• Tips gratefully accepted here. Thanks!:

  • Recent Comments

    bellecat on Does anyone believe…
    bellecat on Does anyone believe…
    Sweet Sue on Does anyone believe…
    ipotter on Does anyone believe…
    peep9 on Does anyone believe…
    bellecat on Does anyone believe…
    bellecat on Does anyone believe…
    peep9 on Does anyone believe…
    ipotter on Does anyone believe…
    Lady V on Does anyone believe…
    ipotter on Does anyone believe…
    ipotter on Does anyone believe…
    bcc on Does anyone believe…
    Ivory Bill Woodpecke… on Does anyone believe…
    Ivory Bill Woodpecke… on Does anyone believe…
  • Categories


  • Tags

    abortion Add new tag Afghanistan Al Franken Anglachel Atrios bankers Barack Obama Bernie Sanders big pharma Bill Clinton cocktails Conflucians Say Dailykos Democratic Party Democrats Digby DNC Donald Trump Donna Brazile Economy Elizabeth Warren feminism Florida Fox News General Glenn Beck Glenn Greenwald Goldman Sachs health care Health Care Reform Hillary Clinton Howard Dean John Edwards John McCain Jon Corzine Karl Rove Matt Taibbi Media medicare Michelle Obama Michigan misogyny Mitt Romney Morning Edition Morning News Links Nancy Pelosi New Jersey news NO WE WON'T Obama Obamacare OccupyWallStreet occupy wall street Open thread Paul Krugman Politics Presidential Election 2008 PUMA racism Republicans research Sarah Palin sexism Single Payer snark Social Security Supreme Court Terry Gross Texas Tim Geithner unemployment Wall Street WikiLeaks women
  • Archives

  • History

    July 2012
    S M T W T F S
    « Jun   Aug »
    1234567
    891011121314
    15161718192021
    22232425262728
    293031  
  • RSS Paul Krugman: Conscience of a Liberal

  • The Confluence

    The Confluence

  • RSS Suburban Guerrilla

  • RSS Ian Welsh

    • Basic Reasoning and Reading
      Competent and good are not synonyms. Smart and good are not synonyms. Evil and competent are not synonyms. Virtues are not all moral virtues. Bravery is a morally neutral virtue. It makes bad people worse, and good people better and without it all virtues and vices are nearly meaningless. Competence is morally neutral. It is […]
  • Top Posts

Ponderables

Just random stuff I think about:

What did everyone see in A Fish Called Wanda?  I’m a sucker for anything with Monty Python members in it but that movie just wasn’t that funny.

For that matter, why is Avengers such a monster hit this summer with all of the angsty discussion about superheros coming to terms with their egos?  Generally, I love superhero action adventures but this one bored me to tears.  In fact, I might have fallen asleep half way through.

Anyone want to offer an opinion on those two?  I promise not to disagree with you or bite your head off.

Ok, here’s more:

Are wine growers getting the hang of making good cheap wine?  Because I’ve had some really good bottles under $10 lately.  The one I’m sipping tonight is an Alsace White called Now and Zen from France.  $7.99/bottle.  Oh sure, it isn’t going to win any prizes but it’s a not too sweet, full bodied wine with a hint of effervescence.  Have you tried any good ones lately?

I finally got some questions on ResearchGate that I can answer with some degree of expertise, which is pretty cool.  But now I really miss my job.  :-(

Has anyone been following the LIBOR scandal?  Matt Taibbi has a series of posts on it and here’s Matt talking to Eliot Spitzer about it.  This one might be the biggy that brings the bankers down.  Yep, provided we actually have someone in office who will hold them accountable.

Taibbi says that a friend of his on Wall Street says that this makes the whole global financial system look like it’s founded on quicksand.  Isn’t that special?  One thing I’m curious about though is why the banks are able to fix their own interest rates but AIG wasn’t able to cancel all those credit default swaps it issued.  I mean, if it’s that easy to cook the books, why not just wipe out all the debt?  It was all digital money anyway, except for the pension funds and 401Ks.  But my biggest question is why it is we feel so obligated to make sure that the traders and shareholders suffer no ill consequence but we’re not allowed to look after our own interests.  I mean, if rates are so fungible, why can’t we set it up so everybody who does not work on Wall Street, including the government, gets the money they need?  And why are Republicans so hell bent on making everyone else’s lives miserable?  Is this a new manifestation of the Stanford prison experiment?  As long as they have the power, they’re going to dehumanize the rest of us?

And I’ve been thinking about Brooke in Nuremberg.  70 years ago, it was at the center of Nazi propaganda.  But the Germans purged themselves after the war and now they are on their guard.  Americans are completely vulnerable because they’ve had no direct experience with rule by mass insanity or a governmental/financial infrastructure that is blatantly criminal.  So, roughly half of our population is now insane.  Except for the pogroms and deaths, how is Birmingham, Alabama different from Nuremburg, Germany circa 1940? How are we supposed to deal with that?

