• Tips gratefully accepted here. Thanks!:

  • Recent Comments

    Ivory Bill Woodpecke… on To Autumn
    Ivory Bill Woodpecke… on To Autumn
    JMS on To Autumn
    riverdaughter on To Autumn
    Lady V on To Autumn
    riverdaughter on To Autumn
    joninhas on To Autumn
    Ga6thDem on To Autumn
    Ivory Bill Woodpecke… on To Autumn
    r u reddy on To Autumn
    bellecat on To Autumn
    scruzie on To Autumn
    Ivory Bill Woodpecke… on To Autumn
    Ivory Bill Woodpecke… on To Autumn
    joninhas on To Autumn
  • Categories


  • Tags

    abortion Add new tag Afghanistan Al Franken Anglachel Atrios bankers Barack Obama Bernie Sanders big pharma Bill Clinton cocktails Conflucians Say Dailykos Democratic Party Democrats Digby DNC Donald Trump Donna Brazile Economy Elizabeth Warren feminism Florida Fox News General Glenn Beck Glenn Greenwald Goldman Sachs health care Health Care Reform Hillary Clinton Howard Dean John Edwards John McCain Jon Corzine Karl Rove Matt Taibbi Media medicare Michelle Obama Michigan misogyny Mitt Romney Morning Edition Morning News Links Nancy Pelosi New Jersey news NO WE WON'T Obama Obamacare OccupyWallStreet occupy wall street Open thread Paul Krugman Politics Presidential Election 2008 PUMA racism Republicans research Sarah Palin sexism Single Payer snark Social Security Supreme Court Terry Gross Texas Tim Geithner unemployment Wall Street WikiLeaks women
  • Archives

  • History

    April 2016
    S M T W T F S
    « Mar   May »
     12
    3456789
    10111213141516
    17181920212223
    24252627282930
  • RSS Paul Krugman: Conscience of a Liberal

  • The Confluence

    The Confluence

  • RSS Suburban Guerrilla

  • RSS Ian Welsh

    • Jeremy Corbyn re-elected as British Labour Leader
      61.8% of the vote, after a massive voter purge. Fairly remarkable set of numbers.  Even if we take them to be on the high side, a concerted effort appears to have been made to deny people votes, and almost always, from the anecdotes of those purged, they were Corbyn supporters.  What is amazing is that […]
  • Top Posts

Trump rally tonight in the Burgh. Should I stay or should I go?

imageThis is the map to Soldiers and Sailors Memorial Hall. It’s where Trump is having a rally tonight. It also happens to be located smack dab in the middle of Pitt’s campus and about three blocks away from CMU. In other words, there are going to be protesters. Lots of them. PA is also an open carry state and we don’t mean beer (though I’m sure the students would be totally ok with that).

There’s also a rally on the Roberto Clemente bridge with John Fetterman. He’s running for Senate and he’s a Sanders guy. He’s my down ticket donation this year. (I can split my ticket). That could be fun. I leave work at protest time for the bridge. It’s on the way to the bus stop. And the most violence I would expect there would be minor hair pulling between the Sanders peeps and any Clintonistas.

Considerations: I’m only going to observe. Chanting slogans will depend on the quality of the lyrics. I did not wear my Kevlar vest to work today. I can probably bop into a CVS for portable yogurt in case of pepper spray. Will charge iPhone to capture pics but I don’t have a different camera. Can periscope if necessary but I need a haircut and I’m not doing any close ups.

So, what’ll it be?  Ground zero across from the Cathedral of Learning or a peaceful protest on the bridge?

If I stay there will be trouble, if I go there will be double.

So, you’ve got to let me know. Should I stay or should I go?

update: Tweet of the Day!

image

6 Responses

  1. Update: Fetterman’s protest might turn out to be lively. Trump is only going to be in Oakland until around 6pm. Then he’s headed downtown to the David Lawrence convention center. Guess where Fetterman et al are marching to at 7:30 ish? That’s right, the convention center.
    Hmmmm…

  2. Go and act merely interested. Just looking and thinking . .

    • I’m here. I’m intensely interested. The Fetterman protest doesn’t start for awhile. Check my Twitter feed.

      • Alas! I Twitter not, neither do I Tweet . . . . nor do I even Facebook.
        I am but an old analog refugee, lost in this digital world.

        • Well, I found the ErynNotErin twitter feed on the internet itself, so I see I can “read” it even without being able to “use” it or “do” it.

  3. RD, I’d love to hear your take on “whoregate,”

Comments are closed.

