• Tips gratefully accepted here. Thanks!:

  • Recent Comments

    Ivory Bill Woodpecke… on Episode 16: Public Speaki…
    Ivory Bill Woodpecke… on Episode 16: Public Speaki…
    Beata on Episode 16: Public Speaki…
    Ivory Bill Woodpecke… on Episode 16: Public Speaki…
    Ivory Bill Woodpecke… on Episode 16: Public Speaki…
    Propertius on Episode 16: Public Speaki…
    jmac on Episode 16: Public Speaki…
    Propertius on Episode 16: Public Speaki…
    jmac on Episode 16: Public Speaki…
    Propertius on Episode 16: Public Speaki…
    Propertius on Episode 16: Public Speaki…
    Propertius on Episode 16: Public Speaki…
    Propertius on Episode 16: Public Speaki…
    riverdaughter on Episode 16: Public Speaki…
    Propertius on Episode 16: Public Speaki…
  • Categories


  • Tags

    abortion Add new tag Afghanistan Al Franken Anglachel Atrios bankers Barack Obama Bernie Sanders big pharma Bill Clinton cocktails Conflucians Say Dailykos Democratic Party Democrats Digby DNC Donald Trump Donna Brazile Economy Elizabeth Warren feminism Florida Fox News General Glenn Beck Glenn Greenwald Goldman Sachs health care Health Care Reform Hillary Clinton Howard Dean John Edwards John McCain Jon Corzine Karl Rove Matt Taibbi Media medicare Michelle Obama Michigan misogyny Mitt Romney Morning Edition Morning News Links Nancy Pelosi New Jersey news NO WE WON'T Obama Obamacare occupy wall street OccupyWallStreet Open thread Paul Krugman Politics Presidential Election 2008 PUMA racism Republicans research Sarah Palin sexism Single Payer snark Social Security Supreme Court Terry Gross Texas Tim Geithner unemployment Wall Street WikiLeaks women
  • Archives

  • History

    February 2018
    S M T W T F S
     123
    45678910
    11121314151617
    18192021222324
    25262728  
  • RSS Paul Krugman: Conscience of a Liberal

    • An error has occurred; the feed is probably down. Try again later.
  • The Confluence

    The Confluence

  • RSS Suburban Guerrilla

  • RSS Ian Welsh

  • Top Posts

Run music

Sweatin’ and shakin’

Check

15 Responses

  1. Hey RD, looks like I have lost more than 10 lbs since I started my low carb portion control diet and exercise in Dec. I feel great! I am not starving or depriving myself but I limit carbs to less than 1 cup — still eat white Basmati rice but avoid breads except those made from Chick pea flour.

    • !!!!
      Congratulations! Keep it up. I have about 10 lbs left to go. It’s mostly in my arms and stomach. I know it’s impossible to spot reduce. I just want to get rid of as much as I can. That’s why I’m back at the Y. Tomorrow, I’m going to swim some laps. The nice thing about my Y membership is I can use any Y in the greater Pittsburgh area.

      • Do you do strength exercise with weights? I want to start doing that to build some muscle.

        • I used to do them. They were great for my legs and butt. I still have nicely toned legs. Chest muscles responded well to push ups and weight training as well. Arms? Ehhhh, not so much. I’m not sure why. I did bicep curls, triceps kick backs and dips till my muscles screamed for mercy. Nada. Go figure.
          But I think it definitely helps to firm things up. I’d take those classes now but they all seem to be filled with little old ladies.
          If you can find one, I recommend a body bar. You can use them for all light weight training exercises.

        • This is the body bar brand I used to use. I had an 18lb bar.
          https://www.elivatefitness.com/heavy-body-bar?gclid=Cj0KCQiAzfrTBRC_ARIsAJ5ps0t1T8qEpY_nJVr3ejMsYpF77PYlBQTOWtwCzcrzJHj-fgnmfNBgMxEaAnUxEALw_wcB
          It’s not a whole lotta weight but it’s good for lunges, squats, chest presses, bicep curls, etc.
          somehow, my bar failed to make it on the moving truck from NJ. I kinda miss it.

  2. I used to listen to this over and over for my treadmill music a while ago from a CD. Not sure this video is the best recording. Now I mostly listen to highly rhythmic Indian classical.

    • DeBussy is my favorite composer.

      • This isn’t exactly like pm317’s suggestion but I love it anyway. It’s sonic and sexy and transportive:

        • This sounds more middle eastern than Indian but it mixes Hindu/ Muslim religious symbols/themes. Not familiar with the guy but does not look like of Indian origin. Never mind though, music as long as it sounds good, it is good (I think Schickele used to say that quoting Duke Ellington).

          • You are the expert.
            Yes, it is good no matter where it comes from. My ear can’t get enough of it. It’s like chasing a lingering perfume.

    • Soo… If I want to listen to Highly Rhythmic Indian classical music what would you recommend?

      This sounds like something I might like…

      Thanks

      • Wow, love the request but I am somewhat panicking 🙂 Maybe try this? This is South Indian classical — it has a violin and a mrudanga (percussion) accompanying the main vocalist. Every composition is structured using a particular scale (Raga) with lyrics in a particular language (in the video below, it is Telugu) and set to a particular rhythm (Tala). In the North Indian classical, we have tabla as percussion instrument.

  3. Now this is interesting: apparently one of the guys is playing with an app called Geoshred…Oh I don’t know if I like that.

    • Apparently Sitar is the instrument he is playing using the app Geoshred. Well, take a look at the real instrument… 🙂

  4. Off topic and NSFW. 😈

Comments are closed.