• Tips gratefully accepted here. Thanks!:

  • Recent Comments

    riverdaughter on Stroll: Watercolor in the…
    Sweet Sue on Dunkirk Spirit
    pm317 on Dunkirk Spirit
    Niles on Stroll: Golden Hair
    Ga6thDem on Dunkirk Spirit
    Ga6thDem on Dunkirk Spirit
    Sweet Sue on Dunkirk Spirit
    JMS on Dunkirk Spirit
    pm317 on Dunkirk Spirit
    pm317 on Dunkirk Spirit
    JMS on Dunkirk Spirit
    Ivory Bill Woodpecke… on Jamie needs reading glass…
    pm317 on Jamie needs reading glass…
    Ivory Bill Woodpecke… on Stroll: I want to rock your gy…
    Ivory Bill Woodpecke… on Stroll: I want to rock your gy…
  • Categories


  • Tags

    abortion Add new tag Afghanistan Al Franken Anglachel Atrios bankers Barack Obama Bernie Sanders big pharma Bill Clinton cocktails Conflucians Say Dailykos Democratic Party Democrats Digby DNC Donald Trump Donna Brazile Economy Elizabeth Warren feminism Florida Fox News General Glenn Beck Glenn Greenwald Goldman Sachs health care Health Care Reform Hillary Clinton Howard Dean John Edwards John McCain Jon Corzine Karl Rove Matt Taibbi Media medicare Michelle Obama Michigan misogyny Mitt Romney Morning Edition Morning News Links Nancy Pelosi New Jersey news NO WE WON'T Obama Obamacare OccupyWallStreet occupy wall street Open thread Paul Krugman Politics Presidential Election 2008 PUMA racism Republicans research Sarah Palin sexism Single Payer snark Social Security Supreme Court Terry Gross Texas Tim Geithner unemployment Wall Street WikiLeaks women
  • Archives

  • History

    January 2017
    S M T W T F S
    « Dec   Feb »
    1234567
    891011121314
    15161718192021
    22232425262728
    293031  
  • RSS Paul Krugman: Conscience of a Liberal

    • An error has occurred; the feed is probably down. Try again later.
  • The Confluence

    The Confluence

  • RSS Suburban Guerrilla

  • RSS Ian Welsh

    • On Stubborn Facts and Partisan Identification
      There is vast confusion in the more active left about this, so let’s clear it up by way of Bernie Sanders. Clinton was more popular with POC and women than Sanders was. She was also more popular with old people. However Sanders is well liked by POC and women. Every survey I have seen shows […]
  • Top Posts

Keep Calm and Assume the Brace Position. 

The executive orders are flying thick and fast. The NPS isn’t allowed to use social media anymore or talk about climate change. 

The Mexico City rule is back in place so US aid workers can’t talk about abortion. 

There are plans to defund the National Endowment for the Arts. Let that sink in. 

About a month ago when the climate scientists were busily transferring their data out of the country, I mused on Twitter about how bad it would be if PubMed, the NIH and the RCSB protein data base would go dark. Not to worry, the RCSB person tweeted back, we have mirror sites in Europe and Japan. 

I didn’t know how to process that. Was it a good or bad thing that RCSB is counting on other countries to protect our protein structure assets?  

Anyway, none of this comes as a surprise to anyone who hangs out here or at other blogs on the left. Imagine how today must feel to the voters who sat out the election. And yet, it does feel a bit like the end of the world as we know it. 

Like this bit of apocalypse from David Lynch. You’re going to want to wear your earbuds for the full effect. 


Yeah, try to sleep after that.

We’ll get through it. Hold hands, stick together, look out for one another. 

14 Responses

  1. Hitler shut down social media accounts too!

    Seriously, get a grip.

  2. Our Putin troll is back I see!

    • I don’t think this guy is Joffrey, though–or if he is, he’s trying a different shtick.

  3. Thank God our scientists are protecting their work before the book burning begins.

    I guess the reason El Douche just flung around tidbits of his agenda during the election is because his twisted brain didn’t want everyone to know how much he plans to destroy in America.

    He’s doing a bang up job for Putin.

