• Tips gratefully accepted here. Thanks!:

  • Recent Comments

    Ivory Bill Woodpecke… on Why is this a “thing…
    Ivory Bill Woodpecke… on Stroll: Roses in bloom
    riverdaughter on Why is this a “thing…
    Ivory Bill Woodpecke… on Why is this a “thing…
    Ivory Bill Woodpecke… on Why is this a “thing…
    Ivory Bill Woodpecke… on Why is this a “thing…
    Ivory Bill Woodpecke… on Why is this a “thing…
    riverdaughter on Stroll: Roses in bloom
    Ivory Bill Woodpecke… on Why is this a “thing…
    Niles on Stroll: Roses in bloom
    riverdaughter on Why is this a “thing…
    Tailgunner Norm on Why is this a “thing…
    Ari's on Why is this a “thing…
    Ivory Bill Woodpecke… on All the truth we can eat
    Sweet Sue on All the truth we can eat
  • Categories


  • Tags

    abortion Add new tag Afghanistan Al Franken Anglachel Atrios bankers Barack Obama Bernie Sanders big pharma Bill Clinton cocktails Conflucians Say Dailykos Democratic Party Democrats Digby DNC Donald Trump Donna Brazile Economy Elizabeth Warren feminism Florida Fox News General Glenn Beck Glenn Greenwald Goldman Sachs health care Health Care Reform Hillary Clinton Howard Dean John Edwards John McCain Jon Corzine Karl Rove Matt Taibbi Media medicare Michelle Obama Michigan misogyny Mitt Romney Morning Edition Morning News Links Nancy Pelosi New Jersey news NO WE WON'T Obama Obamacare OccupyWallStreet occupy wall street Open thread Paul Krugman Politics Presidential Election 2008 PUMA racism Republicans research Sarah Palin sexism Single Payer snark Social Security Supreme Court Terry Gross Texas Tim Geithner unemployment Wall Street WikiLeaks women
  • Archives

  • History

  • RSS Paul Krugman: Conscience of a Liberal

    • An error has occurred; the feed is probably down. Try again later.
  • The Confluence

    The Confluence

  • RSS Suburban Guerrilla

  • RSS Ian Welsh

    • The End of Cash; The End of Freedom
      Recently the Indian government took high value bills out of circulation, in order to fight corruption. This has been bad for the economy, not just because the gray economy is large in India, but because India is a place where a ton of business is done by cash, not by credit. In France, because of […]
  • Top Posts

Blaming a Generation

civil war soldiers

One outrage after another. Obama’s recent defense of DOMA leaves a bad taste in the mouth. I won’t continue, I may start to blub again if I do, and I don’t feel like being smug anyway. Claiming that banning Gay Marriage is good for the federal budget, and then invoking incest and pedophilia does not warrant comments that aren’t X rated in nature, and this is a family blog.

But while I’m at it, I want to talk about something that I won’t be scoring any points for. In fact, I’m likely going to get Hell for this, but it needs to be said, and Little Isis can’t be polite and sweet all the the time when she has something to say.

It’s like this: since Bam’s victory in the General Election, there has been talk of “The Obama Generation.” Voters of my age group who tended to vote for him have been dubbed “Obama’s Youth Army.”

Well, for one thing, that sounds so militant. Who wants to be part of a “Youth Army?” Can you say cheesy? Besides, that is a loaded phrase with violent imagery, and I detest violence.

But I digress.

Thankfully, all this talk of “The Obama Generation” and “The Obama Era,” is dying down. Sadly, not because of the incredible corniness of those phrases, but because of what a disappointment my Generation’s alleged savior is turning out to be, only five or six months into his administration.

That’s the thing about Demi-Gods. They’re just human narcissists who are full of themselves, and the messianic imagery gets old after a while. My female friends who voted for the Chosen One will no doubt abandon their “Chocolate Fudge Sunday” in favor of the next big thing when it is no longer cool to like him. It’s like having a boyfriend who is great at first, because he’s, you know, so cocky and good looking. But then eventually you just cannot stand the sight of his smug mug anymore, because every time he opens his mouth to utter something stupid you must resist the urge to backhand him.

