• Tips gratefully accepted here. Thanks!:

  • Recent Comments

    riverdaughter on Stroll: Watercolor in the…
    Sweet Sue on Dunkirk Spirit
    pm317 on Dunkirk Spirit
    Niles on Stroll: Golden Hair
    Ga6thDem on Dunkirk Spirit
    Ga6thDem on Dunkirk Spirit
    Sweet Sue on Dunkirk Spirit
    JMS on Dunkirk Spirit
    pm317 on Dunkirk Spirit
    pm317 on Dunkirk Spirit
    JMS on Dunkirk Spirit
    Ivory Bill Woodpecke… on Jamie needs reading glass…
    pm317 on Jamie needs reading glass…
    Ivory Bill Woodpecke… on Stroll: I want to rock your gy…
    Ivory Bill Woodpecke… on Stroll: I want to rock your gy…
  • Categories


  • Tags

    abortion Add new tag Afghanistan Al Franken Anglachel Atrios bankers Barack Obama Bernie Sanders big pharma Bill Clinton cocktails Conflucians Say Dailykos Democratic Party Democrats Digby DNC Donald Trump Donna Brazile Economy Elizabeth Warren feminism Florida Fox News General Glenn Beck Glenn Greenwald Goldman Sachs health care Health Care Reform Hillary Clinton Howard Dean John Edwards John McCain Jon Corzine Karl Rove Matt Taibbi Media medicare Michelle Obama Michigan misogyny Mitt Romney Morning Edition Morning News Links Nancy Pelosi New Jersey news NO WE WON'T Obama Obamacare OccupyWallStreet occupy wall street Open thread Paul Krugman Politics Presidential Election 2008 PUMA racism Republicans research Sarah Palin sexism Single Payer snark Social Security Supreme Court Terry Gross Texas Tim Geithner unemployment Wall Street WikiLeaks women
  • Archives

  • History

    January 2017
    S M T W T F S
    « Dec   Feb »
    1234567
    891011121314
    15161718192021
    22232425262728
    293031  
  • RSS Paul Krugman: Conscience of a Liberal

    • An error has occurred; the feed is probably down. Try again later.
  • The Confluence

    The Confluence

  • RSS Suburban Guerrilla

  • RSS Ian Welsh

    • On Stubborn Facts and Partisan Identification
      There is vast confusion in the more active left about this, so let’s clear it up by way of Bernie Sanders. Clinton was more popular with POC and women than Sanders was. She was also more popular with old people. However Sanders is well liked by POC and women. Every survey I have seen shows […]
  • Top Posts

Windows to Fly Through

I heard there was a lot going on yesterday. The Republicans front loaded the confirmation hearings, Obama gave his last speech the night before warning ominously about how fear can undermine democracy, Twitter had a field day with #goldenshowers (thanks for the levity V. I needed that), and Trump attacked his biggest campaign donor, CNN, for being fake news. 

In real life, someone told me yesterday to not let things stress you out if there’s nothing you can do about them. But there are plenty of things we can do to resist being dragged under the water of careless indifference, corruption and bigotry. I’m going to check my credo. Maybe you can do the same?

And as always, stick together, hold hands, look out for each other. I’ll be back as soon as I fly through some open windows. 


Saw this in the xkcd archives:


All together now: {{Awwwww}}

More stuff: 

Matt Stoller wrote a piece in WaPo about how Obama’s financial and economic policies have hurt the party. He gets it right up until he does the obligatory bash of Clinton at the end. Let’s say for the sake of argument that Clinton kicked it all off in the 1990’s, a premise I’m not completely on board with for various reasons, that was no excuse for Obama to squander the first two years of his first term when he had majorities in the House and Senate. The financial collapse was a perfect opportunity for him to show his quality. Instead, he prolonged the suffering of homeowners and the unemployed in order to save the financiers golden asses. 

Still worth a read. The first part of Matt’s analysis is solid. Also see my series on Karen Ho’s book, Liquidated, for more on “the strategy of no strategy”. It’s there somewhere. Will try to find the links later… 

27 Responses

  1. I’ll tell you what I want, what I really, really, want: a subscription to Nature
    Zigga-Zig {{Ahhh!}}
    There’s a blurb from my Nature reviews on how drug hunters get tricked by Curcumin in their high thruput screening results. Have you seen that sucker? It’s a walking talking chromophore. You only have to breath on it for the electrons to start racing from one end of the molecule to the other.
    What I can’t understand is why experienced drug hunters and medicinal chemists would bother to leave it in the hit list. For that matter, why is it still in the screening panel? That wouldn’t have made my first cut.
    Jeez.
    Ok, I’m starting to feel my cheerios again.
    See the news article on it here. http://www.nature.com/news/deceptive-curcumin-offers-cautionary-tale-for-chemists-1.21269?WT.ec_id=NATURE-20170112&spMailingID=53176252&spUserID=NTg3NzUxMTA1NTES1&spJobID=1082042362&spReportId=MTA4MjA0MjM2MgS2 And the structure here: https://en.m.wikipedia.org/wiki/Curcumin

