• Tips gratefully accepted here. Thanks!:

  • Recent Comments

    Lady V on The Mother of All Debates
    Ivory Bill Woodpecke… on Sniff!
    Ivory Bill Woodpecke… on The Mother of All Debates
    Ivory Bill Woodpecke… on The Mother of All Debates
    riverdaughter on The Mother of All Debates
    scruzie on The Mother of All Debates
    Ga6thDem on The Mother of All Debates
    riverdaughter on The Mother of All Debates
    riverdaughter on The Mother of All Debates
    Ga6thDem on The Mother of All Debates
    riverdaughter on The Mother of All Debates
    Ivory Bill Woodpecke… on The Mother of All Debates
    riverdaughter on The Mother of All Debates
    riverdaughter on The Mother of All Debates
    riverdaughter on Raisins, Regret and Inderol 
  • Categories


  • Tags

    abortion Add new tag Afghanistan Al Franken Anglachel Atrios bankers Barack Obama Bernie Sanders big pharma Bill Clinton cocktails Conflucians Say Dailykos Democratic Party Democrats Digby DNC Donald Trump Donna Brazile Economy Elizabeth Warren feminism Florida Fox News General Glenn Beck Glenn Greenwald Goldman Sachs health care Health Care Reform Hillary Clinton Howard Dean John Edwards John McCain Jon Corzine Karl Rove Matt Taibbi Media medicare Michelle Obama Michigan misogyny Mitt Romney Morning Edition Morning News Links Nancy Pelosi New Jersey news NO WE WON'T Obama Obamacare OccupyWallStreet occupy wall street Open thread Paul Krugman Politics Presidential Election 2008 PUMA racism Republicans research Sarah Palin sexism Single Payer snark Social Security Supreme Court Terry Gross Texas Tim Geithner unemployment Wall Street WikiLeaks women
  • Archives

  • History

    July 2014
    S M T W T F S
    « Jun   Aug »
     12345
    6789101112
    13141516171819
    20212223242526
    2728293031  
  • RSS Paul Krugman: Conscience of a Liberal

  • The Confluence

    The Confluence

  • RSS Suburban Guerrilla

  • RSS Ian Welsh

    • Trump/Clinton Debate Open Thread
      I used to get paid to watch these things. I don’t any more.  So… I’m going to go read a nice novel in a coffee shop.  Please feel free to talk about the debate in comments.  I will, actually, be curious to hear what people have to say, just not willing to sit thru so […]
  • Top Posts

Word Crimes

We’re all guilty.  I’m a repeat offender, especially when it comes to prepositions.  Sometimes my nouns and verbs don’t relate to one another and I hate to edit.  But at least I know when to use ‘I’ versus ‘me’.  Interior design bloggers routinely get that wrong and it drives me crazy, especially when the blogger in question majored in English and not Interior Design. (I’m talking to you, Emily Henderson.)

Weird Al Yankovic has a new album called Mandatory Fun and it has already rocketed to the top of the charts.  This song goes out to Brooke whose grammar is perfect all of the time.

 

Speaking of interior design, I made this pendant light for my kitchen using a garden spheroid thing that was on clearance from at Target and a pendant light kit from Home Depot.  I’m planning to replace the light bulb with an Edison style bulb. Check out the cool pattern on the ceiling.  It was accidental.  The kitchen is almost finished.

2014-07-24 19.27.09

6 Responses

  1. Thank you, weird Al! Now, I can have the music of “Blurred Lines” on my exercise playlist sans douchey lyrics. Yay.
    Can’t wait for the kitchen big reveal.

  2. My big project for the last couple of months has been this cabled sweater — here’s a photo of the completed back:

    Pattern: Vickie's Cardigan

    It’s been so fun! I had only done VERY simple cables before starting this project so this has been quite a challenge. But one I’ve really enjoyed. I’ve finished the right Front and am working on the left Front with both sleeves still not started.

    I really like having projects that are both gorgeous and challenging plus the yarn (Irish Wool) really makes the cables pop!

    • So pretty. Is it for you or a loved one?
      I wish I could wear coral; I wish I could wear wool.
      If I wear anything with yellow, I look jaundiced and, if I wore wool, I’d scratch myself into a coma.
      How many word crimes did I commit in those few sentences?
      Good work, katiebird!

Comments are closed.