No see, there is a point. Since all this talk of “Youth Armies” and “Obama Generations” and “Obama Nightlights” and “Obama Thongs” and “Obama Midnight Movies,” there has been a trend among … people of a certain age group, I guess, to put the blame of Obama on us, that is to say, my generation.

Well, I take issue with that. (Note: I am not referring to most of the commenters here in this post. I have noted that you are all mature adults, and good parents to boot, and you seem to have a strong enough sense of history to realize it is a little more complicated than that.)

Barack Obama is the psychological result of a wound that has festered on America’s Social Conscience for hundreds of years. It has it deepest roots in the Civil War, but an observant understanding of the past sixty or so years of American History puts his presence, and notably, the Villagers love for him, into perspective.

The Great Depression and World War II changed the roles of women in America forever. Because the menz were off fighting their war, the womenfolk had to work. They provided for their families by themselves and the resulting impact on the markets probably saved the global economy. The menfolk won their World War with weapons manufactured by their wives, daughters, sisters, and chicks on the side. Truth be told, it was the women and minorities that done won that War, and in turn they saved the world from fascism, and a Dark Age of economic depression.

That is the beauty of Egalitarianism, after all. But this sudden revelation in the consciousness of the female mind threatened the fabric of Patriarchy that had created the Fascism of Hitler’s Germany and the Iron Curtain in the first place. So naturally, the womenfolk and racial and ethnic minorities had to be put in their place again.

I am often amazed at people who idealize the 1950’s as some kind of Golden Age in America’s History. I mean, granted, I wasn’t alive back then, but it sounds like such a bore. Besides being boring, it was also a time of racial segregation, bigotry and materialism. Don’t get me wrong, I’m sure there were very nice things about it if you were a white male. But women born in that time were given messages by culture and media of that day as to what their roles would be, the best of which can be displayed here:

Geez. The glazed looks on their faces alone. I would go crazy, wouldn’t you? Well, children born after World War II are called “Boomers.” Growing up in the 1950’s resulted in their crazed, counterculture rebellion. Free sexuality (particularly for women) and an awareness of racial and gender equality for the first time since their fathers left for War resulted in another threat to the fabric of a society of Male Social Dominance.

The 1960s seemed to have been a fruition of those psychological wounds that had been festering since the Civil War. It was a difficult, but necessary period in our history, and I roll my eyes at those who label it as a time of “self indulgence.” Of course it was self indulgence! Having grown up behind the restraints and phony smiles of the 50’s, the change in social attitudes at the time was necessary.

But old powers don’t want change. Patriarchy doesn’t want change. They still don’t want change to this day, and that was first made apparent in the 1990’s; when a liberal, middle class Boomer from Arkansas was elected President. The Clintons were the first counterculture boomers to obtain the White House, and they represented a change that the Villagers didn’t want. As David Brock stated in his memoir, “Clinton and Clintonism could not survive.”

The Village represents the Old Ways, and after they were unsuccessful in removing Bill Clinton from office, they focused on destroying his legacy by rigging the election in GW’s favor against Vice President Al Gore.

The Villagers, of course, love Obama and GW because despite the fact that they appear to come from different parties, they are one and the same. Both of them are misogynistic Frat Boys with a preoccupation with the Religious Right, and both of them have blamed Boomers for our country’s ills, labeling them as amoral and divisive.

They are both of an old class and an old order. Both men are narcissistic, arrogant, and believe in their own entitlement. The Villagers love the fact that Obama is biracial and doesn’t truly have the African American Experience to attest to. He was raised by his upper middle class white grandparents, and he is, unlike Martin Luther King Jr., considered a “non threatening black.” He is non threatening in a different way than Jesse Jackson and Al Sharpton, because those two are enabled by the establishment, and therefore aren’t very helpful to the AA community anymore, it doesn’t seem. (EG: No one takes them seriously) Obama is non threatening in a sense that he doesn’t do much to change race relations in America. His Campaign used race-baiting techniques to defeat his opponents and he so far has done nothing uniquely courageous in his unimpressive public career. But he was still able to exploit those wounds in the American Psyche that exist as a result of 1960’s counterculture.