    • Mommie Dearest Russia isn’t a dictatorship; it’s an “alt-democracy”! 😉

  4. Sweet Madoka I love http://www.areyousorryyet.com/ ! 😆

  5. Bob Cesca is an evil bastard.

    And I mean that as a compliment. 😈

  6. Last Friday at a local movie theater, I chanced to meet Luma Mufleh who founded and directs a local group that helps refugee families. She was there with busloads of the young soccer players she coaches, the boys looking sharp in dress shirts and ties. They saw “Hidden Figures”. That is how they chose to “watch” the inauguration. My sister and I chose total escapism in “La La Land”. The next day we marched. A beautiful photo of Luma’s youth appeared in a gallery of march participants on CNN online and on the front page of the NYTimes. It’s a photo that makes me feel proud of my city. But it’s now nearly 2:00 AM and I’m wide awake. Later today the man whose name I cannot bring myself to type is expected to sign a temporary ban on targeted immigrants. So much has happened in the last 24 hours, my head spins. Thank you, RD, for this blog that is the turning point that keeps me from stumbling in a dizzy swirl. I need to focus on the work ahead.

  7. 2008 was really REALLY hard for me. So hard that I was very hesitant to engage in 2016, my thoughts vascillated between “they’ll just do the same thing they did to her in 2008 it’s not worth it” & “if I don’t get out there and do something I’m going to regret this” but I dipped my toes into the water & of course Hillary won me over again. Before I knew it I was walking in the pouring Seattle rain to pick up Hillary canvassing sheets & getting into arguments with all my Bernie supporting friends. Cheering her on at all the debates and proudly hanging my Hillary magnet I was sent for free

    I was driving through Virginia on election night and I couldn’t believe what had hit me. I was hysterically crying… it was like 08 all over again. That earth shattering feeling. Everyone else I talked to that night and the following weeks felt the same way. I didn’t watch the inauguration, I can’t even bring myself to make fun of it or him & repost anti Trump memes on social media. I’m completely disengaged. I think I’m going to take up a hobby and put my blinders on the next 4-8 years. Knitting might be nice. You have to focus on such a small area that the rest of the world might just fade away.

    The women’s march isn’t doing it for me. The same Shailene Woodleys and Susan Sarandons of the world are going to have their way. They’ll have their bro approved female candidate in 4 years & it won’t be Hillary. It will be the hip grandma type I’m sure. Probably admitted to being a pothead in college or something. I can’t bring myself to endure and sort through all the bullshit this administration is going to put us through. Getting enraged at everything people on Facebook are.

    Sorry for the long comment. It’s been a rough couple of days.

    • Exactly how I feel/felt. You are not alone. If everything was hush and hush in 2008 about what the Dem party did, this time around, the whole world saw the rot in this society. It is on the people who voted for Trump. She did her job, we did our jobs. Republicans had to cheat to defeat her and had to cheat with a traitor. It will all come out. Things are moving fast. But that is cold comfort to people who voted for her. The pain will stay with us for a long time.

  8. Check out DoD twitter account.

  9. Had to look up why the family planning gag order is referred to as the Mexico City Policy. The first time I saw this reference a couple of days ago, I was taken aback, because Mexico City is where I had my abortion back in 1970, just a year before the procedure was legalized in New York state. After the wall goes up, that will not be an option for families with a 16 year old girl who is in serious trouble. However, maybe they will be able to find an alternative like my parents’ first option: an ancient retired doctor using arm canes to walk. I became hysterical when we went there, and they took me away and my mother somehow found out about a clergyman’s council that was able to help us (I wish I could remember the name of the organization, because I am forever grateful to them). My father had to borrow money to fly my mother and I to Mexico City, where we were treated very well in a clean, modern facility.
    The righties want to call abortion murder, and the real creeps are coming out now and demanding that women who terminate their pregnancies be charged with felonies. As we all know, there is no statute of limitations on murder charges, so this means that any woman of any age who has had an abortion can be arrested and jailed. I wonder how many of the monsters calling for this are aware that they have a nice auntie, or grandma, or sister, or cousin, or favorite teacher or co-worker who could be imprisoned any time under these circumstances. Could be a real shock to have your mother taken away because she never informed you that she would never have had you if she had been forced to give birth the first time she was pregnant, or that she had the procedure when you and your two siblings were small and there was no way she and your dad could feed the three of you if she had to give birth to a fourth child.
    How long before the trumpeteers realize that wall is not going up to keep any out. It is going up to keep us all in. And then the real fun begins.

Comments are closed.

