• Tips gratefully accepted here. Thanks!:

  • Recent Comments

    pm317 on On a Hill…
    pm317 on The Country of Puerto Rico: Th…
    Ivory Bill Woodpecke… on The Country of Puerto Rico: Th…
    pm317 on The Country of Puerto Rico: Th…
    Sweet Sue on The Country of Puerto Rico: Th…
    pm317 on The Country of Puerto Rico: Th…
    pm317 on The Country of Puerto Rico: Th…
    pm317 on The Country of Puerto Rico: Th…
    riverdaughter on The Country of Puerto Rico: Th…
    pm317 on The Country of Puerto Rico: Th…
    Sweet Sue on The Country of Puerto Rico: Th…
    Sweet Sue on The Country of Puerto Rico: Th…
    Ivory Bill Woodpecke… on It’s Friday
    Ivory Bill Woodpecke… on The Country of Puerto Rico: Th…
    Ivory Bill Woodpecke… on The Country of Puerto Rico: Th…
  • Categories


  • Tags

    abortion Add new tag Afghanistan Al Franken Anglachel Atrios bankers Barack Obama Bernie Sanders big pharma Bill Clinton cocktails Conflucians Say Dailykos Democratic Party Democrats Digby DNC Donald Trump Donna Brazile Economy Elizabeth Warren feminism Florida Fox News General Glenn Beck Glenn Greenwald Goldman Sachs health care Health Care Reform Hillary Clinton Howard Dean John Edwards John McCain Jon Corzine Karl Rove Matt Taibbi Media medicare Michelle Obama Michigan misogyny Mitt Romney Morning Edition Morning News Links Nancy Pelosi New Jersey news NO WE WON'T Obama Obamacare OccupyWallStreet occupy wall street Open thread Paul Krugman Politics Presidential Election 2008 PUMA racism Republicans research Sarah Palin sexism Single Payer snark Social Security Supreme Court Terry Gross Texas Tim Geithner unemployment Wall Street WikiLeaks women
  • Archives

  • History

    January 2017
    S M T W T F S
    « Dec   Feb »
    1234567
    891011121314
    15161718192021
    22232425262728
    293031  
  • RSS Paul Krugman: Conscience of a Liberal

  • The Confluence

    The Confluence

  • RSS Suburban Guerrilla

  • RSS Ian Welsh

    • Bugpocalypse: Environmental Collapse Continues
      There are two major inter-related environmental problems today. The first is climate change, the second is environmental collapse. The ecosystem is a very complicated web, from single celled organisms on up to apex predators and humans. When you unbalance it; when you take out chunks, the consequences cascade thru the ecosystem, and it is possible […]
  • Top Posts

The Warrior at Work

Vacation is over. Got to get back to work tomorrow. I get to work right about when rosy fingered Dawn is arriving. By the time my first meetings roll around, I’m just so damn perky I can tell my team wants to throw something at me.

Being this f}#%ing cheerful in the morning isn’t easy to pull off. I have a soundtrack. Here it is. See if it makes you want to face the day for the next four years. Let’s start with Madonna:

Here’s the playlist for Standup

That’s Not My Name – The Ting Tings

Wild Child – Iggy Pop 

My Girls – Animal Collective 

The Warrior – Patti Smyth and Scandal 

I Feel Fantastic – Jonathan Coulton

Honky Tonk Woman – Rolling Stones

Tic Tock – Kesha 

Shake It Out – Florence and the Machine

Swim Until You Can’t See Land – Frightened Rabbit
Two other things:

I need a playlist for the treadmill. I kind of fell off the… um… treadmill last summer. It was too hot to run. But after the post holiday rush, I’ll be hitting it again. I’m not taking my clothes off in front of anyone until I burn off the layer of hibernation insulation.

Suggestions welcome. I mean, for the music. So far, I have Jessica by the Allman Brothers.

Screen Shot 2014-12-15 at 10.29.11 AMAlso, nominations are now open for the annual Lick My Love Pump Award. This highly coveted award goes to the artist with the most infectiously singable tune with the most obscene lyrics. To qualify for this award, this song has to be one you accidentally find yourself singing to in front of your kids as you drive them to school or your elderly aunt (who might actually like that stuff, who knows).

Former recipients include Bruno Mars for Gorilla and Beyonce for Blow.

 

 

13 Responses

  1. Firearms are banned from the Inauguration.

    The gun nuts are freaking out. 😆

  2. Treadmill music suggestion:

    • Ehhhh, not so much. It would mess up my cadence, assuming I can establish one. I need something that kinda rolls.

  3. List mostly the outgoings and sort of savings
    the fact that can be very made. This type of grants is
    properly considered to assist you to carry substantial risk. http://www.wikipedia.org

    • I’m not going to click that link. I rather doubt it actually goes to Wikipedia. This sounds like some sort of con artist’s sales pitch.

  4. I had a treadmill once, but I gave it up, as I could never find enough songs in my favorite genre of Indiepop which were energizing in a running way. However, there is one which I would suggest, from my favorite indiepop group of all time, The Popguns, who I think are the most underrated and unknown incredibly great group in history. The song is “Bye Bye Baby.” I never learned linking, so you would have to find it, but it is pretty easy to find.

    Other suggestions would be “Roadrunner,” by Jonathan Richman and the Modern Lovers; and “Both Ends Burning,” by Roxy Music, preferably the live version from “Viva Roxy Music.”

    As to the other, I have no idea. 🙂 There is always the obscure British indie song from the late ’70’s, “Sit on My Face, Stevie Nicks,” but I don’t think it fits the hidden meaning criterion, nor have I ever sung it in my car, or anywhere else. If one remembers the title, one has just about all of the lyrics to it.

  5. “Lonely Boy” by the Black Keys makes me want to move. But maybe that’s just the video inviting me. This year my playlist will pay homage to three musical giants we lost last year. “Little Red Corvette” by Prince is just fun. “Rebel Rebel” by my music hero, Bowie, seems appropriate in 2017. And to cool down the body and fire up the rebel in us, my poet hero, Cohen, keeps us ever mindful of what lies ahead with “First We Take Manhattan”.https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=S4DH49LFfi8

  6. Off-topic: Why apostrophes matter. 😈

  7. On topic: Would you believe this comes from a video game?

  8. Not a treadmill suggestion, but a piece of my childhood:

  9. This poor nincompoop rejoiced over the Senate voting to repeal the health insurance program on which he depends.

    He did not know that Obamacare and the ACA are the same thing. (NSFW for naughty words) 😆

    • The nincompoops are going to get the government, economy, ecology, and society which they deserve.

      The problem with that, of course, is that the rest of us are also going to get what the nincompoops deserve.

  10. If I were Buddhist, I would wonder what horrible things I had done in a previous life, to deserve being reborn into this idiocracy.

    Tina Turner is Buddhist, IIRC, so I wonder what she thinks she did to deserve Ike?

Comments are closed.

