• Tips gratefully accepted here. Thanks!:

  • Recent Comments

    Ivory Bill Woodpecke… on Episode 16: Public Speaki…
    Ivory Bill Woodpecke… on Episode 16: Public Speaki…
    Beata on Episode 16: Public Speaki…
    Ivory Bill Woodpecke… on Episode 16: Public Speaki…
    Ivory Bill Woodpecke… on Episode 16: Public Speaki…
    Propertius on Episode 16: Public Speaki…
    jmac on Episode 16: Public Speaki…
    Propertius on Episode 16: Public Speaki…
    jmac on Episode 16: Public Speaki…
    Propertius on Episode 16: Public Speaki…
    Propertius on Episode 16: Public Speaki…
    Propertius on Episode 16: Public Speaki…
    Propertius on Episode 16: Public Speaki…
    riverdaughter on Episode 16: Public Speaki…
    Propertius on Episode 16: Public Speaki…
  • Categories


  • Tags

    abortion Add new tag Afghanistan Al Franken Anglachel Atrios bankers Barack Obama Bernie Sanders big pharma Bill Clinton cocktails Conflucians Say Dailykos Democratic Party Democrats Digby DNC Donald Trump Donna Brazile Economy Elizabeth Warren feminism Florida Fox News General Glenn Beck Glenn Greenwald Goldman Sachs health care Health Care Reform Hillary Clinton Howard Dean John Edwards John McCain Jon Corzine Karl Rove Matt Taibbi Media medicare Michelle Obama Michigan misogyny Mitt Romney Morning Edition Morning News Links Nancy Pelosi New Jersey news NO WE WON'T Obama Obamacare occupy wall street OccupyWallStreet Open thread Paul Krugman Politics Presidential Election 2008 PUMA racism Republicans research Sarah Palin sexism Single Payer snark Social Security Supreme Court Terry Gross Texas Tim Geithner unemployment Wall Street WikiLeaks women
  • Archives

  • History

    August 2011
    S M T W T F S
     123456
    78910111213
    14151617181920
    21222324252627
    28293031  
  • RSS Paul Krugman: Conscience of a Liberal

    • An error has occurred; the feed is probably down. Try again later.
  • The Confluence

    The Confluence

  • RSS Suburban Guerrilla

  • RSS Ian Welsh

  • Top Posts

Tuesday: Born to Run

Run, Hillary, Run!

As you may recall, I have been trying to get this Run for the Employable off the ground since May but suffered some setbacks, like pulling my back and then breaking my toe. The Toe is almost 100% so I’m going to give it a try again this morning.

The purpose of the Run for the Employable is to remind the public that we’re still out there, we’re in great physical condition and we want the country and politicians to know that JOBS are THE MOST IMPORTANT THING that they should be focusing on, not which apocalyptic Tea Party nutcase can hold his breath the longest.

If you’re interested in the Run for the Employable. here’s all you have to do: get out there and run.  Yes, we should probably have identifying T-Shirts.  Today, I’m going to wear my “Hillary for President” T-Shirt that I snagged in 2008 when I was volunteering.  (Cleverly, her campaign left the year off of the T-shirt so these are totally recyclable for 2012. hmmmm….)  Other ideas for a T-shirt are ones that say “Employable” on the front and “<your profession goes here>” on the back.  I’d just use a Sharpie for the back of the T-Shirt but it’s probably a good idea to consult VastLeft to find out where he got his 2L4O T-shirts made because I think his are union.

General guidelines:

1.) Consult your physician before starting any exercise program.  Do only what you’re capable of doing.  If you can run, run; if you can’t run, walk; if you can’t walk, roll.  If you want to do Zumba with a bunch of unemployed friends, that’s ok too just as long as you get attention.

2.) Keep your eyes on your own shoes.  I wear Nike’s to correct a pronation problem when I run.  I have a closet full of old running shoes that did not work out for me.  Nike makes the only shoe that doesn’t give me painful shin splints.  The only alternative to Nike’s for me is not to run at all.  But I’m not going to let anyone guilt me into not running so Nike it is.  If you don’t like it, I suggest you avert your eyes.  If you’re worried more about being pure than being unemployed, you’re missing the point and this is not the run for you.  Otherwise, wear comfortable clothing that is neither too loose or too constricting and warm up thoroughly before you start.

3.) Choose the level of run that is right for you.  I am a lousy runner.  There, I said it.  So, to help me get up to 5K, I’m using the app Get Running on my iphone.  Get Running will gradually train you to run 5K’s using the Couch to 5K program.  The running coach has a encouraging British accent and will gently guide you through a 30 minute running program that gets more challenging over 9 weeks.  By the end of the 9 weeks, you can run 5Ks.  You can also sync Get Running with your run Playlist.  I can’t run without music but your mileage may vary.  If you like to exercise to music I recommend songs that have a good “rolling” rhythm to coordinate your heel strike.  Lady Gaga is out (too slow, believe it or not) but Katy Perry is in (Firework is the best running song I’ve used). Include a couple of slower songs for warm up and cool down.  Here is my current play list:

1.) Amazing Grace- Laura Love (warm up)
2.) Paul Young – Love of the Common Peopple
3.) There is Power in a Union- Billy Bragg and The Pattersons
3.5) O…Saya- A.H. Rahman (slumdog millionaire)
4.) The Heartbreak Rides- AC Newman
5.) Firework – Katy Perry (one of the best running songs.  What a surprise)
6.) Fireflies – Owl City
7.) Real Wild Child- Iggy Popp
8.) Jessica- Allman Brothers
9.) Raise Your Glass- The Warblers (Glee)
10.) Welcome to the Future – Brad Paisley
11.) Iko Iko – The Belle Stars
12.) My Big 10 Inch Record – Aerosmith
13.) Love Today- Mika
14.) All These Things That I’ve Done- The Killers
15.)Let the River Run- Carly Simon
16.) River of Dreams- Billy Joel
17.) Run – George Strait (cool down)
18.) Volcano- Jimmy Buffet (post run stretch)

In the future, I’d like to start coordinating runs with other people and run when and where we’re most likely to get seen.  Let’s go viral if we can.  Yeah, I know it’s hot in the summer so run in the morning.  My plan is to run every other day according to the Get Running program and to do toning with free weights on the days in between in the nice, cool basement.

Can we do this?  Can we afford NOT to do this?

Just do it.

And here’s a funny video I found of a ballet audition featuring two contestants.  The video is entitled, Not All Ballerinas are Created Equal.  Stick with it.  :-^

If the DNC were making the call in 2008, dancer number 2 would have gotten the job after the first dancer was bludgeoned on the knee.  (otherwise the competition wouldn’t have been fair)

2 Responses

  1. glad the toe is all well R.D. be careful 🙂

  2. Run for the Employable

    I so love this name .

Comments are closed.