very revealing.  Also, *I* don’t usually follow along in real time because I am a neurotic type and worry I’m going to jinx her.  So, it’s up to you guys to keep up to the minute.

One other thing, if you like the idea of studying body language, record the debate but watch it live with the sound off.  Write down your impressions.  Then go back and watch it with the sound on.  Notice any difference? My theory is that for people whose native language is not English, body language is an important factor in how they perceive who wins and loses.

Ok, here we go.

Obamaphiles cross the line with Sugar?

Ok, guys, you’ve gone too far. What happened to Sugar isn’t funny, it’s not a joke and one of these days, someone’s going to get hurt. Stop f^&*ing around. It’s all fun and games until someone loses a primary.

Let Sugar tell it:

I headed down South to see my family this past weekend and when I was about two hours from my parents’ house, I thought to myself, “I hope nobody bothers me about that Hillary Clinton bumper sticker on my car. I hope they just leave me alone.” Little did I know, this was a premonition.

I traveled on along 95 South when I reached a stretch that is pitch black with not much in sight when I see a car making its way down a ramp to get onto the highway. It has that cop car look, so I check my speed to make sure I’m obeying the limit and I move into the left lane. The car makes it on the highway and rolls up right next to me and travels that way, side by side, for maybe 20 or 30 seconds when it slows down and gets right behind me. Uncomfortably close. Immediately, I get angry because I was only going about 66 or so in a 70. I was driving responsibly, my tags were fine, my insurance was fine–there was no reason for what I now assumed was a cop to be tailgating me at 11pm on a darkened stretch of I-95. So, he follows me like this for about a half a mile when he turns on his blue lights. I cursed, “What the fuck?!” The lights didn’t even look like normal police blue lights. They looked almost strobe-light like and they didn’t look evenly placed in the car. I can’t even really describe it. Just, not normal.

Read the rest at Sugar’NSpice.

Obama Post-Debate Congratulatory MadLib

As we all know, Obama has won tonight’s debate. Congratulations to him! Now, the only question is, does Tweety need help writing the predestined post-debate script? I think we should give him a hand.

Post Debate Script

_______! Was that ________ or what? Obama just _________ the _________. He was _____ and fresh. Hillary just looked ______ today and off her ________, wouldn’t you say Howard? I just felt a ______________ in my __________. What a historic _________. His response to George’s question on _______ was __________, ________, and _________. And she just couldn’t deliver the knock out blow that she desperately needed. What an amazing response on __________. Do the voters of PA see what they have in this guy? His supporters are all so ________ and _________. I think he’s finally put their fears of _____ to rest once and for all. Andrea, you’ve been on the Clinton campaign bus. Have her _____ and _______ supporters come to accept that she’s proabably ________?

Ok, go to it! We’ll send the best one to MSNBC so Tweety can take the evening off and just relax until after the debate.

If you were Hillary…

…What points would you make to sway the voters of Pennsylvania? Don’t go for long winded soliliquys or treacly sentiments. What is called for is a knock out punch that voters will remember that will sum up the differences between her and Obama or will pull back the mask and expose one or the other’s true natures. Like Lloyd Bentsen telling Dan Quayle that he was no Jack Kennedy or Ronald Reagan with is “There you go again” thing. Hillary already had one with the “That hurts my feelings but I’ll try to go on”, which I thought was brilliant but was so long ago people might have forgotten it. It showed her humanity, humor and tenacity.

Ok, I’ll go first. IMHO, Obama’s appeal is that he seems to be a messianic figure who promises a vaguely defined change but his fan base is actually quite exclusionary. In ObamaWorld, not everyone gets to the Promised Land. Only DINKS, young people and AA’s. Everyone else is part of the great unwashed masses who are too stupid to be of any use to him but who he got saddled with anyway, sort of like the leftover kids he had to pick for his team. But he keeps telling us “You need me”, like, no matter how badly he treats us, we can’t do any better. I’d like to flip that meme around. “Senator Obama thinks you need him. You’re nothing without him. Senator, you can’t do anything without these people. All of these people. Rich, poor, young, old, laborers or academics. They’re the ones who get things done and *I* need *them*, every one of them. Including the voters of MI and Florida

Other ideas:

“If you are so confident you can win this contest without the voters of MI and FL, why are you spending money like a sailor to run ads in PA?”

“Is it possible that the people you say don’t like people who don’t look them are NOT Archie Bunker types, as your campaign called them in Ohio? What if they just think I’d be a better president?”

“Just because people who voted for me think I’d make a better president, that’s no reason to call them Archie Bunkers, as you did in Ohio.”

“Lobbyists? That’s all you got? Until you’ve had your life turned inside out by your enemies to find *nothing*, you don’t know what swiftboating is all about.”

“Sit up straight and pay attention when I’m talking to you.”

Ok, go!

Obama’s New Campaign Strategy: Laughing at Voters

I wish a pollster would show those polled the video of Obama laughing at voters with his rich friends rather than just reading quotes from his remarks. I think the impact of seeing and hearing it (as you would if it was put in an ad) is like a kick in the gut.

That’s the power of the Wright video too. It’s watching him as Wright talks about Bill riding Monica. And the reaction of the congregation. And wondering if Obama was there…. Continue reading

Wednesday: Showdown

Mornin’ all, I have a presentation I need to prepare for so posting for me will be light today.

As you may know, there’s a debate tonight. It will be televised nationally on ABC starting at 8pm EST (5pm PST). Post debate coverage will be on C-SPAN2 at 10:00pm with caller reactions. If you want the most accurate reactions to the debates, your best bet is to follow up on C-SPAN2. Otherwise, the media has decided that Obama has already won it handily. Tweety and friends have already written up their notes praising him. He was brilliant. He was eloquent. He was fresh and new.

But I digress. Maya at the H-burg HQ tells me that before the debate, they re planning a haka of sorts. Yep, supporters for each side assemble near the debate site during the day and psych each other out with cheers or has the news media always describes protests in other countries, “the protestors held signs and chanted slogans”. Of course this is not a protest (unless you don’t like the fact that the media has already crowned Obama the winner without him having to utter a single word).

If you’d like to join the fun, and this is supposed to be *fun*, not confrontational, get thee hence to the National Constitution Center in Philadelphia sometime this afternoon. Here’s the address and map:

National Constitution Center
Independence Mall
525 Arch Street
Philadelphia, PA 19106
(215) 409-6600

National Constitution Center

Give the Philly HQ a buzz before you go to see if there is a particular plan for this haka (eg, where to stand, what to wear, slogans to chant) and while you’re at it, volunteer your time for this weekend’s GOTV.

520 North Delaware Avenue
Suite 202
Philadelphia, PA 19123
Phone: 215.625.0329
Fax: 215.625.0379
philly@hillaryclinton.com
Directions