Obama is not a uniquely intelligent man, regardless of what his enablers in the MSM say, but he was and still is smart enough to understand those scars in the American psyche, and his campaign exploited them in the most sinister ways imaginable.

Having grown up in Fundamentalist Religion, like many of the people here, I was uniquely resistant to that psychological message, but most of the people in my generation weren’t.

I was eleven years old on September 11th, 2001. I remember that day very clearly, and I remember the aftermath even better. I remember the message that was told to me in school. We, as a country, were United. Our differences were petty and didn’t matter, because this tragedy had brought us together. It was going to teach us something. We were going to learn about ourselves as Americans, and forgive the sins of the past to achieve a more Perfect Union and to combat the forces that would threaten our freedoms and way of life.

To come of age and watch the events of the past few years unfold before our very eyes is our own experience that is unique to us and always will be. To watch that promise of standing together disintegrate because of deceit, lies, and those sins of the past that still cannot be forgiven is the scar of our own Generation. But it wasn’t perpetuated by us, it was perpetuated by our Elders. By our parents and our elected officials who then had the nerve to say that they knew what was best for us.

It would be hard then, to be resistant to Obama’s condemnation of Boomers. Our media told us that he would heal the nation of the very wounds he was exploiting. He was going to unite us, while he split the Democratic Left in half and set Race Relations back one hundred years. It was the same media that lied to us about Bush and the War in Iraq, but we hadn’t lived long enough to tell the difference anyway. It’s how the media had always been, we knew nothing else, and we didn’t live in the time of Walter Cronkite and Edward R. Murrow. (Funny then, how adults always say we don’t listen.)

Yes, my age group is superficial and materialistic. Yes, girls my age don’t get it and have low self esteem. But who made us? Where did those values come from? You. We didn’t start the fire. You did. Who raised us? You did.

Who is going to inherit your debt? Us. Who’s futures are in jeopardy? Ours.

So own up to it. Be responsible. Be adults. Suck it up. We’re your children, and we didn’t ask for any of this.

And as the Goddess is my witness, if I EVER see anyone say on here that they give up, that there is no way to change anything, that they will never see a woman President in their lifetimes, that it is our Generation’s responsibility now to make it all happen, I swear it, I will go bat shit insane on that person’s ass. Don’t you DARE say anything like that while I am lurking on a thread!

This isn’t just our mess. It’s ours, and it’s everyones, and you made it. So you had better damned well help us clean it up!


Please — DIGG!! & Share!!!

Add to FacebookAdd to DiggAdd to Del.icio.usAdd to StumbleuponAdd to RedditAdd to BlinklistAdd to TwitterAdd to TechnoratiAdd to FurlAdd to Newsvine

Add to: Facebook | Digg | Del.icio.us | Stumbleupon | Reddit | Blinklist | Twitter | Technorati | Furl | Newsvine

145 Responses

  1. ARE you an old soul? You have Far too much wisdom for a kid your age.

  2. On the previous version of this thread I posted the best comment ever written in the history of the blogosphere.

    Now it is forever lost into the ether

  3. Hey, Littleisis,

    I don’t blame your generation and don’t want you to have to pay the price. Now why aren’t you following me on Twitter? That’s what I want to know.

    • Thanks, bb. I thought I was following you! Heck, I always lose track of who I follow. I will try to find you now, BB!

    • okay, found you! I am following you now 😛

    • I can’t speak for Isis, but what is this “Twitter” [I’ve heard of it, but I don’t understand what’s so great about it], and why should I trust it?

      Granted, yer talkin’ to a late adopter here. I didn’t buy any kind of CD player until 2000, and I didn’t buy a new PC [I owned a 2ndhand one] or get on the Web regularly until 2004. 😛

      Them newfangled contraptions cost MONEY, dangit! :mrgreen:

      • “Them newfangled contraptions cost MONEY, dangit!”

