• Tips gratefully accepted here. Thanks!:

  • Recent Comments

    Ivory Bill Woodpecke… on The Mother of All Debates
    Ga6thDem on The Mother of All Debates
    Ivory Bill Woodpecke… on The Mother of All Debates
    Ivory Bill Woodpecke… on The Mother of All Debates
    Ivory Bill Woodpecke… on The Mother of All Debates
    riverdaughter on The Mother of All Debates
    Liberty Belle Still… on The Mother of All Debates
    Peep9 on Sniff!
    Lady V on The Mother of All Debates
    Ivory Bill Woodpecke… on Sniff!
    Ivory Bill Woodpecke… on The Mother of All Debates
    Ivory Bill Woodpecke… on The Mother of All Debates
    riverdaughter on The Mother of All Debates
    scruzie on The Mother of All Debates
    Ga6thDem on The Mother of All Debates
  • Categories


  • Tags

    abortion Add new tag Afghanistan Al Franken Anglachel Atrios bankers Barack Obama Bernie Sanders big pharma Bill Clinton cocktails Conflucians Say Dailykos Democratic Party Democrats Digby DNC Donald Trump Donna Brazile Economy Elizabeth Warren feminism Florida Fox News General Glenn Beck Glenn Greenwald Goldman Sachs health care Health Care Reform Hillary Clinton Howard Dean John Edwards John McCain Jon Corzine Karl Rove Matt Taibbi Media medicare Michelle Obama Michigan misogyny Mitt Romney Morning Edition Morning News Links Nancy Pelosi New Jersey news NO WE WON'T Obama Obamacare OccupyWallStreet occupy wall street Open thread Paul Krugman Politics Presidential Election 2008 PUMA racism Republicans research Sarah Palin sexism Single Payer snark Social Security Supreme Court Terry Gross Texas Tim Geithner unemployment Wall Street WikiLeaks women
  • Archives

  • History

    October 2012
    S M T W T F S
    « Sep   Nov »
     123456
    78910111213
    14151617181920
    21222324252627
    28293031  
  • RSS Paul Krugman: Conscience of a Liberal

  • The Confluence

    The Confluence

  • RSS Suburban Guerrilla

  • RSS Ian Welsh

    • Trump/Clinton Debate Open Thread
      I used to get paid to watch these things. I don’t any more.  So… I’m going to go read a nice novel in a coffee shop.  Please feel free to talk about the debate in comments.  I will, actually, be curious to hear what people have to say, just not willing to sit thru so […]
  • Top Posts

And now for something less stressful

I need to step away from the election reality distortion field and concentrate on other things,

One of the things I used to love is cooking. I don’t cook as much as I used to because I live with the pickiest kid on the planet. She goes through phases. Sometimes, all she wants is sushi. I know what you’re thinking. If she eats sushi, she can’t be that picky. Alas, no. Her recent obsession is Greek/middle eastern cuisine. Baba Ganouj, gyro, spanikopita, falafel. The one cuisine that I haven’t been able to get her to eat, along with anything with mushrooms (my favorite food), is Indian food.

So, when she’s not here, I make what I like. Lately, I’ve been watching videos from Titli Nihaan, who cooks all of her dishes halal, and a couple of Indian expats who do an Indian cooking YouTube channel called Show Me The Curry. The dishes they make look so delicious I can almost smell them through the iPad. So, I went to Show Me The Curry’s website and noticed that they recommended something called Shanti’s Spicebox for Indian spices. Around here, the grocery stores don’t carry all of the spices they use in their dishes and I’d feel out of place in an Indian grocery. So, I ordered the spice box. What the heck. It wasn’t very expensive. I was expecting little packets of spices, just enough for one butter chicken.

I was surprised to find that the Spicebox came with 30 Indian spices in generous portions. It would have cost a small fortune in the grocery store to get all of them, assuming i could find them. When I took the plastic shrink wrap off the box, the aroma instantly filled the air. It was so pungent that the box is hiding in my garage. I love the smell of fresh spices and can’t wait to use them but I don’t want them to take over my dreams.

Anyway, it’s just another little pleasure that doesn’t cost a lot of money but will make you think of exotic sunsets and water and banana leaves and fresh vegetables and women in brightly colored saris. That’s an image that will keep you warm throughout the fall. Plus, the curries don’t look nearly as intimidating now that I have all of the spices in one place. Now all I need is fresh curry leaves. If anyone knows where I can get my own curry plant, let me know.

For a taste of India, here’s Hetal and Anuja from ShowMeTheCurry, adding a pinch of spice to your life and showing how to cook Chicken Curry in a Hurry. Now, if I could only come up with a Greek name for this dish…

Enjoy!

4 Responses

  1. Sounds delicious — and it would also make a nice Christmas present!

  2. ” How To Grow A Curry Plant”
    http://www.ehow.com/how_6503272_grow-curry-plant.html

    ” Down to earth: the real curry plant”, about what the “real” curry plant is right down to the scientific name on page 2, as against a commonly mistaken cheap imitation.
    http://www.herbcompanion.com/Gardening/The-Real-Curry-Plant.aspx

    Tips on growing curry plant from a yahoo gardenweb forum
    http://forums.gardenweb.com/forums/load/asianveg/msg111932298634.html

    I tried finding some weblisted seedsources but could only find false leads. But with the scientific name you may be able to run it down.

    The few-couple times I have gone into a local Indian food store I didn’t get the feeling that the owners did anything to make me feel silently resented or unwanted in there. Perhaps it is worth the risk going in?

    • I go to a lot of strange places. I’m not afraid of strange places. But I like to do my research before I buy anything and can be a very hesitant buyer. So, the less pressure on me the better.

  3. There is a huge Indian grocery store on Rt 27 just north of Finnegans lane IIRC the name is Patel’s Cash and Carry. Definitely worth the trip… And while you are over there stop at the Dosa Grill Rt27 & Cozzens lane (behind the WAWA) for a dosa.

Comments are closed.

