• Tips gratefully accepted here. Thanks!:

  • Recent Comments

    Ivory Bill Woodpecke… on Episode 16: Public Speaki…
    Ivory Bill Woodpecke… on Episode 16: Public Speaki…
    Beata on Episode 16: Public Speaki…
    Ivory Bill Woodpecke… on Episode 16: Public Speaki…
    Ivory Bill Woodpecke… on Episode 16: Public Speaki…
    Propertius on Episode 16: Public Speaki…
    jmac on Episode 16: Public Speaki…
    Propertius on Episode 16: Public Speaki…
    jmac on Episode 16: Public Speaki…
    Propertius on Episode 16: Public Speaki…
    Propertius on Episode 16: Public Speaki…
    Propertius on Episode 16: Public Speaki…
    Propertius on Episode 16: Public Speaki…
    riverdaughter on Episode 16: Public Speaki…
    Propertius on Episode 16: Public Speaki…
  • Categories


  • Tags

    abortion Add new tag Afghanistan Al Franken Anglachel Atrios bankers Barack Obama Bernie Sanders big pharma Bill Clinton cocktails Conflucians Say Dailykos Democratic Party Democrats Digby DNC Donald Trump Donna Brazile Economy Elizabeth Warren feminism Florida Fox News General Glenn Beck Glenn Greenwald Goldman Sachs health care Health Care Reform Hillary Clinton Howard Dean John Edwards John McCain Jon Corzine Karl Rove Matt Taibbi Media medicare Michelle Obama Michigan misogyny Mitt Romney Morning Edition Morning News Links Nancy Pelosi New Jersey news NO WE WON'T Obama Obamacare occupy wall street OccupyWallStreet Open thread Paul Krugman Politics Presidential Election 2008 PUMA racism Republicans research Sarah Palin sexism Single Payer snark Social Security Supreme Court Terry Gross Texas Tim Geithner unemployment Wall Street WikiLeaks women
  • Archives

  • History

    November 2008
    S M T W T F S
     1
    2345678
    9101112131415
    16171819202122
    23242526272829
    30  
  • RSS Paul Krugman: Conscience of a Liberal

    • An error has occurred; the feed is probably down. Try again later.
  • The Confluence

    The Confluence

  • RSS Suburban Guerrilla

  • RSS Ian Welsh

  • Top Posts

Conflucian Cocktail Party: Fundraiser for Pine Ridge

In the song, Edmund Fitzgerald, the storm that caught the freighter off guard was called the Witch of November.  The Witch came early again this year but this time to South Dakota.  The early blizzard has buried the Pine Ridge Reservation under feet of snow and taken out power to the reservation.  Here are some details from people on the scene:

Subject: Pine Ridge Needs Help!

It is not often I send something like this out, and am sad to have to do so.
However, anything any of you can do would be great, mention it on your radio
shows and blogs, call and help or even call the state reps. and committee of
indian affairs…Here is the email I got,,,

Where is the Red Cross?  Where is FEMA?  Where is the National Guard?
The Lakota Reservation in South Dakota has been struck with a huge,
early season snow storm. Elderly people are without propane, there is
a great lack of food, medicine and warm winter clothing.

According tho the president of the Reservation, the State of South
Dakota is doing almost nothing. The roads are still not plowed and
people are dieing.

They need our help in way of wood, propane, warm winter clothing,
food and assistance with plows.

If you are in the area and have the heart to help these folks, go to
the Porcupine School or call 605-867-1111.

If you can, send money, call and get details on arrangements. If you
can send materials, as this is going to be a long winter for the sick
the elderly and the children, the address is

Republic of Lakotah
P.O. Box 99
Porucupine, SD 57772

Winters are brutal in this area, and this one is worse than they can
deal with. Any and all help will be remembered by the people for
their entire lives, and lives is what this is about.

Please, with our Holidays coming, help these people NOW while we can
still help. People are dieing right now.

Feel free to contact John for more information.

John Stroebel
PO 166 Centennial Wyoming 82055
307-745-3493

Tonight we dedicate our fundraiser to Pine Ridge to buy blankets, food, propane and other necessities for  the cold nights of November.

Welcome to the Conflucian Cocktail Party.  This is the day every week when we gather together with friends and have a bit of fun for a worthy cause.  To the left of the bar is Rico, our bartender with flair.  He’s agreed to stay on past the election because he likes us that much.  Tonght’s special cocktail is a White Witch.  You can also order Causmos for $10.00.  The button below will take you to The Confluence PayPal account for Pine Ridge.


I’d also like to call your attention to Al Franken’s Recount fund. You can buy a $10.00 Causmo and help Al get one Senate seat closer to that filibuster proof majority. Think of it. One more senator on Hillary’s side. I donated $50 this afternoon. If you donate, add .60 to your total to let him know we’re here.

