• Tips gratefully accepted here. Thanks!:

  • Recent Comments

    Ivory Bill Woodpecke… on Episode 16: Public Speaki…
    Ivory Bill Woodpecke… on Episode 16: Public Speaki…
    Beata on Episode 16: Public Speaki…
    Ivory Bill Woodpecke… on Episode 16: Public Speaki…
    Ivory Bill Woodpecke… on Episode 16: Public Speaki…
    Propertius on Episode 16: Public Speaki…
    jmac on Episode 16: Public Speaki…
    Propertius on Episode 16: Public Speaki…
    jmac on Episode 16: Public Speaki…
    Propertius on Episode 16: Public Speaki…
    Propertius on Episode 16: Public Speaki…
    Propertius on Episode 16: Public Speaki…
    Propertius on Episode 16: Public Speaki…
    riverdaughter on Episode 16: Public Speaki…
    Propertius on Episode 16: Public Speaki…
  • Categories


  • Tags

    abortion Add new tag Afghanistan Al Franken Anglachel Atrios bankers Barack Obama Bernie Sanders big pharma Bill Clinton cocktails Conflucians Say Dailykos Democratic Party Democrats Digby DNC Donald Trump Donna Brazile Economy Elizabeth Warren feminism Florida Fox News General Glenn Beck Glenn Greenwald Goldman Sachs health care Health Care Reform Hillary Clinton Howard Dean John Edwards John McCain Jon Corzine Karl Rove Matt Taibbi Media medicare Michelle Obama Michigan misogyny Mitt Romney Morning Edition Morning News Links Nancy Pelosi New Jersey news NO WE WON'T Obama Obamacare occupy wall street OccupyWallStreet Open thread Paul Krugman Politics Presidential Election 2008 PUMA racism Republicans research Sarah Palin sexism Single Payer snark Social Security Supreme Court Terry Gross Texas Tim Geithner unemployment Wall Street WikiLeaks women
  • Archives

  • History

  • RSS Paul Krugman: Conscience of a Liberal

    • An error has occurred; the feed is probably down. Try again later.
  • The Confluence

    The Confluence

  • RSS Suburban Guerrilla

  • RSS Ian Welsh

  • Top Posts

Breaking News! Obama Kids Finally Get a Puppy!

First Puppy "Bo"

It’s a Portugese Water Dog, a present from Senator Ted Kennedy, according to the Washington Post.

The identity of the first puppy — the one that the Washington press corps has been yelping about for months, the one President Obama has seemed to delight in dropping hints about — leaked out yesterday. This despite White House efforts to delay the news until the big debut planned for Tuesday afternoon.

The little guy is a 6-month-old Portuguese water dog given to the Obama girls as a gift by that Portuguese water dog-lovin’ senator himself, Edward M. Kennedy of Massachusetts. The girls named it Bo — and let it be noted that you learned that here first. Malia and Sasha chose the name, because their cousins have a cat named Bo and because first lady Michelle Obama’s father was nicknamed Diddley, a source said. (Get it? Bo . . . Diddley?)

Bo’s a handsome little guy. Well suited for formal occasions at the White House, he’s got tuxedo-black fur, with a white chest, white paws and a rakish white goatee.

It’s all just too cute for words. Please… shoot me now.

I just hope the girls will be happy with him, and that I don’t ever have to hear about the “first puppy” again.

OK, I admit it. The dog is really cute.

This is an open thread.

47 Responses

  1. It is cute. But, the idea of Easter presents (which I just heard of this year) kind of creeps me out.

    I LOVE it that the kids got a dog. It’s just that I don’t think we need another “present day”

    • Apparently the kids actually “met” the dog weeks ago, and they kept it a secret. Why?

      Another “big” story today is that the Obama’s will go to church for Easter, but the church they have chosen is “top secret.” Is this kind of trivial publicity really appropriate considering the economic distress millions of people are experiencing right now? I don’t think so.

      • I nearly said the very same thing in my comment below. With all the unrest in the nation, are we to be pacified with stories of the puppy as he cavorts in the Rose Garden while the rest of us are scrambling looking for work or our own “bailouts”?

      • Hey Boston Boomer, What gives with Obamas aunt? Why isn’t she being prosecuted for welfare fraud? Nine years in Boston receiving benefits illegally…this has nothing to do with her immigration status..she should be in jail for stealing benefits..what about the brother? I read today he raped a 13 year old and was shut out of the UK and is now in Boston…
        http://hillbuzz.wordpress.com/2009/04/12/does-anyone-think-its-odd-the-medias-not-reporting-on-obamas-brother-raping-a-13-year-old/

        • Not sure why you are asking me about these people. It sounds like you are accusing me of something? I suggest you contact the authorities with your demands.

  2. RD~
    you were soooo right when you thought the “first puppy” would arrive just in time to distract from any Tax Day demonstrations. This will be a longer story than the 24-hour shelf life in news. This will be a – dare I say it – a distraction good for several years. We can now forget everything going on in the world – save Bo (Bo . . . Diddley. Get it?). Even this morning, there it was – on Google news – the headline about the First Puppy. Where is Captain Phillips? Not a word .

    (and yes, it is a very cute puppy. 🙂 I hope the girls enjoy their puppy.)

  3. He’s adorable.

  4. completely OT ~
    Vatican blocks Caroline Kennedy appointment as US ambassador

    http://www.telegraph.co.uk/news/worldnews/europe/vaticancityandholysee/5138135/Vatican-blocks-Caroline-Kennedy-appointment-as-US-ambassador.html

    “Ms Kennedy, 53, has said that she supports abortion. Raymond Flynn, a former US ambassador to the Vatican, said earlier this week that Ms Kennedy would be a poor choice.”