        And besides that, it seems like as soon as you learn one thing and put money into it, they invent something NEW to take its place! I’m almost afraid to buy DVD movies anymore, because they’re probably going to be obsolete before I can blink!

        And as far as computers, you get one with lots of memory, and then the new programs they make take up SO much space, that now your computer has too little memory! Pffttt!

      • I hope someone answers, because I’d like to understand better, too. I used to just hear of people twittering nonsense, like what they were having for breakfast – I’m just not interested in what people I know are doing every minute of the day. But I could see how important it was in the context of Iran.

        I figured out how to go to some of the websites that Dakinikat posted, and I bookmarked them, and I go back and check and refresh. But if you know someone’s website where the twitters are posted, why would you need to sign up (assuming you don’t need to see the twitters every minute of the day)…? And if the twitter comes on your cellphone, does it cost 10 cents, like a text message?

        I’m wondering about stuff like that…

      • Twitter is social network tool that you can use to tell people what you’re doing at any given time. It’s free online at twitter.com. You just register like you do for anything else. Instead of “friend” functions like on myspace or facebook, you have the “follow” function, which allows you to see the updates of those people you follow on your homepage. People who follow you will be able to do the same.

        Each individual message is limited to 140 characters max. You can address a message to a particular twitterer (er, twit?) by typing “@” before the username of the person you want to see your message. If you’re just posting it for the world to see, you don’t have to put anything.

        There are tons of great functions and so many celebrities and politicians you can follow. It’s really easy.

        Lorac: This is page is specifically for people who’ve never used twitter before. It’s really useful. I had to read it. I think you and IBW will be addicted in no time. If and when you sign up, feel free to follow me at twitter.com/regencyg.

  4. Following comments about the Iran situation on my Tweet grid…Obama is getting slammed….I assume that the Tweet generation is prime Obama demographic. People are calling Obama a POS and no one is defending him.

    • I’ve seen people on other blogs asking why isn’t Hillary making a statement. Aside from maybe getting more info before speaking, how much latitude does she have to speak on her own, without getting approval from BO? Does anyone know?

    • He’s not doing any better on North Korea. Sixty-nine percent of the respondents in this Fox News poll do not believe Obama is being tough enough on them.

      http://www.foxnews.com/projects/pdf/061509_poll.pdf

  5. That was badass. I can’t even speak other than to say, “Yes, yes, and, oh by the way, YES!”

  6. Hi Little Isis – I remember you from the old blog, and I encouraged you to write more, because you were so good, especially for your age. So, here’s to a great essay!

    I just wanted to comment on this: “that it is our Generation’s responsibility now to make it all happen” (don’t go batshit, don’t go batshit 🙂 )

    Perhaps you’ve heard people saying it more generally, but when I’ve heard it said (and felt it oops!), it’s been since the “3rd wave” came along and seemingly dissed everything that came before, and some say we’re “post feminism” and things are so hunky-dory now, and the rest of us are just broken records.

    The “older people” getting frustrated are saying “let THEM do the work now”, simply because the next ones along weren’t picking up the same mantle (for instance, not seeming to understand how important to our lives control over our bodies is). It was more like, if they won’t listen, they’re just going to have to find out the hard way, by losing rights, and then having to re-fight stuff the older women had already worked for. I think older women just got tired of being dismissed and their valid points minimized. I think if they see younger women recognizing still valid issues, the older women will be right there again.

    Anyway, as I said, you may have heard it more generally, but in this one respect, I think that’s where some women are coming from.

    • *nod nod* True Lorac, I’ll give you that. But as I explained in my post, there is a reason those values were distorted and I think that the previous generation that blazed the trail should take that out and look at it, maybe. But in any case, I also see your point.
      I have never really taken the “Third Wave” seriously, because I always just thought it was a Patriarchal tool to try to silence women who demanded equality. The “Third Wave” holds a distorted view of women’s sexuality that doesn’t free them, but chains them more tightly to Male Social Dominance. It seems to confuse sexual objectification with acceptance of sexuality as part of being a woman and a human being.