Tonight’s music is from our friends NativeAmericansAgainstObama describing the unfolding events at Pine Ridge:

Ladies and gents, we run a classy joint. Those of you who can’t keep your trigger words to yourselves should leave them with Florence, our lovely checkroom attendant. The waiters will be circulating shortly with some wild rice cakes, popcorn and pumpkin bread. Please drink responsibly and tip your servers generously.

Also, join me and the other Conflucians at 10PM EST for Conflucians Say on PUMA United Radio (PURrrr).

conflucians

49 Responses

  1. What are the trigger words.

  2. Can someone please explain to me why the Jack*ss party needs to be fillibuster proof? I mean, they haven’t accomplished anything since 2006 when they won the majority and now we need more members of the “do nothing” party ‘serving’ in the Senate?

    I kinda thought the idea was to try to keep them honest. They have the House and the Senate AND the Presidency now. They don’t NEED to be fillibuster proof. They just need to work.

    I guess I’ve become really disillusioned after this election. I see the Jack*sses as the party that can’t do anything and the Elephants as the party that actually accomplishes what nobody wants done.

  3. Oh, just in case you haven’t heard, ABC is doing a big ‘expose’ on Bill Ayers on 20/20 tomorrow night. I can’t wait until they ask him a really tough question like “what kind of puppy should the Obama’s get?”

  4. Um, about that Al Franken recount deal. I read an account of this yesterday in the WSJ that made it sound very much like the Dems are once again playing dirty pool (the new brand!). And, like KJ above, I have no desire to see a filibuster proof majority. Not when the Dems have taken to regularly playing on the down and dirty. This isn’t a party that warms the heart at the moment. Far from it.

  5. RD: Umm, where is the Paypal button? I can’t get my eye on it. I used to do disaster work and have been to this area. It’s an extremely tough and people suffer there in the good times. I’d like to donate to them.

    I wish Obama had to be up close and personal with true hardship like these people face each and every day.

  6. Oops, RD. Good to know I’m not blind though.

  7. I have no intention of contributing to Franken.

  8. KJ

    Don’t feel alone I see the same thing. It’s sad to be left politically homeless

  9. I don’t understand, why ISN’T the Red Cross or FEMA involved?

    Make calls people–HRC was a big friend to Native Americans. This is outrageous, especially in light of the multi-billion dollar bail outs.

    American Red Cross National Headquarters
    2025 E Street, NW
    Washington, DC 20006
    Phone: (703) 206 6000
    Donation Hotlines: 1-800-REDCROSS (1-800-733-2767) / 1-800-257-7575 (Español)

    FEMA 500 C Street SW, Washington, D.C. 20472
    Disaster Assistance: (800) 621-FEMA, TTY (800) 462-7585

    Washington, D.C.
    Senator Hillary Rodham Clinton
    United States Senate
    476 Russell Senate Office Building
    Washington, DC 20510
    Phone: (202) 224-4451
    General Fax: (202) 228-0282
    Scheduling Req Fax: (202) 228-0121
    TTY/TDD: (202) 224-6821

  10. AP says Obambi is considering Clinton for Sec of State. I hope she tells him to stuff it.,

  11. fif

    I’d imagine because of their independant nation status

  12. Well, CW, Hillary would be on “anybody’s short list”. Or something.

  13. Heh

    Not for VP though. I wouldn’t be surprised if he was using this as just another opportunity to rub his position in her face.

    At this point I am wondering if I will ever see a day when we won’t have a President I loathe.

  14. I am looking for the paypal button as well. I will contribute to the Lakota

  15. The need for a filibuster proof majority is a way to raise money. I don’t see a problem with a filibuster proof senate majority, but I don’t think its as necessary as some folks are making it out to be

    You have to be careful about some of the charges in recount elections. In 2004, there was a very close Gov race and a lot of charges were made. The discussion and looking at the evidence made me less likely to believe a lot of the stories of voter irregularities coming from the left. (NOTE: I was part of a project to raise money for a documentary on voter fraud.) I’m actually very interested in the lack of discussion of voter irregularities coming from the left this year. It makes me less inclined to believe the problems in 2004 were as bad as they were made out to be, that it had a lot to do with losing. If you noticed during the primaries, the Obamasphere was pushing a lot of voter irregularities at every state that Hillary won. With Dems the victors in 2008 it seems like this is *the best time* to look at election integrity since there is no way questions can be seen as being a sore loser syndrome. The lack of discussion is revealing to me. But I digress.

