• Tips gratefully accepted here. Thanks!:

  • Recent Comments

    Ga6thDem on Sunday: It goes without s…
    pm317 on Sunday: It goes without s…
    Sweet Sue on Sunday: Sheep may safely …
    pm317 on Sunday: It goes without s…
    Sweet Sue on Sunday: Sheep may safely …
    pm317 on Sunday: It goes without s…
    Lady V on Sunday: It goes without s…
    pm317 on Sunday: It goes without s…
    riverdaughter on Sunday: It goes without s…
    pm317 on Sunday: It goes without s…
    pm317 on Summer, summer, summer…
    pm317 on Summer, summer, summer…
    pm317 on Summer, summer, summer…
    pm317 on Summer, summer, summer…
    Ivory Bill Woodpecke… on Summer, summer, summer…
  • Categories


  • Tags

    abortion Add new tag Afghanistan Al Franken Anglachel Atrios bankers Barack Obama Bernie Sanders big pharma Bill Clinton cocktails Conflucians Say Dailykos Democratic Party Democrats Digby DNC Donald Trump Donna Brazile Economy Elizabeth Warren feminism Florida Fox News General Glenn Beck Glenn Greenwald Goldman Sachs health care Health Care Reform Hillary Clinton Howard Dean John Edwards John McCain Jon Corzine Karl Rove Matt Taibbi Media medicare Michelle Obama Michigan misogyny Mitt Romney Morning Edition Morning News Links Nancy Pelosi New Jersey news NO WE WON'T Obama Obamacare OccupyWallStreet occupy wall street Open thread Paul Krugman Politics Presidential Election 2008 PUMA racism Republicans research Sarah Palin sexism Single Payer snark Social Security Supreme Court Terry Gross Texas Tim Geithner unemployment Wall Street WikiLeaks women
  • Archives

  • History

    April 2017
    S M T W T F S
    « Mar   May »
     1
    2345678
    9101112131415
    16171819202122
    23242526272829
    30  
  • RSS Paul Krugman: Conscience of a Liberal

  • The Confluence

    The Confluence

  • RSS Suburban Guerrilla

  • RSS Ian Welsh

    • Bannon Out
      So, this is Steve Bannon’s last day at the White House. I wrote that this would be a courtier’s White House, with a lot of knife fights, and who won them determining a lot of policy. Bannon’s a white nationalist, and scum, of course, but he’s also the only senior advisor who wants to, say, […]
  • Top Posts

Good Vibrations 

From HystericalLiterature, Stormy reads American Psycho:


I’m planning to read Invisible Man by Ralph Ellison later. 😉

Happy Sunday to you. 

45 Responses

  1. I want what she’s having.

  2. Baby heard the good vibrations…

  3. The Kermit Sandwich (invented today)

    Thin slice baguette
    Slice of raclette (or another nutty memorable cheese)
    Slice apple (kanzi but could be anything)
    Slice prosciutto

    Toast baguette slice. Add cheese. Melt. Top with Apple.
    Put Piggy on top.
    😉

    • I kind of invented a recipe myself yesterday… Indianized Aebelskiver with potato+onion curry stuffed inside. I saw this video today after I struggled to turn the little bastards yesterday. I need to use a skewer like this woman does to turn them.

      • That looks like an idli pan. Is it?

        • Good (how do you know all this Indian stuff?) 🙂 Yeah, it is shaped like an idli plate but as you might know, idli plates are stacked and steamed in a cooker. I think they can be used over stovestop to make these, but would be a pain. These are like pancake griddle with a handle, easy to cook on the stove tops.

  4. This is the only public forum I participate in — so I will put this here. All major newspapers and TV networks need to hire computer science majors and preferably those who understand coding/hacking and are good at it. That is the age we live. No more liberal arts, history major, journalism major. That is the big void I am seeing right now everywhere. The reporters today everywhere, forget about those dinosaur pundits on TV don’t know how to analyze what is happening with the current crisis and what to look for. And there is no investigative reporting anymore. I don’t begrudge David Farenthold’s Pulitzer because he is a good guy, but did we need all that work just to prove Trump is a crook and a liar with his charity? There are bigger fish to fry with him. People are operating in different universes which makes frauds and cons and criminals like Putin/Trump do their thing in plain sight right under our noses. Media is so so woefully incompetent not to mention corrupt for the problems we have today.

    • Have you tried The Conversation?

      • Just looked it up but what is its reach? How many know about it? I didn’t. My bigger issue is how do we change the NYTs, WaPOs, and CNNs to work for the little people. What they have done or not done in the this crisis is a travesty.

      • I want to clarify my comment about what I meant about participation — I read a lot from various sources but this is the only blog where I leave comments. Maybe I should get a twitter account — I have been talking about that for a while — that way I can satisfy my craving to say my 2 cents.

        • You should definitely do twitter. But The Conversation is written by experts in their fields, such as scientists, environmentalists, etc.
          They do the job that journalists should do but frequently don’t.

          • I shun social media. Too many nasty “morans” on it. 😛

          • Agree. Looked up that site and I like their concept but not yet convinced of their reach or longevity. I think there should be a video site with quick nuggets on issues of the day in addition to print articles.

  5. I was thinking the doctor in this latest United imbroglio is a hero who showed how state violence works together with corporations in their hunger for greed. Why was their so much violence from the police and why was their a need to call them in the first place instead of working it out within the United personnel. I have always liked the fact that this country is bound by rule of law but with all the police violence, over the top airport TSA/CBP and others breathing down the traveling public, I am not so sure anymore. What is happening is shameful.

    Couple of interesting threads on Twitter:

    • Another thread: goes to my thinking of rule of law being good but humanity, common sense, and mere decency has to prevail over everything else.

