• Tips gratefully accepted here. Thanks!:

  • Recent Comments

    Ga6thDem on Sunday: It goes without s…
    pm317 on Sunday: It goes without s…
    Sweet Sue on Sunday: Sheep may safely …
    pm317 on Sunday: It goes without s…
    Sweet Sue on Sunday: Sheep may safely …
    pm317 on Sunday: It goes without s…
    Lady V on Sunday: It goes without s…
    pm317 on Sunday: It goes without s…
    riverdaughter on Sunday: It goes without s…
    pm317 on Sunday: It goes without s…
    pm317 on Summer, summer, summer…
    pm317 on Summer, summer, summer…
    pm317 on Summer, summer, summer…
    pm317 on Summer, summer, summer…
    Ivory Bill Woodpecke… on Summer, summer, summer…
  • Categories


  • Tags

    abortion Add new tag Afghanistan Al Franken Anglachel Atrios bankers Barack Obama Bernie Sanders big pharma Bill Clinton cocktails Conflucians Say Dailykos Democratic Party Democrats Digby DNC Donald Trump Donna Brazile Economy Elizabeth Warren feminism Florida Fox News General Glenn Beck Glenn Greenwald Goldman Sachs health care Health Care Reform Hillary Clinton Howard Dean John Edwards John McCain Jon Corzine Karl Rove Matt Taibbi Media medicare Michelle Obama Michigan misogyny Mitt Romney Morning Edition Morning News Links Nancy Pelosi New Jersey news NO WE WON'T Obama Obamacare OccupyWallStreet occupy wall street Open thread Paul Krugman Politics Presidential Election 2008 PUMA racism Republicans research Sarah Palin sexism Single Payer snark Social Security Supreme Court Terry Gross Texas Tim Geithner unemployment Wall Street WikiLeaks women
  • Archives

  • History

    December 2016
    S M T W T F S
    « Nov   Jan »
     123
    45678910
    11121314151617
    18192021222324
    25262728293031
  • RSS Paul Krugman: Conscience of a Liberal

  • The Confluence

    The Confluence

  • RSS Suburban Guerrilla

  • RSS Ian Welsh

    • Bannon Out
      So, this is Steve Bannon’s last day at the White House. I wrote that this would be a courtier’s White House, with a lot of knife fights, and who won them determining a lot of policy. Bannon’s a white nationalist, and scum, of course, but he’s also the only senior advisor who wants to, say, […]
  • Top Posts

Happy Solstice

In the midst of hate, I found there was, within me, an invincible love.
In the midst of tears, I found there was, within me, an invincible smile.
In the midst of chaos, I found there was, within me, an invincible calm.
I realized, through it all, that…
In the midst of winter, I found there was, within me, an invincible summer.
And that makes me happy. For it says that no matter how hard the world pushes against me, within me, there’s something stronger – something better, pushing right back.

                                                                                                      – (not necessarily all 😉) Albert Camus

17 Responses

  1. I love your blog and hate to do this; however, since you are a scientist and I was a literature major, both seeking truth, I feel compelled. Only the winter part of the quote is actually from Camus. This spoke to me of the value of education and deep reading in one’s discipline. Even bleary eyed this morning and not having read Camus in years, it didn’t sound right–so I checked it. http://www.academia.edu/19617157/The_noble_art_of_misquoting_Camus_–_from_its_origins_to_the_Internet_era

    It’s the same skill that helps you see the flaws in science papers that I never could. It’s the kind of education that so many Americans lack that made them fall for Trump’s unprecedented levels of lies and nonsense.

    Wishing you Happy Holidays! Sandra

    Sent from my iPad

    >

    • Lol! It’s still beautiful, no matter who originated it. Everywhere I’ve seen the quote, it’s part of a letter Camus wrote. I suspect he failed to use block quote tags.

  2. Off-topic:

    Scientists make breakthrough in antimatter research! 😀

  3. I wish I am that strong to find something pretty or just be happy in the midst of carnage. May be I am a little autistic.
    Off topic. Everywhere I go I hear that Sanders would have one. It’s irrelevant if that true or not. What I wanted know is that what scenario would have given him the nomination after he clearly lost back in April. They say the party should have nominated him. How? No one seems to know.

    • I believe the party has the power/authority to nominate whomever they want, regardless of the primary results. It happened with Obama but they did everything they could to make it look legit. RD probably has a better answer but that was my take from 2008. The way the DNC handled the roll call was a disgrace. Remember the superdelegates flipping like crazy from Hillary to Barack? I’m still pissed over 2008. In my opinion, as an independent, Bernie should never have been allowed to even run in the Dem primary.