  16. Hillary has most power as Senator. Sure, the Dem/Obama leadership will try to push her to the sidelines on committees, etc., but she can use her position to propose legislation and take her case to the people. No cabinet position will give her that much power. You know that Dems will be desperate to silence Hillary if they offer her a SCOTUS position.

  17. gq, I so agree that Hillary’s power is in staying a senator

  18. RD,

    You talk as though giving the Democrats a filibuster proof majority is a good thing.

    I don’t know why you might think that. In my opinion, the Democrats have proved themselves completely unworthy of unchecked power. They are simply untrustworthy. The notion that they will only do good should they be able to do anything they might want is groundless. Power corrupts. Absolute power in the hands of morally corrupt Democrats scares the absolute sh*t out of me.

    Honestly, I’m rooting for the Republicans to have some ability to perform checks and balances. Who else will do it? Who’s going to keep these smug bastards honest?

  19. I’m with those who no longer want Dems to have a filibuster proof majority. With Nancy and Harry and Barack leading the charge? Such morally bankrupt individuals need to be kept in check. With the media permanently settled in the gutter – who’s going to keep them honest? The Dems’ majority now is big enough that with moderate Republicans they *should* be able to accomplish a good deal. How successful they are – I’m not holding my breath. But a lack of a filibuster majority will not be the reason for their failure. Their incompetence will be.

  20. I’ve always thought the best we poor chumps who pay taxes can hope for is gridlock, so they’re not agreeing on more ways to spend our money. this seems especially important in these bailout days.

    we’re bailing out companies that are setting aside billions for executive holiday bonuses? while ordinary people can’t pay their rent or mortgage or heat their homes?

    wtf?

    gridlock – that’s what I want.

  21. Did you all read about how Hillary would have done in this election–and it wouldn’t have cost $10 per vote:

    “Polls: Hillary Would’ve Steamrolled McCain”

    http://www.cbsnews.com/blogs/2008/11/12/politics/horserace/entry4596620.shtml?source=search_story

    “As voters left the polls on Election Day, many were asked how they would have voted if the election match-up were between Hillary Clinton and John McCain rather than Barack Obama and McCain. 52 percent said they would have backed the former Democratic candidate; 41 percent would have voted for McCain, wider than Obama’s 7-point margin over McCain.
    Interestingly, 16 percent of McCain voters said they would have voted for Clinton, the Democrat, if she had been her party’s nominee. “

  22. Hi all! I’m glad we are bringing awareness to the Lakota.

    I’m torn about the Franken thing — with all the corruption we witnessed this year during the primary & the GE by the Dems I can’t get worked up over charges that the Republicans played dirty in MI. Don’t get me wrong, I don’t condone the GOP cheating either (if they did) but it seems like small potatoes — I’m just blah about it.

    Anyway, I was just taking a little break from work to see what was going on — I still have more work to do. ;-( So, I’ll try to be back later.

  23. LOL. We are in such a bad position here…I don’t know whether to laugh or cry. The Repubs proved they were pure evil from 2000-2006. The Dems took power in 2007 and proved they were uninterested in doing anything to stand up to the Bushies. Impeachment off the table, no end to the war.

    One corporation, under Goldman Sachs, with libert and justice for none.

  24. franklyO

    Keep em’ honest…….ROFLMFAO at the idea that these guys even know what honesty is.

    They proved during the primary cycle exactly what they are. Honest ain’t it.

  25. I pledge allegiance to corporate America and to my shopping cart for which it stands………madamab sounds about right.

  26. Angie,
    The way to think about Franken is that he is, deep down, a Clinton Dem. You can see that reading his books. Also, I’ve heard some rumbles that the Village Dems don’t really want Franken in the Senate and that is a very, very good thing. He and Hillary would be some of the best Dems in the Senate. Franken would be a good addition to the Senate. He’s not an over ambitious poll and has a really good heart, which means that he would kick some Village ass. Also, he would do it in a way that a polished pol like Hill never could: with razor sharp wit that is not scared to make enemies.

  27. Hillary for Secretary of State–“Keep your friends close, keep your enemies closer.” That means she won’t have a chance to oppose Precious should his
    slim resume start becoming evidence (of course, maybe he really will be able to pull off being a competent president in this difficult time just by his ability to act the part–worked for Bush for a few months).

    I doubt it will happen, though. He chose Biden for VP, and what a great choice that was!

  28. madamb,

    I like Lisa Simpsons’ quote: And this will be one nation, under the dollar, with liberty and justice for none

  29. When I think about the $600 plus million dollars that it took for the President-Select to buy this election when the Lakota and other Nations peoples are poverty-stricken on their own lands, it infuriates me. NObama lacks any small drop of compassion!

