• Tips gratefully accepted here. Thanks!:

  • Recent Comments

    Sweet Sue on Good Question
    pm317 on Good Question
    Sweet Sue on Good Question
    riverdaughter on Good Question
    riverdaughter on Good Question
    Sweet Sue on Good Question
    Sweet Sue on Good Question
    dailypuma on Good Question
    pm317 on Good Question
    pm317 on Good Question
    Sweet Sue on Good Question
    bernard jenkins on Good Question
    Ivory Bill Woodpecke… on Good Question
    Ivory Bill Woodpecke… on Good Question
    thewizardofroz on Good Question
  • Categories


  • Tags

    abortion Add new tag Afghanistan Al Franken Anglachel Atrios bankers Barack Obama Bernie Sanders big pharma Bill Clinton cocktails Conflucians Say Dailykos Democratic Party Democrats Digby DNC Donald Trump Donna Brazile Economy Elizabeth Warren feminism Florida Fox News General Glenn Beck Glenn Greenwald Goldman Sachs health care Health Care Reform Hillary Clinton Howard Dean John Edwards John McCain Jon Corzine Karl Rove Matt Taibbi Media medicare Michelle Obama Michigan misogyny Mitt Romney Morning Edition Morning News Links Nancy Pelosi New Jersey news NO WE WON'T Obama Obamacare OccupyWallStreet occupy wall street Open thread Paul Krugman Politics Presidential Election 2008 PUMA racism Republicans research Sarah Palin sexism Single Payer snark Social Security Supreme Court Terry Gross Texas Tim Geithner unemployment Wall Street WikiLeaks women
  • Archives

  • History

    February 2017
    S M T W T F S
    « Jan   Mar »
     1234
    567891011
    12131415161718
    19202122232425
    262728  
  • RSS Paul Krugman: Conscience of a Liberal

  • The Confluence

    The Confluence

  • RSS Suburban Guerrilla

  • RSS Ian Welsh

    • The Fall of the USSR
      The best book on both successes and failures of the Soviet Union is Mancur Olson’s “Power and Prosperity.”  If you haven’t read it, you should.  The second best is Randall Collins essay in Macrosociology. The great problem with most critiques of the  USSR is that they do not explain its successes.  In the 20s and […]
  • Top Posts

Fierce 

I woke up fierce this morning. Couldn’t sleep. I was thinking of a podcast I’d been listening to and my mind started clicking. More on the podcast later. 

This past weekend was the 40th anniversary of Go Your Own Way. So I put it on and felt suddenly young again. 

Got dressed. Significantly thinner now than in December. Wore a new sweater dress that’s a bit clingy. Still feeling pretty good. 

Got off the bus, earbuds screening me from everything but the jangling sound of Lindsay Buckingham’s guitar. I picked up the beat, walking down Liberty Avenue with my black leather jacket open to cool me down, having a good hair day. Sun’s coming up. It’s dawn. I’m looking forward to the rest of the day from the soles of my boots to the top of all 5 feet 9 inches of me. 

Got into work, still rocking in the elevator and swung down my corridor of IT geeks feeling my cheerios like Gisele Bundchen. 

Reached into my bag for my laptop, Stevie and Lindsay still yearning in my head only to find….

I left my laptop on my dining room table. 

Sigh. 

Back on the bus feeling stupid. 

Maybe if I listen to it again…