• Tips gratefully accepted here. Thanks!:

  • Recent Comments

    Ga6thDem on Sunday: It goes without s…
    pm317 on Sunday: It goes without s…
    Sweet Sue on Sunday: Sheep may safely …
    pm317 on Sunday: It goes without s…
    Sweet Sue on Sunday: Sheep may safely …
    pm317 on Sunday: It goes without s…
    Lady V on Sunday: It goes without s…
    pm317 on Sunday: It goes without s…
    riverdaughter on Sunday: It goes without s…
    pm317 on Sunday: It goes without s…
    pm317 on Summer, summer, summer…
    pm317 on Summer, summer, summer…
    pm317 on Summer, summer, summer…
    pm317 on Summer, summer, summer…
    Ivory Bill Woodpecke… on Summer, summer, summer…
  • Categories


  • Tags

    abortion Add new tag Afghanistan Al Franken Anglachel Atrios bankers Barack Obama Bernie Sanders big pharma Bill Clinton cocktails Conflucians Say Dailykos Democratic Party Democrats Digby DNC Donald Trump Donna Brazile Economy Elizabeth Warren feminism Florida Fox News General Glenn Beck Glenn Greenwald Goldman Sachs health care Health Care Reform Hillary Clinton Howard Dean John Edwards John McCain Jon Corzine Karl Rove Matt Taibbi Media medicare Michelle Obama Michigan misogyny Mitt Romney Morning Edition Morning News Links Nancy Pelosi New Jersey news NO WE WON'T Obama Obamacare OccupyWallStreet occupy wall street Open thread Paul Krugman Politics Presidential Election 2008 PUMA racism Republicans research Sarah Palin sexism Single Payer snark Social Security Supreme Court Terry Gross Texas Tim Geithner unemployment Wall Street WikiLeaks women
  • Archives

  • History

    May 2017
    S M T W T F S
    « Apr   Jun »
     123456
    78910111213
    14151617181920
    21222324252627
    28293031  
  • RSS Paul Krugman: Conscience of a Liberal

  • The Confluence

    The Confluence

  • RSS Suburban Guerrilla

  • RSS Ian Welsh

    • Bannon Out
      So, this is Steve Bannon’s last day at the White House. I wrote that this would be a courtier’s White House, with a lot of knife fights, and who won them determining a lot of policy. Bannon’s a white nationalist, and scum, of course, but he’s also the only senior advisor who wants to, say, […]
  • Top Posts

Scenes from a tent in Trump Country. 

Stuck in a tent during the rain. 

Darryl: The air mattress is de-flated a little. You might have to, you know…

Charlene:  Ok, I’ll blow it and you tell me when it’s firm enough. 

{{Pause}}

Charlene: I walked right into that, didn’t I?

Darryl: I’m not saying anything. 

Charlene: Pass me the bourbon. 

Morning after an all night downpour:

Darryl: Did I see a big fleece hoodie in your car?  

Charlene: Would you like me to get it for you?

Darryl: If you wouldn’t mind. I’m freezing. 

Charlene: Anything for you. Just say the word. 

{{pause}}

Darryl:  Which word do I say?  You’re not going to make this easy on me are you?  Antidisestablishmentarianism 

Charlene: {{chortling softly and turning over}} Nope. Guess again. 

Darryl:  We can’t see the grill. 

Charlene: Or anything else. Screw it, let’s go get pancakes at a diner. You have to drive. I can’t find my glasses. 

Darryl: I gotta grab a hat or they won’t let me in the door. 

Charlene: {{peeking at hair in ponytail and no mascara in the mirror}} I don’t look all that hot either. 

Darryl:  That means we are fitting in. We have butter snaps!  We won’t starve!!

Charlene: {{waiting for omelet and singing loudly along to Queen on jukebox}} Another one rides the bus, Another one rides the bus, and another gets on, and another gets on, another one rides the bus. 

Darryl:  {{peering over his kindle- dead giveaway}} Alright, Charlene, this isn’t a karaoke bar. 

A little later

Darryl: You should read this article about gerrymandering if I can figure out where it’s from.  By someone at CNN. 

Charlene: {{googling}}

Darryl: How do you spell that? 

Charlene: G-E-R-R-Y-M-A-N-D-E-R-I-N-G

Darryl: no

Charlene: that’s not how you spell it?  

Darryl: I meant CNN. C-N-?

Waitress brings breakfast. 

Charlene: Can I have some of your sausage?

Darryl: {{running with it}}. Go ahead Charlene. Take a bite. It’s a big thick sausage. You know you want to. Juicy and delicious. 

{{Charlene loses it. Can’t stop laughing.}}

Darryl: {{not letting up}}. Go ahead, order some pie. 

Darryl pulls into gas station 

Charlene: Why are we stopping here?

Darryl: Because you’re on a quarter tank. 

Charlene: I was going to stop on the way home. 

Darryl: We’re going to do it now. {{pulling up to pump}}

Charlene: You’re on the wrong side. 

Darryl: Damn Japanese car

Charlene: It’s Korean. 

Darryl:  I’ll bet it’s NORTH Korean. It’s got the gas thing on the north side of the car. 

{{Darryl fumbles for the gas latch and pops the hood}}

Charlene: {{laughing}} Where did you get your PhD?

Darryl: Shuddup, Charlene. I’m checking the oil. 

13 Responses

  1. Darryl: I’m not saying anything.
    Charlene: Pass me the bourbon.
    Darryl: I thought you didn’t drink?
    Charlene: I just need something to get this taste out of my mouth.

  2. Right, stop that.

  3. I hope you and BiFF are enjoying your camping weekend.

    This Memorial Day today, is also the centennial of John F. Kennedy’s birthday (May 29, 1917).

    I knew he had a May birthday, but I had not looked it. The NYT had this op-ed piece today.

    Riverdaughter I think you would like the 5th paragraph from the end.

    • Thanks, JMS! Are you the one from central NJ who remembers my school board days?

      • No, I live in a western suburb of Chicago.

      • That would be me… moved out west in 1999, now back in Allentown PA. Lived on the corner of Longfield Dr, and Amwell. (The hose with all the flowers)

        • ARGGHHH… no edit.. HOUSE

        • Is that the east side of 206? I live in Pittsburgh these days.
          Been so long since I was on the BoE. Funny that anyone remembers that long ago. Should I have stuck with it?

  4. An intrusion into RD’s flirtation with nature:

    The Con knew who he is conning.

  5. The buffoon wants to show off his buffoonery. But it is a day of solemnity remembering those who lost their lives for you and a few lives have already been lost under his order. What a buffoon!

Comments are closed.