    I guess Caroline Kennedy just doesn’t meet the “standards” set by the Vatican. (okay, I won’t say it, but I’m still gonna think it)

    • Why is Barry inc subjecting CK to these humiliations? Any ambassadorship should not be spoken about AT ALL until it’s a done deal. Lordy, no wonder Ted got Barry that dog

  5. Isn’t it a biblical thing to say

    Love the dog, hate the dogger-owner.

  6. Bo, how odd is that. B0 and Bo, heh.

    BB I have ment to ask you, would you consider writing a Post about your study? When you get time, of course.

    What made you want to go back to school? How did you choose the subject … and what is it precisely? Did you already have a degree? How was it to study again? And what about having to “go to school” with the Obot-generation yougsters?

    I for one would love to hear more about it, and I’m amazed by what you are accomplishing?

    And Happy Easter/Passover.

    Chinese chickens. 25¢ a piece – 5 for a dollar.

  7. oh geez, my dog’s name is Bo…. short for Bojangles.

  8. Barney and Mrs. Beasley made it perfectly fine to love the first dog(s).

    Let’s hear a whoop whoop for Barney!

  9. I knew a Bo-short for Bojangles- dog 25 years ago!

  10. The puppy is sweet as hell, and I am glad the darling’s, Malia and Sasha finally have their dog they have been waiting for. One bright light in an otherwise bleak administration.

  11. The dog is the best thing about this new administration.

  12. All puppies are cute-even the ones who grow up to be ugly dogs. I’ll be even bet BO’s daddy Big BO was a cute baby.

  13. I’ll even bet….

  14. On the topic – the dog is cute as it is really a poodle (by any other name).
    One of the best “girlie” dogs out there.

  15. That puppy is really cute, and by six months, it should be pretty well house broken and out of the puppy biting stage.

  16. I’m so glad the rescue of the ships’ Capt. is taking precedence over their friggin’ dog. No disrespect to the dog intended. I feel sorry for the little thing going into THAT group.

  17. I like that they have selected a puppy that is mixed white and black. Ok that was really a yucky statement.

  18. HAPPY EASTER ALL.and thank you GOD the captain is free and safe..

    cute puppy i.m happy for the girls..

  19. So this news is pertinent enough to eclipse any reporting on the Tea Parties?

    Kennedy is once again trying to define The Changeling, and I’m getting mighty sick of it.

    Happy Easter, Passover, Ostara or Sunday to all.

    • Anthony,

      This is a liberal blog. Why would we be reporting on the Tea Parties? I think you lost your way while searching for Red State. Good luck to you.

      • Sorry for the miscommunication. I wasn’t referring to this blog – I was referring to the MSM in general. I can’t believe they’re ignoring it.

        I enjoy visiting here, but haven’t commented so far. Hope I didn’t offend anyone

        • I took a quick peek at you site, but will be back, when I have more time.

          Interesting avatar. 🙂

          • My avatar is a painting of The Sibyl by Francesco Ubertini painted in 1525. More info on the significance of The Sibyls at http://lavecchiacredenza.wordpress.com/2009/02/17/the-sibyl-speaks/

            I do have to add that I was surprised to be perceived as someone who “lost my way while searching for Red State”. For the record, I’ve been a registered Independent since day one, voted Dem in every election save the last, and am probably farther to the left on social and military issues than many here.

            However, I am also a fiscal conservative as well as leaning to the right on border security and illegal immigration. I’ve spent the past 8 years taking serious shots at the previous administration and was one of Hillary Clinton’s strongest supporters here in NYC during the primary race last year, donating both money and lots of time to her campaign.

            That said, I find it interesting that I can be labeled so quickly and easily as I was above simply because I don’t ‘fall in line’ with everything the Democratic Party decrees. Until 2008, I did believe that the Dems could serve as a foil against the neocons who hijacked the GOP. But since the character assassination of Hillary Clinton and subsequent antics, I have no confidence in the party. Hope I cleared up some confusion.

          • We have a really cool hi-tech lablemaker we like to play with.

    • Sorry about that, Anthony. I misunderstood your comment as being directed at this blog. We often get drive-by commenters who criticize what we are doing and lecture us about what we *should* be doing instead. Unfortunately, I mistook you for one of those people. I apologize.

  20. Ted Kennedy knew that someone had to step up and get those girls a puppy. Obama was screwing his supporters left and right – no pun intended. That dog was becoming a symbol of all the promises made before election day that would never be fulfilled.

    • Good point. People were ending each rant with… “and where’s the dog?” Everyone was waiting for Barry to get a dog. But all anyone had to do was GIVE Barry a dog. He surely wasn’t going to pay for one.

    • I think it’s more a case of Teddy-Boy still trying his damnedest to merge the (J.F.) Kennedys and the Obamas.

      From what I understand, JFK had the same dog, and we all know how much M.O.zilla resembles Jackie in both appearance and manner (at least if you’re willing to believe Ted)

      The whole thing disgusts me

    • I think you’re right. Imagine if it got out that the dying Ted Kennedy offered the girls a dog and Dad said no? Those poor kids. I’m just glad they finally got a pet one way or the other.

  21. Could Bo be the initials of Dad? Cute dog. I hope the kids are happy, but they just feed his narcissism.

  22. Chimera, That’s exactly what I thought when I heard the name and to be honest, I’m probably going to be skeptical of any other reason given for the name. It’s just too coincidental for my tastes.

  23. A six month old “puppy” is almost full grown. Wow. I guess the “spin is in”…

    I understand the puppy was initially named Charlie.

Comments are closed.