• Tips gratefully accepted here. Thanks!:

  • Recent Comments

    Ivory Bill Woodpecke… on Episode 16: Public Speaki…
    Ivory Bill Woodpecke… on Episode 16: Public Speaki…
    Beata on Episode 16: Public Speaki…
    Ivory Bill Woodpecke… on Episode 16: Public Speaki…
    Ivory Bill Woodpecke… on Episode 16: Public Speaki…
    Propertius on Episode 16: Public Speaki…
    jmac on Episode 16: Public Speaki…
    Propertius on Episode 16: Public Speaki…
    jmac on Episode 16: Public Speaki…
    Propertius on Episode 16: Public Speaki…
    Propertius on Episode 16: Public Speaki…
    Propertius on Episode 16: Public Speaki…
    Propertius on Episode 16: Public Speaki…
    riverdaughter on Episode 16: Public Speaki…
    Propertius on Episode 16: Public Speaki…
  • Categories


  • Tags

    abortion Add new tag Afghanistan Al Franken Anglachel Atrios bankers Barack Obama Bernie Sanders big pharma Bill Clinton cocktails Conflucians Say Dailykos Democratic Party Democrats Digby DNC Donald Trump Donna Brazile Economy Elizabeth Warren feminism Florida Fox News General Glenn Beck Glenn Greenwald Goldman Sachs health care Health Care Reform Hillary Clinton Howard Dean John Edwards John McCain Jon Corzine Karl Rove Matt Taibbi Media medicare Michelle Obama Michigan misogyny Mitt Romney Morning Edition Morning News Links Nancy Pelosi New Jersey news NO WE WON'T Obama Obamacare occupy wall street OccupyWallStreet Open thread Paul Krugman Politics Presidential Election 2008 PUMA racism Republicans research Sarah Palin sexism Single Payer snark Social Security Supreme Court Terry Gross Texas Tim Geithner unemployment Wall Street WikiLeaks women
  • Archives

  • History

    January 2021
    S M T W T F S
     12
    3456789
    10111213141516
    17181920212223
    24252627282930
    31  
  • RSS Paul Krugman: Conscience of a Liberal

    • An error has occurred; the feed is probably down. Try again later.
  • The Confluence

    The Confluence

  • RSS Suburban Guerrilla

  • RSS Ian Welsh

  • Top Posts

Our *blink* moments

I’ll bet you’re a skeptical left of center person because of the blink moments in your life. Malcolm Gladwell wrote a book about blink moments over a decade ago. The idea of a blink moment is one where your senses pick up some fundamental truth before you’re even aware of it.

I can think of two that have shaped me politically. One was when I was a student at Pitt and Reagan and Bush were running. I hadn’t voted in the last election because I was too young. But I was old enough that year. So I went to an auditorium on campus to see Bush’s campaign speech. I can’t figure out what triggered it but right away, he lost my vote. I noticed how he walked. There was a haughtiness about him. He looked like a guy who was used to barking little orders at people and watching them scurry. He delivered his speech and disdainfully dismissed questions from students. It’s like he hated the very idea of talking to us in the first place.

I got a visceral feeling of unpleasantness about him. This is weird because he was praised by family and friends as being this super nice guy. But I didn’t see any of that. I saw something physical rippling beneath that suit and I didn’t like it.

The second blink moment I had was in 1989. I was in Disneyworld. I was in a car in the parking lot. Maybe we were leaving. My daughter was a sleepy little thing and I was listening to the news on the radio. It was all about the war on drugs. I had the sensation of all these evil people lurking all over the place dealing drugs, killing over territory and taking over our country. They were right there in my neighborhood. And that terrified me. But I wasn’t quite sure if it was the drug lords that were terrifying me or the terror itself that was terrifying me. That sense of unease made me wonder why the hell I was so uneasy. I was living in America, visiting a pristine theme park, having a wonderful time. I had a good job in the field I loved and my daughter was well taken care of. If drug lords were all around us, not just in the inner city, I was unaffected. It didn’t seem like an insoluble problem that the greatest country in the world didn’t have the resources to fix. I wasn’t living in Haiti. Why was I so freaked out??