Woah, that was deep.  Gotta lighten it up.

Here’s an interesting factoid: The Tasmanian Echidna has a penis with 4 heads.  Zoologists still don’t understand why it needs a four fold redundancy but imagine what a bris would be like.  Well, there goes the intelligent design argument.

(Wiki says that during mating, one side of the penis shuts down and only 2 of the 4 heads are active.  What I want to know is how they know this?  That must have made one heck of a paper)

28 Responses

  1. Well, that last one

    Ellipses don’t cover it. I’m stumped. I wonder how it fits.

    A Fish Called Wanda was mostly tedious. In fact I never felt quite the same about Kevin Kline or Jamie Lee Curtis after that.

    I’ve been trying to read up on the LIBOR scandal but I think one of the side effects of this heatwave (2 weeks above 100 degrees — 106.7 in the shade of our patio this afternoon) is that the part of my brain that can learn that is dead.

    I’m just hoping it’s not gone forever.

    • Same here on Kevin Kline and Jamie Lee Curtis. I’ve never really liked anything she was in.
      Tedious is a good word. It lacked the satirical snap of a good Python movie. But it keeps making the AFI top ten list for comedies. I’m wondering if it’s peer pressure. No one is willing to admit that it’s a dog.

    • It wasn’t really a Python movie. It had two Pythons in it, but they were
      in a non-Python movie. Maybe people had their hopes too up to begin with.

      • Yeah, I know. But I thought they wouldn’t choose to be in a movie that didn’t play to their strengths.
        Whatever. It fell flat for me, so when I keep seeing this movie on everyone’s top ten list I think, really?? That movie was that funny?? Because I just don’t remember it that way.

        • I don’t honestly even remember very much about the movie at all.
          I remember John Cleese’s little speech about the embarrassment of being uptight English. I remember the actor playing the Vietnam veteran saying we didn’t lose the Vietnam War . . . ” it was a draw”.
          And that’s all I remember.

  2. Trying to imagine Katiebird’s brain denaturing like an egg white…

    • It’s not pretty, I assure you. Also, I’ve been plagued by severe muscle cramps in my feet and legs at night – they started at about the same time as the heatwave. I don’t know if they’re related but, I haven’t had a full night’s sleep this whole time.

      Sorry about this. I’m useless for pondering — I’m just a whining bag of pathos.

      • Sounds like messed up electrolytes (note that I am not a doctor). Have you tried gatorade?

        • No. But, I’ve been drinking about a glass of water an hour. And we do have air conditioning. So, I’m not really in danger. It’s a mental health thing. I hate summer.

        • Oh! Do you mean gatorade might help the leg cramps? It’s just a little sugar and salt in water, isn’t it? maybe I should try it.

          • Yeah, I think it has a concoction of electrolytes like potassium and stuff your muscles need to recover and function properly.

          • Coconut water (sold in cans, unsweetened – Zyco et al) has all the electrolytes Gatorade has and none of the sugar

          • Bananas and apricots are a good source of potassium. You can mix a little orange juice in water and add a little salt to make your own sports drink. The OJ can be just a tablespoon per personal water bottle. The salt a quarter teaspoon.

          • I love apricots. The season for them doesn’t last long enough.

  3. What’s up with Birmingham?

    • I don’t mean Birmingham specifically. I’m referring to any manufacturer of laws in Alabama that inhumanely discriminate against immigrants. And I use the word “immigrants” not “illegal immigrants” because since their anti-immigration law passed in Alabama, not one but TWO Japanese car executives have been picked up and jailed under it.
      So, you know, there’s that.

      • It would be funny if those two car execs posted a video on YouTube of themselves dropping a cherry bomb on a model of the USS Alabama. 😈

      • I’m guessing this is their opinion of the legislators, law enforcement officers, and voters of Alabama now. 😈

      • LOL! There’s a youtube quote for everything these days

        • That’s the nice thing about the original 7 Confederate states–they make Rebel latecomers like my Arkanshire look relatively calm and rational. 😈

          • Did all 7 seccede at the same time? Or were there an original instigating 2 or 3 which drove it all with the rest of the original 7 following very close behind? (If there were, I would imagine that South Carolina was the very First of the First. Would I be wrong?)

  4. I am sure Mrs Echidna has a clue about the need for it. Nice of Mother nature. As for intelligent design, it was debunked with finality by neil Degrasse Tyson (human body: who would place an amusement center next to the sewers?) http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=oEl9kVl6KPc

  5. “Pinky, are you pondering what I’m pondering?”

    “I think so, Brain, but how could anyone’s fever be cured by hearing more cowbell playing?” :mrgreen:

  6. Here is a picture of a kind of clam called geoduck to go with that echidna.http://www.geoduck.com/
    (Looks like microsoft will let it go through. Awfully sporting of microsoft).
    What possibilities might occur to genetic engineers as they ponder the geoduck and the echidna? It buggers the mind.

Comments are closed.

