• Tips gratefully accepted here. Thanks!:

  • Recent Comments

    Ivory Bill Woodpecke… on Episode 16: Public Speaki…
    Ivory Bill Woodpecke… on Episode 16: Public Speaki…
    Beata on Episode 16: Public Speaki…
    Ivory Bill Woodpecke… on Episode 16: Public Speaki…
    Ivory Bill Woodpecke… on Episode 16: Public Speaki…
    Propertius on Episode 16: Public Speaki…
    jmac on Episode 16: Public Speaki…
    Propertius on Episode 16: Public Speaki…
    jmac on Episode 16: Public Speaki…
    Propertius on Episode 16: Public Speaki…
    Propertius on Episode 16: Public Speaki…
    Propertius on Episode 16: Public Speaki…
    Propertius on Episode 16: Public Speaki…
    riverdaughter on Episode 16: Public Speaki…
    Propertius on Episode 16: Public Speaki…
  • Categories


  • Tags

    abortion Add new tag Afghanistan Al Franken Anglachel Atrios bankers Barack Obama Bernie Sanders big pharma Bill Clinton cocktails Conflucians Say Dailykos Democratic Party Democrats Digby DNC Donald Trump Donna Brazile Economy Elizabeth Warren feminism Florida Fox News General Glenn Beck Glenn Greenwald Goldman Sachs health care Health Care Reform Hillary Clinton Howard Dean John Edwards John McCain Jon Corzine Karl Rove Matt Taibbi Media medicare Michelle Obama Michigan misogyny Mitt Romney Morning Edition Morning News Links Nancy Pelosi New Jersey news NO WE WON'T Obama Obamacare occupy wall street OccupyWallStreet Open thread Paul Krugman Politics Presidential Election 2008 PUMA racism Republicans research Sarah Palin sexism Single Payer snark Social Security Supreme Court Terry Gross Texas Tim Geithner unemployment Wall Street WikiLeaks women
  • Archives

  • History

    August 2011
    S M T W T F S
     123456
    78910111213
    14151617181920
    21222324252627
    28293031  
  • RSS Paul Krugman: Conscience of a Liberal

    • An error has occurred; the feed is probably down. Try again later.
  • The Confluence

    The Confluence

  • RSS Suburban Guerrilla

  • RSS Ian Welsh

  • Top Posts

Battening down the hatches

Update: A friend of mine is stranded in Atlanta until Monday. His connecting flight to Philly was cancelled. Does anyone in the Atlanta area have suggestions for a good night’s sleep? List them in the comments. Also, anywhere to hear good live music in Atlanta tonight? Recommendations for local cuisine? I should mention that he is a newly independent entrepreneur. Some people are born entrepreneurs, some have entrepreneurship thrust upon them. My friend is in the latter category so economical suggestions will be given priority.

Hi all, I’m busy today trying to get all of the outside stuff fastened down so they don’t blow away.

Susie Madrak is back! Yay! But she could probably use some sugar in her bowl to offset the costs of the best health care in the world. So, visit her tip jar and tip generously, if you can.

Susie found this little ditty from Eric Cantor about what we storm ravaged Northeastern Liberal Elites can expect in the form of disaster relief from the federal government:

House Majority Leader Eric Cantor (R-VA) is insisting that “any potential emergency disaster aid be offset by spending cuts.”Huffington Post reports that “Cantor spokesman Brad Dayspring on Friday declined to say where Republicans would look to make cuts to pay for a potential storm aid package.” Speaker John Boehner’s spokesperson “ducked the question altogether when asked if Boehner agreed with Cantor’s call for offsets for emergency aid.” Boehner and Cantor’s position is “a break from a bipartisan tradition” of immediately appropriating funds to help those in need following a natural disaster.

Can I just say that besides being mean-spirited and short sighted, I find this incredibly offensive to those of us on the east coast. The coast populations pay some of the highest taxes in the country and send more money to Washington that we get back. That money pays for farm subsidies and ethanol subsidies and wars we did not wish to engage in and all kinds of things that the “heartland” takes for granted. In fact, I’m tired of us always bowing and scraping to the holiness of the midwest and rural voters. They think way too much of their own self-importance.

Resentment and righteous indignation is NOT what the midwest want the coastal states to feel about them right now. Seriously. We share an awful lot of our money with them. Every year when I do my taxes, I’m shocked by the amount that I shell out to everyone else while I try to figure out how I’m going to pay for my own needs in this ridiculously expensive state. Even next year when I do them I will have paid more in taxes as a newly unemployed person than some voter in a midwest state makes in salary in a year. It pisses me off to no end to hear some financial domestic terrorist like Tea Party Eric Cantor shooting off his mouth about what we will and will not get in aid from the feds. Who the f%&* does he think he is?

The east coast suburbanites who may be washed out of their houses from Irene are going to come down on the Republican party like a hammer if there’s any monkeying around with the FEMA funds.

