• Tips gratefully accepted here. Thanks!:

  • Recent Comments

    Sweet Sue on Does anyone believe…
    ipotter on Does anyone believe…
    ipotter on Does anyone believe…
    ipotter on Does anyone believe…
    ipotter on Does anyone believe…
    Ivory Bill Woodpecke… on Does anyone believe…
    Ivory Bill Woodpecke… on Does anyone believe…
    catscatscats on Does anyone believe…
    ipotter on Does anyone believe…
    blizzardofozzz on Does anyone believe…
    Ivory Bill Woodpecke… on Does anyone believe…
    Ivory Bill Woodpecke… on Does anyone believe…
    Ivory Bill Woodpecke… on Does anyone believe…
    riverdaughter on Does anyone believe…
    blizzardofozzz on Does anyone believe…
  • Categories


  • Tags

    abortion Add new tag Afghanistan Al Franken Anglachel Atrios bankers Barack Obama Bernie Sanders big pharma Bill Clinton cocktails Conflucians Say Dailykos Democratic Party Democrats Digby DNC Donald Trump Donna Brazile Economy Elizabeth Warren feminism Florida Fox News General Glenn Beck Glenn Greenwald Goldman Sachs health care Health Care Reform Hillary Clinton Howard Dean John Edwards John McCain Jon Corzine Karl Rove Matt Taibbi Media medicare Michelle Obama Michigan misogyny Mitt Romney Morning Edition Morning News Links Nancy Pelosi New Jersey news NO WE WON'T Obama Obamacare OccupyWallStreet occupy wall street Open thread Paul Krugman Politics Presidential Election 2008 PUMA racism Republicans research Sarah Palin sexism Single Payer snark Social Security Supreme Court Terry Gross Texas Tim Geithner unemployment Wall Street WikiLeaks women
  • Archives

  • History

    May 2014
    S M T W T F S
    « Apr   Jun »
     123
    45678910
    11121314151617
    18192021222324
    25262728293031
  • RSS Paul Krugman: Conscience of a Liberal

  • The Confluence

    The Confluence

  • RSS Suburban Guerrilla

  • RSS Ian Welsh

    • An error has occurred; the feed is probably down. Try again later.
  • Top Posts

Random things that concern me greatly

I think I made a mistake with the paint I picked for my bedroom.  The color is Sea Salt by Sherwin Williams.  It’s a light gray-green-blue.  I bought a quart to test and loved the way it looked on the white background but now that is is enveloping me (the ceiling wraps around the room in that way only 1950’s style houses can do) it feels too dark.  I’d say the color in this room gives it the style called Early Depression without the glam of Rogers and Astaire. The thought of getting the paint store to remix and then to repaint does not make me happy.

Another thing that does not make me happy: The president spending valuable time on a concussion summit or something that really should be delegated to his Surgeon General.  There are long term unemployed people out here who can’t get full time jobs.  Helllllooooo??  I’m glad I’m not watching TV news because the thought of seeing the most powerful person on earth distracted by concussions instead of exploring why many of us can’t get through HR filters would make my blood boil.

And then there is the faith based initiative thing that Bush II started but which Obama has failed to end.  It takes an atheist* to figure out why the White House has failed to eliminate this office.  But the rest of us can figure out what kind of long time repercussions society will experience when the seeds of bronze age mentality are generously fertilized with taxpayer money.   Here’s a video of Amanda Knief, legal counsel for American Atheists, spelling out why the Faith Based Initiative needs to be eradicated.  (Hint: it has very little to do with religion)

 

 

If only there was a way to more generously fund the VA without having to generate new revenue.  If only there was a pool of money that was not properly accounted for that could be put to use for the VA hospitals…

Finally, Brook is graduating!  OMG, I can barely believe it.  The last 18 months have been a Herculean struggle.  I didn’t think I was going to make it.  Commencement is next week and in spite of the health problems and time out of class, the kid managed to score some serious honor cords and medals for accomplishments in language.  She’s taking a gap year.  Well, we all deserve a gap year at this point.

 

*I’m not an atheist.  I just don’t believe in supernatural beings.  Er, or something.

 

 

 

9 Responses

  1. I am so happy to hear the Graduation news about Brooke!! Congratulations!!! OMG. This is huge.

  2. Congratulations to Brook!

    Perhaps you could paint one wall a lighter or brighter color; the contrast might bring back the original sea salt pleasure feeling.

  3. My definitions (YMMV):

    A theist believes that one or more gods exist.

    An atheist believes that no gods exist.

    An agnostic refuses to assert or to deny the existence of gods, though s/he may lean toward doubt, on the old principle of “burden of proof”.

    RD sounds to me like an agnostic, by my definition.

    *****************

    Oh, and congratulations to Brooke! :mrgreen:

  4. “Concussion Summit” would be a great name for a rock band.

  5. Congrats to Brook and Mama, too.
    FWIW, I think that’s a very pretty color, perhaps with white molding and white and pale sage accessories.
    Perhaps a touch of aqua or charcoal gray for a sophisticated, city vibe.

    • While i love both aqua and charcoal, I think they might be out of place in this bedroom. That’s a bit too modern. Maybe downstairs where I already have a ton of aqua.
      Sage? Definitely not my color.
      Here’s the look I’m going for in this bedroom. On a budget. With stuff I already have.
      http://houseandhome.com/tv/segment/capturing-timeless-style
      If anyone knows where I can score a glass desk for close to free (not craigslist apparently) let me know.

  6. Congratulations to you both! I’m with Juila , the one wall lighter idea will help imo …or perhaps the ceiling..but it should be like a closed box…one color

    ______________________________

    VA secretary resigns amid push to privatize US veterans’ health care

    http://www.wsws.org/en/articles/2014/05/31/vete-m31.html

    …..A byproduct of this acceleration of military aggression across the globe will be increasing numbers of veterans seeking treatment for brain injuries, post-traumatic stress disorder, lost limbs and other horrific injuries. The VHA is woefully understaffed, underfunded and wracked by bureaucracy and corruption.

    But according to many lawmakers, the answer to this crisis is not the appropriation of funds to hire new doctors and other medical professionals, but the dismantling of the government program in order to provide a profit windfall to private insurers and health industry firms. The result of this policy will be less care at greater cost to veterans.

    color me surprised

    • I hear your one wall lighter. Unfortunately, that would probably be the ceiling and I really don’t want to have to do it again. {{sigh}}
      The good news is my cherry sleigh bed, which I tried to sell before I left NJ, looks beautiful against this color. So, there’s that.

      Yup, I’m with you on the privatization plan. Isn’t it curious how the solution to our economics woes is always to give rich people more tax breaks while the answer to all of our health care problems is to privatize? It’s like there is nothing in between. How do we account for that??

  7. That headboard reminds me of Maleficent; bad feng shui.
    But, yes, lots of billowy white curtains and bed linens.
    Did you notice the lampshades? Subtle touches of lavender or lilac would be lovely-spring like.

Comments are closed.

