• Tips gratefully accepted here. Thanks!:

  • Recent Comments

    Ivory Bill Woodpecke… on The motivation behind dehumani…
    Ivory Bill Woodpecke… on The motivation behind dehumani…
    Sweet Sue on The motivation behind dehumani…
    Sweet Sue on The motivation behind dehumani…
    Ivory Bill Woodpecke… on The motivation behind dehumani…
    Ivory Bill Woodpecke… on The motivation behind dehumani…
    riverdaughter on The motivation behind dehumani…
    quixote on The motivation behind dehumani…
    Ivory Bill Woodpecke… on The motivation behind dehumani…
    Ivory Bill Woodpecke… on The motivation behind dehumani…
    Ivory Bill Woodpecke… on The motivation behind dehumani…
    Ivory Bill Woodpecke… on The motivation behind dehumani…
    Sweet Sue on The motivation behind dehumani…
    Ivory Bill Woodpecke… on What happens to CHIP if the Ta…
    Ivory Bill Woodpecke… on What happens to CHIP if the Ta…
  • Categories


  • Tags

    abortion Add new tag Afghanistan Al Franken Anglachel Atrios bankers Barack Obama Bernie Sanders big pharma Bill Clinton cocktails Conflucians Say Dailykos Democratic Party Democrats Digby DNC Donald Trump Donna Brazile Economy Elizabeth Warren feminism Florida Fox News General Glenn Beck Glenn Greenwald Goldman Sachs health care Health Care Reform Hillary Clinton Howard Dean John Edwards John McCain Jon Corzine Karl Rove Matt Taibbi Media medicare Michelle Obama Michigan misogyny Mitt Romney Morning Edition Morning News Links Nancy Pelosi New Jersey news NO WE WON'T Obama Obamacare OccupyWallStreet occupy wall street Open thread Paul Krugman Politics Presidential Election 2008 PUMA racism Republicans research Sarah Palin sexism Single Payer snark Social Security Supreme Court Terry Gross Texas Tim Geithner unemployment Wall Street WikiLeaks women
  • Archives

  • History

    February 2017
    S M T W T F S
    « Jan   Mar »
     1234
    567891011
    12131415161718
    19202122232425
    262728  
  • RSS Paul Krugman: Conscience of a Liberal

    • An error has occurred; the feed is probably down. Try again later.
  • The Confluence

    The Confluence

  • RSS Suburban Guerrilla

    • Flynn flip? Sure looks like it!
      It’s starting to look like Robert Mueller may have given the Resistance another reason to be thankful this Thanksgiving. The New York Times is reporting that Flynn’s lawyers have notified Trump’s legal team that they can no longer talk about the Mueller probe. This is the clearest indication that Flynn is either a cooperating witness […]
  • RSS Ian Welsh

    • Trump’s Policy on NAFTA is Mostly Correct
      Yeah, I know, Trump is wrong on everything. But I agree with Thomas Walkom on NAFTA. The bottom line is that what Trump wants is what the left should want, and if it doesn’t, it isn’t the economic left. And Trudeau’s pretty face and lovely abs don’t change that. Trump wants to: raise the minimum […]
  • Top Posts

Go outside! 

I’m going to walk the reservoir. See ya!

36 Responses

  1. Check out this website! http://www.hillarybeattrump.org/

  2. Come back, RD! We need you.

    Fascinating article about the alt-right, alt-left 20 something who don’t see Trump as inappropriate (at all) and in fact like him for what/who he is, misogyny, incompetence, all of it. I had heard about 4-chan, gamergate and stuff but didn’t really know about the history of it. Trump and his minions used this crowd v. successfully but have no plans to save or rescue them. If I thought Facebook was bad for the society when it first came about, this SM application is FB on steroids. If this is the future of this country, there is more trouble coming down the pike.

    View story at Medium.com

    • Isn’t that how ISIS got started? It’s the same bunch of Clockwork Orange guys who are into breaking things to see how much they can get away with.

      Yeah, very disturbing. I was going to post on something related.

      Sorry about being in and out today. The weather is really great. I’m having some very high energy days lately so I want to get out and feel my cheerios. Lost a ton of weight. Need to buy new clothes. Feel and look 10 years younger. Plus, I’ve got some stuff to do, mostly laundry and some work I didn’t finish on Friday but have to have finished by tomorrow morning.

      • No worries, RD. It is very nice out here too around DC and I should be out hiking or something but work deadline is my pretext and this other thing is my avoidance mechanism, 🙂 I am so screwed.

        Congrats on the weight loss and looking good. I am waiting to do that after May and I WILL make it happen.

        • Yeah, muffin top gone. With a little ab work, I’ll have a flat stomach again. Gonna hit the gym big time next week. I want to look good for the summer.

