• Tips gratefully accepted here. Thanks!:

  • Recent Comments

    Ivory Bill Woodpecke… on Waiting…
    Sweet Sue on Context
    riverdaughter on Context
    Sweet Sue on Context
    Ivory Bill Woodpecke… on Context
    riverdaughter on Context
    riverdaughter on Context
    Sweet Sue on Context
    Sweet Sue on Context
    Sweet Sue on Context
    Alessandro Machi on We should be shocked.
    Ivory Bill Woodpecke… on This sounds familiar
    Ivory Bill Woodpecke… on We should be shocked.
    Bernard Jenkins on This sounds familiar
    Sweet Sue on Opioids
  • Categories


  • Tags

    abortion Add new tag Afghanistan Al Franken Anglachel Atrios bankers Barack Obama Bernie Sanders big pharma Bill Clinton cocktails Conflucians Say Dailykos Democratic Party Democrats Digby DNC Donald Trump Donna Brazile Economy Elizabeth Warren feminism Florida Fox News General Glenn Beck Glenn Greenwald Goldman Sachs health care Health Care Reform Hillary Clinton Howard Dean John Edwards John McCain Jon Corzine Karl Rove Matt Taibbi Media medicare Michelle Obama Michigan misogyny Mitt Romney Morning Edition Morning News Links Nancy Pelosi New Jersey news NO WE WON'T Obama Obamacare OccupyWallStreet occupy wall street Open thread Paul Krugman Politics Presidential Election 2008 PUMA racism Republicans research Sarah Palin sexism Single Payer snark Social Security Supreme Court Terry Gross Texas Tim Geithner unemployment Wall Street WikiLeaks women
  • Archives

  • History

    October 2017
    S M T W T F S
    « Sep   Nov »
    1234567
    891011121314
    15161718192021
    22232425262728
    293031  
  • RSS Paul Krugman: Conscience of a Liberal

  • The Confluence

    The Confluence

  • RSS Suburban Guerrilla

  • RSS Ian Welsh

    • Assassination Works Only Under Two Circumstances
      For years, decades even, America has had a policy of assassination. Americans believe that if you kill the leaders, you kill an organization. This is delusional. It only works when it almost isn’t necessary. How many times has American killed the #2 man of the Taliban? Did killing Osama stop Al-Qaeda? Assassinating Yamamoto in WWII […]
  • Top Posts

John McCain takes on Facebook

He’s going out in a blaze of glory. (Provided he doesn’t vote for that stupid tax reform bill)

He’s proposing that the tech industry disclose who pays for political ads. The techs are going to try to finesse the situation. I’m really beginning to hate them and the Gig Economy they’re forcing on us, ruining our futures and upending the American dream.

BTW, I’ve taken to reading the release notes on the apps I update on my phone. It’s an obsession these days given what I now do for a living. Google and YouTube write the smuggest release notes. They’re all like, “We’re updating. Don’t you worry your pretty blonde head about what features we enhanced. You wouldn’t understand it anyway.” F#%^ing annoying. Kudos to Kayak who write very nice release notes.

Ok, I got off topic. Maybe I’m the only one who gets annoyed with this.

Anyway, I think we should support this bill. Nothing but full disclosure is going to satisfy me now. Your friends and family shouldn’t be suckered in to passing around propaganda without their knowledge.

That’s how we end up with dictators and autocrats with the self control of two year olds.

***********************************

An aside.

I live in a diverse suburb east of Pittsburgh. Some of my cousins thought I was crazy to buy my house there. But it’s where I spent my happiest years as a kid. The demographics might have changed, but the sound of the trees in the wind, the smell of the air and the loveliness of the neighborhood haven’t.

I chose my location carefully. It’s close to the bus stop if I ever need it. The street has a stable community of neighbors. The houses are pretty well maintained, mine being a bit of an issue because I bought a foreclosed property and had to spend my money on more critical needs when I moved in.

But I have never regretted moving where I did. Last year at this time, I was actively canvassing every weekend. I met people at my local Giant Eagle where I registered them to vote. I opened my house to strangers on the last three weeks of the campaign and most of my volunteers were African American.

And you know what? It was great. I learned a lot. Mostly I learned that people are people. They have families and feelings and jobs and careers and churches and interests. I still run into some of those volunteers and we’re happy to reconnect and catch up.

They are our neighbors. They aren’t “them”.

Love is love, and people are humans. Anyone who says anything negative about my neighbors or where I live is looking for a swift knee to the junk.

Grow up.

4 Responses

  1. Mostly I learned that people are people.

    This is one of the first things you learn as an immigrant from half way around the world. When I interact with someone, most of the time, I forget I am Indian, or look Indian (meaning don’t feel I am the other). That is mostly because of the American way (as exemplified in IBW’s pic), trump notwithstanding.

Comments are closed.