      • so in that case they are expecting Hillary’s supporters to again just take it without a whimper, when they allowed themselves to have tantrums to the end. I stand by my original opinion of sads and his supporters

        • Yes, they did not get what they wanted. They are a bunch of children. They got what they wanted in 2008 and when Obama didn’t deliver unicorns and fairies they turned their back on him. My thoughts are just move on without them. They did this to the country in 2000 too and we got the Bush disaster presidency.

    • https://extranewsfeed.com/bernie-sanders-was-on-the-2016-ballot-and-he-underperformed-hillary-clinton-3b561e8cb779#.92fneglqu
      That link another poster put up. The evidence is that Sanders would have run 2 to 3 points behind Hillary. So not only would he not have won he would have not won the popular vote either. he would have empowered the GOP. His supporters think if they scream loud enough they can make something into a truth despite the facts.

      • And that is without the opposition research on Sanders which would have been all over the airwaves. Hillary never attacked Sanders on a personal level. I think that Sanders would have lost by 5-8 points. His support was always sort of a Birnam Wood mirage.

        And Hillary would have easily won in 2008; she won virtually every major primary against Obama. She polled better than Obama. She was a sure thing winner in that year, but the DNC and the usual anti-Clinton media and Party people just loved the mythical idea of man with dual ethnicities, who could deliver sermon-like speeches, transcending partisan politics, and soaring on a message of “hope and change.” And now we are here, since the transcendent person didn’t think it was his role to stop the Republicans from letting the Russians take over America.

  4. What if the deciding votes in the election were Sanders voters who voted Trump, 3rd party, or left the space blank? Like in the states with slim margins- WI,MI,PA? Some fool at Counterpunch was saying so, because Hillary didn’t kiss their Bernie butts enough.
    If that was what really happened, I lay the blame for Trump at their door.
    Ironic,too, that Sanders and his group should want to lead the DNC.

    • They certainly contributed but my sense was that the Comey letter did her in. She was looking like a winner right after the last debate. Everybody likes a winner. Even card carrying Republicans might have seen the light. I suspect that’s what happened and that the Trump campaign was seeing it in their data. So, they got the FBI to cooperate with them.
      When I was canvassing, I was surprised (but in retrospect, I shouldn’t have been) at the high number of uncommitted Democrats. Don’t get me wrong. Most Democrats I canvassed were solidly behind Hillary and I think that is reflected by the numbers in Allegheny county where she beat Obama’s numbers by 14,000 votes.
      But over and over again, I heard, they’re both alike, I can’t stand either and one prophetic comment from a woman I met in September. She said, “I’ll probably vote for Hillary. But we’re all waiting for one more thing on the emails. If there’s another email announcement, she’s done”.
      And there was and she was.
      Ta-da!
      That’s when the number of Bernie people became significant.
      That being said, almost all of the Bernie people I met were pretty decent. We got a lot of them from Squirrel Hill to canvass with us the last weekend and they kicked major butt. I’ll never forget how determined they were to defeat Donald Trump.
      Bernie is ruining their reputations.

  5. It’s nice to welcome the solstice and more sunlight each day. If you’re really geeky about sunrise and sunset times, the Weather Channel used to show the civil, nautical and astronomic times of twilight. Now it merely shows sunrise, sunset, moonrise and moonset.

    There’s a neat graphic at this web site that explains the different types of twilight.

    https://www.timeanddate.com/astronomy/civil-twilight.html

    Last night at dinner my husband pointed out something that he saw while looking at Drudge. (I am married to a quasi-Republican who supported Hillary in 2008 and is no Obama fan.)

    Something to ponder how much the decision of Obama over Hillary has cost since 2008.

    http://www.wsj.com/articles/candidates-for-dncs-top-job-obama-failed-us-1482426611

    Perhaps recognition of the error is sinking in.

    • I am just that geeky. Thanks for the links.
      Last year about this time, I went on a night hike down by the river. Even in winter at night it was beautiful.

      Yes, I think we will come to regret letting obama go first for the rest of our lives and for generations to come. There’s a op/ed by Stan and Anne green whatever on NYT this morning that sums up what went wrong in the obama years. But the comments are full of blaming the whole thing on racism. They will never get it.

      • So true. You can describe his attributes or lack of them accurately, but no matter how correct the assessment, anything negative will be ascribed to racism.

Comments are closed.

