• Tips gratefully accepted here. Thanks!:

  • Recent Comments

    BlizzardOfOz on It’s very simple.
    Ivory Bill Woodpecke… on Stroll: whiners
    BlizzardOfOz on It’s very simple.
    Ivory Bill Woodpecke… on Stroll: whiners
    Ivory Bill Woodpecke… on Stroll: whiners
    Ivory Bill Woodpecke… on It’s very simple.
    Ivory Bill Woodpecke… on It’s very simple.
    BlizzardOfOz on It’s very simple.
    BlizzardOfOz on It’s very simple.
    Ivory Bill Woodpecke… on Stroll: whiners
    Ivory Bill Woodpecke… on It’s very simple.
    Ivory Bill Woodpecke… on It’s very simple.
    Ivory Bill Woodpecke… on It’s very simple.
    riverdaughter on It’s very simple.
    riverdaughter on Lunch: nooners
  • Categories


  • Tags

    abortion Add new tag Afghanistan Al Franken Anglachel Atrios bankers Barack Obama Bernie Sanders big pharma Bill Clinton cocktails Conflucians Say Dailykos Democratic Party Democrats Digby DNC Donald Trump Donna Brazile Economy Elizabeth Warren feminism Florida Fox News General Glenn Beck Glenn Greenwald Goldman Sachs health care Health Care Reform Hillary Clinton Howard Dean John Edwards John McCain Jon Corzine Karl Rove Matt Taibbi Media medicare Michelle Obama Michigan misogyny Mitt Romney Morning Edition Morning News Links Nancy Pelosi New Jersey news NO WE WON'T Obama Obamacare OccupyWallStreet occupy wall street Open thread Paul Krugman Politics Presidential Election 2008 PUMA racism Republicans research Sarah Palin sexism Single Payer snark Social Security Supreme Court Terry Gross Texas Tim Geithner unemployment Wall Street WikiLeaks women
  • Archives

  • History

    August 2017
    S M T W T F S
    « Jul    
     12345
    6789101112
    13141516171819
    20212223242526
    2728293031  
  • RSS Paul Krugman: Conscience of a Liberal

    • An error has occurred; the feed is probably down. Try again later.
  • The Confluence

    The Confluence

  • RSS Suburban Guerrilla

  • RSS Ian Welsh

    • Lies, Damned Monopolies, and Sex Difference Statistics (UPDATED)
        (POST BY MANDOS – was posted early quite by accident, postscripts below basically with how I planned to conclude) L’affaire Damore The whole kerfuffle about the Damore manifesto at Google and James Damore’s subsequent firing led to the dredging up of old debates about the sources of underrepresentation particularly in technological professions such as […] […]
  • Top Posts

Stride: Duh

So, yesterday, I was all ready to hit the Y when I realized I forgot to bring my combination lock.

Today, I brought the combination lock but had to work at another site across the city this afternoon. I brought all my stuff except my running shoes. They're still under my desk.

{{faceplant}}

**************************************
We can now fix certain forms of heart disease using CRSPR to edit genes in an embryo. OMG, cue the outrage and pretentious moralizing from the "christians" for experimenting on human embryos.

The full Nature paper is out.

Don't make that face. A paper a day will put hair on your chest.

I know what you're thinking. Gattaca. Ehhhh, probably not in our lifetime.

But if we could have a Gattaca program, you can bet Donald Trump would use it to screen out unwanted applicants from the immigration process. His new proposal will do nothing to help the careers of STEM workers who are already legal residents and American citizens. So, um, thanks for nothing.

Speaking of nothing, Trump's poll numbers are sliding. It looks like he's losing his base.

That's not really a surprise. His voters wanted a winner.

He's not.

Gerrymandering is crucial for GOP maintaining control of the house. It's probably not going to change in 2018 until voters have a solid understanding of what this actually means and by the time you bring up the topic of conversation, they're already experiencing MEGO*.

*My Eyes Glaze Over.

5 Responses

  1. omg, not one comment for your Bread post?? Thank you, and good luck at the Y….I found a gym, just have to pull the trigger. I’m sure I will have days of forgetting this and that so I “can’t” go. And Bread, all the way!

    • I love Bread. Can post more if there are more fans.

      Comments are cyclical. It slows down during the summer in any case and you never know what kind of Post will get attention. Sometimes, I’ll spend days on a series of related posts, like the ones I did on Karen Ho’s book, Liquidated. No one paid any attention.
      Another day I’ll rant and swear like a sailor. That gets a lot of comments. I could feel equally passionate about both types but the readers respond to their own zeitgeist. Foe what it’s worth, I’m not in it for popularity. Quite the opposite actually. This is a place where you can feel safe to resist consensus reality. That means it sometimes grates our allies.
      Even so, there have been almost 13 million unique page hits since I started this blog, not that I’m going to get all Donald Trump about it. But it does mean that at times, left leaning people have found it necessary to resist their own side and to disagree. And that’s fine.

    • And yes, I lost a lot of weight. I’ve gone from a size 10 (tight) to a size 6 (loose). I’m 5’9″ so even at my biggest, I could kind of pull off the extra weight. But I feel much better since I shed it.

      The secret to weight loss for me was counting every calorie. I hate to say it works because I resisted it all my life. But that’s what it took. And the way I do it is by portion control and front loading my calories earlier in the day. One other thing I noticed is that exercise got a LOT easier once I lost some weight. It’s a little counterintuitive. You’ve got to lose some weight before exercise becomes doable at all. Even then, I don’t expect exercise to help me lose weight. It’s only for fitness and toning. I’ve never been able to lose weight by exercise. That being said, if I go over my calories, I try to burn it off as soon as possible. That helps.

  2. One other thing I noticed is that exercise got a LOT easier once I lost some weight.

    Lugging those extra pounds while exercising before losing them is not so easy. An anecdote in that regard was the first time I visited Point Reyes lighthouse, I was sprinting down the steps and had to come back up to buy something at the store on top and go back down, all done effortlessly. Fast forward to a decade later, and lugging 20 pounds extra, not so easy to go down and up even once.

    {On a side note, I wish more people come out of their hiding and participate in the comment section. Most of the time it is just me, sometimes IBW, feels lonely}.

    • As I said, comments really drop off during the summer. People go on vacation. They only check their phones occasionally.
      It happens.

Comments are closed.