  30. Lets go Jeeeeeets!

  31. Biden = Uncle in the attic.

  32. I think the democrats should have a majority. Then when everything goes down the tubes, I want to see who people blame.

    Remember, in 2010, they have more seats in key areas to defend. That’s why sometimes it can suck to be the one in charge.

  33. “Can someone please explain to me why the Jack*ss party needs to be fillibuster proof?”

    Sure, because it’s the latest in a long line of excuses. First, it was well, see, we’re in the minority, and we just can’t do anything. The minority party has no power. It may look like we cave and collaborate with the Bushies at ever turn, but no. Next it was, well, see, we’re in the majority, and we just can’t do anything. The majority party has no power. It ay look we collaborate and cave at every turn, but no. Give them a filibuster proof majorit nad we’ll hear well, see, we have a filibuster proof majority, but we still have no power, we need unanimity.

  34. actually GQ, there was once what preceded Lisa Simpson– Groening’s “Life in Hell” and this:

    (searching for my son’s “Life in Hell” comic book….)

    “…….and to the republicans, for which I can’t stand,

    one nation with.underhanded fraud and liberty and justice–forget it.

  35. Hi Joaniebone,

    I have that Matt Groening book somewhere. My favorite was “Childhood is Hell.” That was hysterical but sadly true to life. Sample:

    http://www.randomhouse.com/pantheon/graphicnovels/childhell_4.html

  36. Ah, joanie. I knew there was a reason I liked ya :o).

  37. Hi joanie!

    Gq: fucking Eric Mangini and prevent defense…

  38. Not for VP though. I wouldn’t be surprised if he was using this as just another opportunity to rub his position in her face.

    CW: I thought the same thing–he’s just floating it so people can say, “See, he doesn’t treat her like crap.” That doesn’t mean he’d choose her. I like HRC as an independent voice. Did you see the letter she sent Bush two days ago re: the economy? Meanwhile, BO is trying to decide what kind of dog to buy the girls. She is bold and declarative. He is hesitant, cautious and ambivalent.

    At this point I am wondering if I will ever see a day when we won’t have a President I loathe.

    Ditto on that one too. It’s a strain. I remember being happy voting for Bill, but that seems so long ago. I was hopeful for Gore, but of course, did not feel about him the way I do about HRC. Sigh…

  39. Hi Joanie!

  40. Oh man, the Jets barely squeaked one out. I’m not a Jets fan but since Indy beat New England, the Colts have a tie break against NE for the wild card slot.

  41. NEW THREAD!

    NEW THREAD!

  42. I won’t be donating to franken. Not sure why anyone at this point would want a filibuster proof Senate but regardless, my days of donations to democrats, particularly to those with male genitalia, ended when my association with the democratic party ended. Personally I could give a hoot which one wins. Money for this recount and recampaign is money down the toilet and better used elsewhere but that is just my opinion.

  43. Okay, I finally got the paypal button fixed. I don’t know why it is always so tricky. The solution is really quite simple but I always feel like I am reinventing the wheel everytime I do it.
    Rico, Bulleit Bourbon OTR if you wouldn’t mind.

    ainnj: I like Franken and don’t mind at all that he doesn’t have a vagina.

  44. Sorry RD, I set my post to go up at 9, but it didn’t happen. It’s up now…for the night owls.

  45. gqmartinez, on November 13th, 2008 at 10:19 pm Said: ….. You know that Dems will be desperate to silence Hillary if they offer her a SCOTUS position.

    Very astute… But Hillary Rodham Clinton must not join the Obama administration . MUST NOT. Every Barry mistake will be her fault and her job to fix….

    NO!!!

  46. Seriously, on November 13th, 2008 at 11:09 pm

    Excellent post. I see you are fluent in Pelosi/Reid speak!

  47. “Every Barry mistake will be her fault and her job to fix….”

    She would be such a convenient scapegoat, you can just hear the talking heads lamenting that she’s the only thing holding him back from working his healing magic. Who is her right mind would want to play Powell to Obama’s W?

    And over at Reclusive leftist, someone said that Blitzer asked PALIN if she’s going to try and help obama make a success of it. If the Mommy’s Reponsibility Syndrome extends that far, there’s no hope for HRC.

  48. I gave my child the “Childhood is Hell’ book. I wondered if I was warped. (The kid turned out OK though.)

    I agree! Hillary should remain in the Senate.

    (I remember when Christie Todd Whitman took the job in DC. I was not a Republican, but paid notice because I went to school with her. I thought right away that it was a bad career move. She was a governor!)

  49. Pine Ridge yes, Al Franken, not in this lifetime. That jerk sat on the radio and cheered on the bombing of Lebanon because “they started it”.

Comments are closed.