    • OMG, *there not their…I am ready for twitter!!

  6. I think the Democrats should blame Trump for the United Airlines brutality. The way that Gingrich blamed that awful woman in Georgia, who drowned her two children on liberalism. This would be an easier sell: Trump is fostering a cutlure of vicious authoritarianism. I don’t care if it is a stretch or not. I would make every effort to blame everything bad on Trump. I don’t think the average voter respond to or understands coherent policy arguments, or Hillary would have won an immense victory. Apparently they only respond to easy to follow slogans and connections. It is long past time that the Democrats relinquish the need to do everything by the book, as it has been ineffective in stopping the Republicans from taking over the country. So connect United Airlines with Trump’s efforts to turn the country into a dictatorship, and his policies which are only on the side of large corporations.

    • I totally agree with you, William. Time to get down in the swamp.

    • Democrats don’t seem to be able to escalate. They don’t do this well:

      • I have thought of that scene many times. It may be their/our basic decency that prevents them/us from going to this level.

        It’s long past time for the Democrats to make Sun Tzu’s “The Art of War” required reading and to put it into practice. It’s the perfect opportunity with a president who does not have the patience to learn and who has a thin skin.

        I’m really tired of how much the Repugnants have put the country into reverse since St. Ronnie of Reagan and I’m tired of losing!

  7. Here we go! To illustrate my point above, is it possible to have a knowledgeable reporter dissect how this guy may have created and possibly used a virus to hack into election/voting machines? Where are the vulnerabilities in our voting systems?

    Arrested man reportedly told wife he had created a computer virus ‘linked to Trump’s election win’

  8. Things I have learned lately: if you’re thin enuf, you can make Old Navy look good.

    Damn.
    I can never gain weight again.

    • If you are thin, everything, I mean everything and anything (within the limits of good taste) looks good.

      • I’m wearing my clothes from 25 years ago. I know right? Who saves their clothes for 25 years? Idk. They just “sparked joy” and I couldn’t bear to give them away. Not all of them are classics but I have a Ralph Lauren hounds tooth blazer that fits perfectly again so I’m wearing that baby to death.
        But I’ve noticed that you can get a lot of basics for not a lot of money. And I keep shrinking in jeans sizes. not that I’m complaining. Just need a raise to keep up with it.

    • Weight loss and blonde highlights?
      Something tells me that if you’re not in love already, you will be soon.

      • Jeez.
        I’m just regressing.
        Besides, my hair is white. I’ve been going white since I was about 12. I’m sick of coloring it back to my original hair color. So I’m blonding it gradually with balayage. It’s a long and expensive process.
        The weight loss started with norovirus during Christmas break. Couldn’t eat for a week. Then I thot, what the hell, I’ll just go for it. Then I joined the Y and I run and swim.
        So, you know, there’s that.

        • I usually follow the Rhett Butler diet:

          “Frankly, my dear, I don’t give a damn.” 😛

  9. I notice that Naked Capitalism is still on your blogroll. I suppose it is still considered a hi-valu blog, then. And i notice Corrente is also still on the blogroll. Lambert Strether blogs at both of those places.

    Naked Capitalism recently ran a Lambert Strether blog about who-all voted for Trump and why. He titled it Moving Beyond Liberal Narratives for What Motivates Trump Voters. Here is the link.
    http://www.nakedcapitalism.com/2017/04/moving-beyond-liberal-narratives-motivates-trump-voters.html

    Since Katiebird reads Naked Capitalism and sometimes comments there, I suppose she has read this Lambert Strether article. If she still reads threads and comments here to decide whether or not to become active here again, she may well base her decision on the quality and nature of the comments(if any) that my comment elicits.

    • I think we should collectively help Riverdaughter clean up her blogroll. it’s much needed.

      • Good idea. Every good corporation needs to enforce good discipline and morale among its worker units. That goes double for the right-wing Democratic Party.

    • I keep thinking about cleaning the blogroll. It needs a good fumigation. Then I get distracted.

  10. My mouth was hanging open when Spicy said that Hitler didn’t use chemical weapons.
    So, I guess that Zyklon B doesn’t count.
    What a gang of assclowns.

    • I know right?? Holocaust centers?

      • Shut up, you libtards! Killary woulda been a bazillion times worse than Hitler!

        And I know that b!tch stole my strawberries! 😛

      • Oops! Looks like Spammy found my imitation of a brainwashed curmudgeon too convincing! 😛

    • Sue, I am glad to see you back. What Spicer said, deliberately or not, was that Assad is worse than Hitler, because Assad used poison gas against his own people, while Hitler killed six million Jewish people who….were just outcasts, what the hordes of medieval anti-semites called “Wandering Jews,” and who thus didn’t deserve to be called people of any country? Maybe that is not what he meant, but that is what certain people will take it as, and that is awful.

      Interestingly, Louise Mensch, who is a bit erratic, but very smart and brave, wrote the other day that what she called a “Putinbot” told her six months ago that Putin was willing to sacrifice Assad for show, keep the essential Assad regime in place, and get the sanctions lifted by the U.S. It looks like that is how it is playing out in this little puppet drama; why else would Trump have suddenly completely reversed his position on Syria within a few days? Of course, the media will completely buy it and probably hand Trump the distraction and plaudits that he desperately is trying to get.

      • Control of the Oval Office is maybe the most valuable geopolitical prize on the planet, and Putin has that control only as long as Cheetolini sits in the Oval Office, so Putin will throw any other clients under the T-34 as necessary.

        If Assad’s lucky, he might get a comfortable exile in the newly-reclaimed Crimea out of the deal, or maybe in Cuba.

Comments are closed.