Don’t even go there, Eric.

42 Responses

  1. Very overcast. The wind is starting to pick up.

  2. Ooo, I’m right under the H now.

  3. I hope they are wrong. Good luck.

  4. I used read Tbogg who always made an issue out of California’s position of getting screwed by Federal tax outlays. I got into a bit of a tiff when I looked all the way back to 1900 and saw that CA received far more from the Feds for 50 years than it paid. My home state looks good on the scale because NC has so many military bases but sometimes those are tossed from the calculation. Anyway, I couldn’t find my historical research but if I remember correctly you are right except for WWII spending, so yeah, NY/NJ is probably on the short end of the tax stick all the way back.

  5. Good luck dealing with the storm. Thankfully it doesn’t look to be as bad as it initially was thought to be.

  6. With all due respect (not much), Rep. Cantor is an idiot. I’d like to hear what he would say if his family were in the storm and without power for several weeks.

    Hunker down and stay safe, RD. Let us know you are OK when the storm passes.

    djmm

  7. RD keeps fingers crossed for you on east coast — hopefully it will not be as big as it seems on the news — Googlewise.

  8. I should clarify: The “not much” respect is directed at Rep. Cantor, not you, RD. Your post is superb.

    djmm

  9. The coast populations pay the same rate in taxes as the rest of the nation. I’m from the midwest, and if you want my charity, just come and ask me and I’ll send you a couple bucks, but I don’t know why my tax money routinely is taken from me and sent to the east and west coasts just because you people choose to live in areas that are hit by natural disasters.

    • lol! thanks I needed the laugh

    • As a fellow Midwesterner I have to agree with you, ACT. We never have any expensive disasters like those profligate L & R Coasters do–no floods, no droughts, no fires, no earthquakes–and certainly no tornadoes!

      • Ooops–forgot the winkie: 😉

      • Mayor orders evacuation of flood-threatened Illinois city …
        http://www.usatoday.com/…/floods/2011-04-30-illinois-flood-threat_n.ht... – CachedMay 1, 2011 – The mayor of a small southern Illinois city threatened by two swollen rivers has ordered all residents to leave by midnight because a lot of river …

        2011 Illinois Floods
        http://www.sfm.illinois.gov › About OSFM – CachedAug 18, 2011 – Office of the Illinois State Fire Marshal. How Do I? … THE 2011 ASSISTANCE TO FIREFIGHTERS GRANT PROGRAM … 2011 Flood Pictures …

        Illinois History: How the 2011 Flood Compares with 1937 at Cairo
        illinoishistory.blogspot.com/2011/…/how-2011-flood-compares-wit… – CachedApr 25, 2011 – How the 2011 Flood Compares with 1937 at Cairo … [For more, check out my posts at Southern Illinois Tourism News. I talked with Louise Ogg …

        Hey you’re right ! No floods… Amazing! All due to your MW right thinking and clean living no doubt

    • Oh, wow. I think you completely missed the point. States like NJ, NY, MA, routinely send more to the federal government coffers than they take in. We are *subsidizing* YOU, every day of the year.
      There is a link to this subject and I will try to dig it up for you but if anyone else has a link, jump in.
      But the bigger point, and i am really sad to have to bring this up to you, is that we are a Union. That means, we look out for one another. Now we can debate whether there needs to be a department of homeland security and whether FEMA wasn’t better off on it’s own, but until Katrina, I never saw the federal government abandon its citizens. That diminishes our perception of what it means to be an American. The idea of being number one in the world takes a hit when we give in to our selfish base desires to only protect our own small enclave and screw the rest.
      Believe me, if the Republicans screw us over with the FEMA assistance, there will be hell to pay. We’re tired of footing the bill for you and then have you turn up your snooty noses when it’s time for us to benefit from our own largess. We aren’t asking for your charity. We expect to get the services we have already paid for without any additional penalties.

      • RD, Eric Cantor is from urban Virginia. That is not the midwest. John Boehner (Ohio) may have handed his balls over to Cantor lately but he has never balked at helping any area that had a nutural disaster in the past.

        While there are undoubtably a few idiots who whine about seeing federal dollars go to other areas of the country in a time of emergency, I don’t think that there’s any evidence that midwesterners are any more likely to do so than people from other parts of the country.

    • Here’s the link of federal taxes paid vs received by state for 2011 . Eric Cantor should STFU.

      and you conservative out there should remember that you’re entitled to your own opinion but your not entitled to your own facts.

      (clintonistas should take note that Hillary won all of the donator states except illinois and Wisconsin. Burns my oatmeal every time I think about how the Democratic party blew us off.)