  2. Completely unrelated, but I wanted to let you know, on the off-chance you are interested, I’ve started my own blog ( Journal of the Schadenfreude Years ) at
    d
    tdraicer.blogspot.com

    • Oooo! Well I really must check it out. I think you’re going to be a very popular blogger. Will attend to this asap. Also, I really need to update my blogrolls. And change my blog theme CSS. Just really out of it lately. But I’m getting better.
      Do you have any interest in a co-podcasting venture? I don’t want to talk to myself on air.

      • I’m very flattered but probably too computer illiterate for a podcast: you’d have to lead me through the process hand in hand like the cyber-infant I am.

        • For reelz? I thought you designed games or something. Was that a different tdraicer?

        • BTW, it’s not important what platform you choose. What matters is the content. To be successful and read daily, you need to keep overturning your content. And develop a unique voice. So far so good.

    • I added the tags to link. I’m not sure why WordPress makes you do it from scratch. Hope you don’t mind.
      To do it yourself:
      Bugger it all, WordPress makes it so difficult to add link instructions

  3. I know democrats all teary eyes about Obama’s farewell speech. I am teary alright but for a different reasons most of it his fault. Any sane person should be crying as Jan. 20 coming closer, so Obama’s teary departure shouldn’t be an indicative of his presidential competence. Take Obama care out of the picture what’s left. To me he was always a celebrity more than a president that was always his interest, if taking the presidential route get him there faster he would do that but don’t ask him to do hard work or make difficult choices. God gave him the look to achieve that but no b….s for anything else. Our liberals just couldn’t get enough of that. He now have all the time to pursue all celebrity avenues with that smile of his and no doubt what he allowed to be in his place would be nothing be a source of material to fill out all his appearances . Democrats have no shame.

  4. Oh, my. Have I mentioned that I love George Takei?

    Click here.

    Also, a joke by someone else I found on the Web:

    Q: What’s the difference between a lima bean and a chickpea?

    A: Trump won’t pay to see a lima bean. 😆

    How in Areinnye is Cheetolini going to represent our country in negotiations with other countries? How is, for example, the President of China not going to take one look at Cheetolini without ROTFLHAO?

    • I forgot this one from a comment thread on The Daily Banter:

      Remember when Trump said it was gross that Hillary had to use the bathroom?

      Now we know he was just upset he couldn’t watch.

      • Well, #@$%&. I thought it would just post the little drummer and drums, not give a huge frame to them. 😡

        Sowwies!

    • Shozbot! One too many negatives! I should have dropped the “not”.

      I can haz edit feechur, plz? 😛

  5. This is The Daily Banter article from whose comment thread I got the joke above.

    Click here.

    Basically, it says that even if the story turns out to be false, it will have seemed plausible because Cheetolini is so slimy.

    • The takeaway:

      Even his staunchest defenders don’t honestly believe that he possess any redeeming qualities. His followers love him for being a low brow dullard filled with the same kind of hate that motivates them. His disdain for sophistication and knowledge appeals to their resentment of a culture that’s moved beyond their racism and insularity.

      As I said on an earlier thread (IIRC), the Trump Chumps love their big-screen TVs and pecker pills, but despise those impious eggheads (such as our hostess) who make those toys and remedies possible.

      RD, maybe you and your peers should just “go Galt” and let those Orkish ingrates make do with faith healers, and quack remedies bought from Infowars and other such sites.

    • Basically, it says that even if the story turns out to be false, it will have seemed plausible because Cheetolini is so slimy.

      That’s called “confirmation bias”.

      • Like we never experienced confirmation bias with Hillary.

      • I thought that was Cokie’s Rule: “It doesn’t matter if it’s true or not, it’s out there”.
        Color me unsurprised that Creamsicle enjoys humiliation.
        Ugh

        • Yeah, I no longer care if it’s true or not, just so enough people believe it to damage the enemy. They don’t give a flying duck about truth, so why should we?

          Areinnye, listen to me. I never thought I’d talk like that, but I fear Joe Cannon was right; you can’t beat fascists without getting down on their level. We didn’t beat the Axis by playing nice. 😦

        • It’s kind of hysterical seeing Cokie’s Rule coming back to bite the GOP in the butt. They have been running smears through the press for a quarter of a century and now that it’s coming back to bite them they don’t like it one bit. Well, all I can say is Karma is a bitch.

Comments are closed.