I stopped freaking out about the drug wars in that instant. I just got a sense that someone was trying to push my buttons. Now, maybe that’s because I was raised in a high control religion that used fear and anxiety to indoctrinate and control its followers and children. Whatever it was, something triggered a red flag response in me. I was vigilant after that about what I heard on the radio.

I guess you could say I had a third blink during the second Bush years when one morning I woke up and realized that NPR just didn’t sound right anymore. I had been a faithful listener for decades. I subscribed. I had a WNYC messenger bag. (Still do. I love that thing.) But I woke up one morning post 9/11 and Morning Edition sounded out of tune. I couldn’t put my finger on it. It was very subtle. It was like using words with slightly different meanings. Or maybe it was new journalists. What was that guy’s name who eventually went to Fox? Juan something? Yeah. He wasn’t singing in tune. I stopped listening to NPR.

Anyway, these blink moments I now realize had some connection to the Bush family. I’ll just let that sit for a moment while I contemplate it. Maybe it was just a coincidence.

I was reminded of them this morning as I was listening to the latest Vox Conversations podcast Why Fascism in post-Trump America isn’t going away. The interview was with Jason Stanley who wrote a book on it. It gets to the heart of the Trump cult and how it works.

At one point, Stanley says the fascist methodology has been in the works since the Reagan years. I recognized Newt Gingrich because I’d read his famous pamphlet on manipulating minds through specific language. But Newt didn’t try to hide his intentions. I mean, his targets most likely didn’t know what he was doing but it wasn’t like he didn’t publish his techniques.

But the Bush’s were much more subtle. And they had a broad network of powerful people.

(Eisenhower was right in some respects. Any party that seeks to do away with social security, unemployment insurance, and labor laws would soon find itself non-viable. Unless they learned lessons from previous fascist movements and figured out how to get ordinary people to let down their guard and turn on each other. This is what has happened and what Eisenhower, one of the ultimate antifa generals of WWII failed to recognize. The old Republican Party never could have pulled this off. That’s why it had to purge the moderates. And now we see what is left. In a way, the Republican Party is no more. It’s in name only.)

Reagan was just the sunny optimistic face of a bygone era. I’m not sure he was fully cognizant of who was using him or to what degree he allowed himself to be used.

Yeah. It’s been around that long.

I would like to tie some people down and make them listen to this podcast so they know their blink moments. Fascism isn’t what they think it is. Propaganda isn’t what they think it is. And it’s because they don’t recognize it for what it truly is that they become its greatest perpetrators – and victims.

************

That Stanley interview is definitely a must listen. Some other interesting things:

Fascism always arises out of democratic societies because we value our freedom of speech, assembly, religion etc. Some people use that freedom as a tool to gain power.

There MUST be accountability for what has happened in the last four years. There will be a strong push to act like it never happened. But the insurrectionists and Trump must be held accountable or they will feel that there is no reason to not do it again. And the next time, they will be successful.

According to their backgrounds, Ted Cruz and Josh Hawley are the elite of the elite coastal elites. Doesn’t matter what state they represent.

Trumpers are into Sado-populism. We all kind of knew they wanted to stick it to the libs. They know we can’t stand Trump. So they’re delighted to be able to vote for him again. And again. And again. And his kids too. Why not Ivanka? How about Don Jr.? Think of how miserably unhappy they can make us. That’s what makes them hard. There’s a lot of joy in watching us squirm.

So if Trump can’t run again, who will be his successor who will pick up his activated base? Stanley says it might very well be Tucker Carlson.

