• Tips gratefully accepted here. Thanks!:

  • Recent Comments

    Ivory Bill Woodpecke… on “YOU want ME to help you…
    Ivory Bill Woodpecke… on “YOU want ME to help you…
    Ivory Bill Woodpecke… on “YOU want ME to help you…
    Ivory Bill Woodpecke… on “YOU want ME to help you…
    Sweet Sue on “YOU want ME to help you…
    Sweet Sue on “YOU want ME to help you…
    Seagrl on “YOU want ME to help you…
    MedicareForAllNow on “YOU want ME to help you…
    Ivory Bill Woodpecke… on “YOU want ME to help you…
    pm317 on “YOU want ME to help you…
    pm317 on “YOU want ME to help you…
    riverdaughter on “YOU want ME to help you…
    pm317 on “YOU want ME to help you…
    pm317 on “YOU want ME to help you…
    MedicareForAllNow on “YOU want ME to help you…
  • Categories


  • Tags

    abortion Add new tag Afghanistan Al Franken Anglachel Atrios bankers Barack Obama Bernie Sanders big pharma Bill Clinton cocktails Conflucians Say Dailykos Democratic Party Democrats Digby DNC Donald Trump Donna Brazile Economy Elizabeth Warren feminism Florida Fox News General Glenn Beck Glenn Greenwald Goldman Sachs health care Health Care Reform Hillary Clinton Howard Dean John Edwards John McCain Jon Corzine Karl Rove Matt Taibbi Media medicare Michelle Obama Michigan misogyny Mitt Romney Morning Edition Morning News Links Nancy Pelosi New Jersey news NO WE WON'T Obama Obamacare OccupyWallStreet occupy wall street Open thread Paul Krugman Politics Presidential Election 2008 PUMA racism Republicans research Sarah Palin sexism Single Payer snark Social Security Supreme Court Terry Gross Texas Tim Geithner unemployment Wall Street WikiLeaks women
  • Archives

  • History

    March 2017
    S M T W T F S
    « Feb   Apr »
     1234
    567891011
    12131415161718
    19202122232425
    262728293031  
  • RSS Paul Krugman: Conscience of a Liberal

    • An error has occurred; the feed is probably down. Try again later.
  • The Confluence

    The Confluence

  • RSS Suburban Guerrilla

    • Here’s some happy news
      The feds wiretapped Paul Manfort before and after the campaign, and may have Trump on some of the wiretaps, according to CNN: Washington (CNN)US investigators wiretapped former Trump campaign chairman Paul Manafort under secret court orders before and after the election, sources tell CNN, an extraordinary step involving a high-ranking campaign official now a […]
  • RSS Ian Welsh

    • Obama’s Just the Enemy And Always Was
      One of the most amusing things about the 07/8 primary season was how often Obama praised Reagan and how few people took him seriously. Obama thought Reagan was great, and said so repeatedly. “He put us on a fundamentally different path because the country was ready for it. I think they felt like, you know, […]
  • Top Posts

Seeing Red on International Women’s Day

Soy feminista 

Je suis une feministe

I am a feminist. 

I’ve been a feminist from the time I first understood what that word meant at about age 11. Most people who know me remember me as a fierce feminist who didn’t want to take her husband’s name, thought strict gender roles between married couples were outdated, and became a chemist because, fuck it, science is what I wanted to do all my life. 

And there were people who definitely did not make it easy for me, the first girl, the first anyone in my family to go to college.  But I got there, stumbled through it and did what I loved for 23 years. 

It seems to me like it was more socially acceptable back in the late 70’s and early 80’s to be a feminist and boldly defend equal rights and opportunities. Because what woman in her right mind would want to roll us back to the 50’s? How could that possibly make sense in the 20th, now 21st, century?  It was unthinkable. I still don’t understand how so many women have decided to embrace their second class status like it’s their right and voted in the most degrading, disrespectful misogynist in the country. 

We’ve made a lot of progress but have still been largely locked out of the power offices. And that is about to hurt us in ways we can’t even imagine yet. Now, it’s more than thinkable. 

I’d like to think that a Day Without Women will have an impact but I think we will have to peaceably assemble a lot more with our pink pussy hats on to get the attention that the majority of the world’s population deserves. 

I’m at work today because I have to give a presentation and it couldn’t wait. I’m wearing my red sweater and my bright plummy red lipstick. I feel comfortable in my skin and never regretted my gender. 

But I am seriously mad as hell about the recent turn of events. 

I’m not going down without a fight. 

“Women’s rights are human rights” 

                        – Hillary Clinton. 

Don’t forget to check out Lady V’s page UpholdTheseRights for latest updates on women’s rights. 

If this ad from the last days of the 2016 campaign doesn’t make you angry about what we lost, then you aren’t paying attention. 

Yeah, we could have had THAT. 