    • it is not about tax rates. Most red states get more back from DC than they send in in the form of taxes. Blue states, in general, send in more than what they get back. Red states are welfare states and blue states are getting taxed to pay for all those wasteful programs and projects the red states cook up to squeeze a few more bucks from the feds. If you have driven on newly paved roads or crossed a bridge lately? You are welcome. We can’t let you fall in to the creek after all.

      • Wow, you must have had super-elitist tea this morning. Breakfast with the Obamas?

      • Btw, if you were the teresa in PA who had her own blog a few years ago and asked for donations to help pay your rent, I sent twenty-five bucks, from the midwest, and didn’t even get a thank you e-mail.

    • BTW, I would like to congratulate you on your honorable efforts to teach conservatives. Some one has to do it I suppose. = )

    • Yo, Ms. Empathy, If I lived in the mid-west, I wouldn’t have any civil rights at all, instead of the very few I receive in California. You’re icky, ACT.

      Sorry, I believe I left out two appropriate letters from your acronym.

      • How do you know whether or not ACT is female?

        For that matter, was ACT serious, or did s/he just forget the snark tags?

  10. so far so good. 🙂

  11. Rep Cantor is not the only idiot in Congress:

    http://www.salon.com/news/ron_paul/index.html?story=/politics/war_room/2011/08/26/ron_paul_hurricanes

    In 1900, over 6500 people died in Galveston from the 1900 hurricane. Ah, the good ole days that Ron Paul longs for.

    djmm

  12. Here in the north east part of the great and generous donor Common Wealth of PA, we are just getting the outer bands of the hurricane.

  13. Update: the rain bands are moving in. Steady rain punctuated by heavy downpour. I’m going to be emptying the dehumidifier in the basement constantly this weekend

  14. OMG, I just lost my satellite TV signal. Whatever shall I do?

    • Er, use Netflix on your iPad? Switch to apple tv and stream stuff to it using AirPlay? (can you tell I’m one of those asshole apple fans?)
      Paint? Organize your closets? Or how about:

      • I just figured out I can take my lowly NOOK and turn it into a dual boot Android tablet. I just need a handy $40 specially configured SD card. Of course, if I lose my cable, I lose my phone and internet too. The pains of semi-rural life.

  15. I don’t know how high winds get affected by cramming themselves in between high buildings. I suspect they get even faster due to various wind-tunnel effects. So perhaps everyone living in the skyscraper areas should do all they can to take every loose object indoors. A common metal garbage can becomes a deadly missile at a hundred miles per hour which will happen in hundreds of little wind tunnels between the skyscrapers in New York City, for example. And Philadelphia and wherever else skyscrapers live. If such a garbage can hits a glass window at a hundred miles an hour, then flying razors of razor sharp broken glass enter the wind and spin around as they move at the same hundred miles an hour, ;lus shredding everyone in the room where the window was if they go into the room. So everyone
    in the skyscraper areas should take every loose object indoors. (Or so it seems to me).

    • Good idea.
      I rode out Hurricane Charlie in a penthouse in Naples. The scariest thing was the way the 2 story windows overlooking the gulf were “breathing” during the storm. Yeah, we should have evacuated in retrospect. A few years later, a much less powerful hurricane took that plate glass out. Good thing that no one was there.
      So, if you’re in a tall building, probably a good idea to stay away from rooms with windows. JMHO.

  16. Just moved the chairs on the deck so they wouldn’t go through the french doors.

  17. About your friend’s Atlanta Restaurant request . . .

    Many years ago a pharmacy student where I work talked about a short visit to Atlanta and how happy he was at Po’ Boys Restaurant in Buckhead , Georgia. Buckhead is a yuppie upscale part of Atlanta. I don’t know if he was knowledgeable about food, but he said he was happy. Here are a couple links about Po’ Boy’s Restaurant. http://local.yahoo.com/info-13695255-po-boys-buckhead-atlanta
    http://www.restaurantrow.com/m_pic.cfm?Type=Menu&nCode=862250&code=862250&Byte=u&Number=1&Ext=gif&Word=menu&Count=4

    Also there is a chain of Brazilian steakhouses called Fogo de Chao. I have been to the one in Washington D.C. and been very happy. If headquarters enforces uniformity across all members of the chain, then Fogo de Chao Buckhead should be just as good. http://www.urbanspoon.com/r/9/120017/restaurant/Buckhead-Brookhaven/Fogo-de-Chao-Churrascaria-Atlanta

  18. Nothing yet in Freeport, Maine, where I attended a wedding today.

  19. I reread the post more carefully. Economical? I believe I remember
    the pharmacy student saying Po’ Boy’s was all-you-can-eat for a fair price, so if you can eat a few-couple pounds of food over 2 or 3 hours, then it becomes value for money.

    Fogo de Chao has an ornate all-you-can-eat salad bar. If you don’t get the all-you-can-eat beef feature and just get the salad bar, that too is value for money at a fair price.

    for brute cheapness I don’t know what to say.

Comments are closed.