***********

And another thing:

I’ve heard many different political science types try to define fascism but their definitions always lacked clarity and precision. Fascism always seemed like an elusive thing so I’ve been reluctant to use that word too often. Language counts. It’s so incredibly important to get the words right. If you throw a word around and it’s too fuzzy, it becomes a substitute for clearer thinking and a shortcut for people who defer to others to do their thinking.

Jason Stanley’s definition of fascism based on what has happened in the US is very clarifying. Fascism is a method for gaining power. What happens after gaining power are well known artifacts of fascism. But it’s the pathway to power that makes fascism distinctive.

It’s a shame that it has taken this long for someone to figure it out. Stanley’s definition explains why Trumpers act the way they do, how Trump got to power and how the media and other democratic institutions were blindsided. It all makes sense.

This was the most important podcast of the decade. We’ve all been sensing the elephant without seeing the whole animal. Stanley has revealed it all.

7 Responses

  1. It started with Reagan. The sickening shift in public attitude and policy was not subtle, it was brazen. I did need a click moment. All I had was a decade of watching the fight for voting rights emerge like a phoenix out of the much-celebrated death of the Jim Crow regime that blighted my childhood. The Reagan landslide made it clear to me that my fellow citizens are fascists- not all of them, but enough to matter. I’m poor and I can’t afford to kid myself. I arranged the following decades of my work life so that I did data entry and any work that did not depend on social connections to be done well. I also started collecting anything and everything Hannah Arendt wrote. Who better to prepare me for watching fascists overrun my own country than someone who lived through it herself.

    • Yep.

    • No argument, definitely started with Regan… but IMO the biggest thing that got us where we are today is Talk Radio. I know several people who were definitely left of center, but listening to Limbaugh during their commute somehow turned them.

  2. Jefferson was wrong; Karl Popper was right.

    Unlimited tolerance must lead to the disappearance of tolerance. If we extend unlimited tolerance even to those who are intolerant, if we are not prepared to defend a tolerant society against the onslaught of the intolerant, then the tolerant will be destroyed, and tolerance with them. In this formulation, I do not imply, for instance, that we should always suppress the utterance of intolerant philosophies; as long as we can counter them by rational argument and keep them in check by public opinion, suppression would certainly be most unwise. But we should claim the right to suppress them if necessary even by force; for it may easily turn out that they are not prepared to meet us on the level of rational argument, but begin by denouncing all argument; they may forbid their followers to listen to rational argument, because it is deceptive, and teach them to answer arguments by the use of their fists or pistols. We should therefore claim, in the name of tolerance, the right not to tolerate the intolerant. We should claim that any movement preaching intolerance places itself outside the law, and we should consider incitement to intolerance and persecution as criminal, in the same way as we should consider incitement to murder, or to kidnapping, or to the revival of the slave trade, as criminal.

    My younger self would probably be horrified with my present self for saying this, but I fear we must find some legal way to gag the Hate Media, especially the For-Profit Hate Media (Faux Noise, Newsmuck, ONAN, Hate Radio, etc.), without whose constant reinforcement I think most of our adversaries would either cease to be cranks, or would at least become harmless cranks.

  3. RD, the podcast with Stanley was outstanding. It all made perfect sense. I could never understand why people pursued actions and supported leaders who never had their best interests at heart. The brilliance of trump’s tactics and the thought of Tucker Carlson being our next prez has scared me shitless. First, Stanley says we need accountability and then restoration of the respect for truth, but can it be done? I fear mass media will be our undoing.

  4. Speaking of fascist propaganda:

    https://www.wonkette.com/tucker-carlson-just-saying-an-attack-on-domestic-terrorists-is-an-attack-on-you

    The article writer, Evan Hurst, on the average Carlson viewer:

    “But again, his average viewer isn’t bringing the double-headed dildos to the MENSA orgy, if you know what we mean.”

    Damn! I’ve been going to the wrong MENSA meetings! 😀

    NARRATOR: “Mr. Woodpecker is not actually a member of MENSA.”

Comments are closed.