          • my muffin top is alive and well so much so that some random people asked me if I was pregnant, grrrr, to which my OB/GYN said ‘look on the bright side, they think you are still young enough’ LOL.

          • {{frightening}}
            Lol!
            You’re getting distracted. I’m going to get all scrum mastery on your ass.
            Answer these three questions:
            1.) what did you do yesterday?
            2.) what are you going to do today?
            3.) what are your impediments?

            Fix your impediments.

    • Lol! Haven’t combed my hair in two days. It’s all wild and wavy. Fuck it. I’m going with it.

      • I will reply here… I had to look up ‘scrum mastery’ — so out of contemporary phraseology. I didn’t mean to scare you and I am not as out of control as I make it out to be. Though, there is a ‘head of line’ blocking thing going on here right now — as in you need to finish something but you don’t want to work on it and you don’t want to do/work on other things because this thing needs to get done first.

        • Ask yourself what you can accomplish today. Is the internet getting in your way? Can you find a good raga to put your mind into a state of relaxed concentration? If you’re at an impasse, do something else for awhile. It’s like suffering from insomnia. If you can’t sleep, get out of bed.
          Make a promise to yourself to cross one thing off your todo list. Sometimes, just forcing yourself to do that one thing makes it easier to do the rest.
          Treat yourself afterwards. But stay away from fattening things.
          Wait, is barfi fattening? Because I love that stuff.

          • Yes, Barfi is fattening. It is mostly butter/ghee and I don’t eat that stuff ever. Stay away!

            No, everything is fine. I have always been a procrastinator and even as I procrastinate, I am actually writing things up in my head (I need to write a response to an appeal brief). I visualize what I need to write first and then at some point, I start chanting, pen to paper, pen to paper and then it all comes together.

            That 4chan article is mind boggling. He has put it all together in one fine package, pieces of which most of us puzzled together at various points.

          • Dropped a whole size in jeans. SCOOOOOOOOOOORE!!!

          • Eating barfis? OK, now you are gloating! Stop it!!

          • No, deliberately NOT eating barfis. I cut all snacks and desserts out of my diet except for apples and pears.
            I do have a weakness for melon and prosciutto but I can stop anytime I want.

          • Alright, taking your advice after this comment. Shutting down the laptop. My weakness is deep fried foods (you see all those savory snacks in an Indian store next to the brafis, yeah). I am still a size 6 but with a little muffin top which will disappear after May, :). OK, walking away from the computer…….

    • I’m not sure how much of this article I agree with, but I found it interesting.

      However, I want to point out that not all otaku (manga/anime fans; it’s both singular and plural, like “deer” in English) are right-wing, or even politically engaged at all.

      Some of us just like cuteness.

      • Yeah, I am sure not everyone who uses it are, but Trump minions have successfully seemed to have used it to spread fake news — 4chan was a conduit (or that is where it all started?) for spreading pizzagate.

    • They probably supported the Sandman or Stein in the primaries. This is just a reality show to them until they get their safetynet and public education ripped away from them. Dude, do ya think Trump is going to raise your min. wage jobs or extend your unemployment for years while you earn money selling pot?

      Yes, as the adults die off, more and more tv idiots will have a chance to run our country into the ground.

  3. I believe I’ll pass on this. 😛

  4. And now for an important public service announcement… 😛

    • Omg that’s hillarious.

      • I heard that years and years ago, but somehow I only thought to search for it today, or I did look but it wasn’t on YT yet, or I just didn’t have good Search Fu the first time–I’m not sure which.

        Yep, sounds like poor old Dwayne went to rehab too late; those brain functions ain’t comin’ back. 😛

  5. We are reduced to this! US President, everyone…

    • Click on the box to see what the buffoon tweeted to get this reaction from the Swedish Embassy.

      {RD, went for a 3 mile hike this afternoon, though unfortunately muffin top is still around.}

  6. It’s pouring rain here in Northern California…to bring a little sunlight, this is for you:

    9 President’s Day Tributes Honoring Hillary Clinton, The “People’s President”
    https://www.bustle.com/p/9-presidents-day-tributes-honoring-hillary-clinton-the-peoples-president-39281

    • Shadowfax,there is a conservative think-tank summit happening in Aptos this Saturday! The Steamboat Institute is meeting: http://steamboatinstitute.org/path-forward-america-2017-beyond/

      The keynote speaker is Devin Nunes, the House Intelligence Chair, who has refused to investigate the Trump-Russia connection. His address is entitled “Global Security Challenges and the Evolving Threat Matrix.”

      Please spread the word. Hoping to inspire a protest (in the rain…at least it’s beautiful there).

  7. Thanks to Isolde Fair & her classmates for this inspiring song. I’m with YOU. 👏👏👏✨
    Watch: https://t.co/3Gt7IbcAMn

    — Hillary Clinton (@HillaryClinton) February 15, 2017

    Make it viral…

Comments are closed.