      • I agree with you. I feel I should mention, though, that there are a lot more pressures on kids now, potentially “warping” their sense of priorities, which makes it much harder on parents – but I really believe that if a parent puts a lot of energy into the development of their kids, they can usually offset environmental influences.

        Although, when I was a kid, it was normal to join some kind of community, character building group (4-H, girl scouts, etc). It doesn’t seem to be too common anymore, and I think that makes the parents’ job harder, not having those environmental supports. But then again, the parents could have worked to have more of the groups in the community!

        • I agree. It is very difficult growing up these days, especially if you had something of a chaotic upbringing, like I did.
          But, Lorac, I want to keep stressing this as much as possible: your generation created that culture in which we were raised. And I think you have to look at that as parents and so forth, because I am often told about how selfish my generation is, but the adults in my life never acted like adults anyway.
          And I think someone said something upthread about establishment feminism and it’s failures, and I am doing research right now for a post series about that.
          I think you have to take a look at the feminism of your day and how it has created the distorted so called establishment feminism of today. I mean, look at where we are now. Look at the state of organizations like NOW and NARAL. You cannot completely blame that on faux “third wave feminism”, because third wavers haven’t had much influence anyway, which is probably the entire point of them, but I digress.

          • Every generation thinks it is different from the others.

            Growing up is never easy – if it is you’re not doing it right.

          • Well, maybe you’ll find some good answers in your research. I can’t say I have an overall view of the problem, so my view is probably biased by my own experiences. I’ll be looking forward to reading what you come up with!

            I do agree with you, that an older generation bears responsibility for the younger generation. But I guess the crux of it is, what happened? Undoubtedly some parents didn’t pass on some important values, and some tried but weren’t heard, and some tried but didn’t do a good enough job….?

            I definitely have the experience of trying to communicate that we have to stay vigilant, or we’ll lose our rights, and having the younger women pooh-pooh that. I honestly don’t know what else I could have done – you keep trying, and trying, but if someone won’t hear – what do you do? I’m not a parent, though, so I’m referring to conversations with women who weren’t my daughters – maybe that is a little different. I didn’t have any power to influence those women, or any extended time with them.

            I guess that’s relevant to the “Obama generation”, too – I tried encouraging people to use critical thinking skills, and not be swayed by emotional manipulation, but they wouldn’t hear. Part of that problem is undoubtedly tied to schools, though. Maybe the hippie generation is the problem for dumbing down standards in schools! (I was only in diapers then, so see how well I just ducked out of THAT one!)

          • Lorac, we always have a responsibility to pass down to our loved ones what we believe to be positive values, but I don’t think that is where the answer lies, and I have been trying to dig much deeper.
            Generations, as MYIQ said, never seem to be much different from each other at their utmost cores. You can tick off the benefits of one generation but that generation’s drawbacks the next one might make up for, but that generation will also have flaws.
            It is human nature. For example, girls my age these days don’t have a clue, but they do have more oppurtunities than women in the 70’s did. For example, we have more access to education. More than half of today’s colleges are filled with girls.
            The source of the problem lies elsewhere, and that is what I have been focusing on. I won’t tell you what some of my conclusions have been. You’ll just have to wait, bb 😛

          • “But, Lorac, I want to keep stressing this as much as possible: your generation created that culture in which we were raised. ”

            Oh, no, not so fast! I’m publicly announcing, I had nothing to do with rap!

            I was minding my own business, looking at pics of Bobby Sherman and then David Cassidy, wondering why do birds suddenly appear everytime you are near……. I’m not responsible for music’s “progression” to singing about raping women and killing cops! Noooooooooo……..

        • I am not of the opinion that my generation is special or unique, or even different.

          • Actually I’d like to think each new generation is a little bit more special and a little bit better than the last. Otherwise we’re not getting anywhere.

          • My generation was really “special”

            We had Disco music

          • and every one that liked disco was driven to school in the short yellow disco lovers bus!!!

          • Hey, I was a disco queen! I still love (the old) disco songs. (I’m probably the only one in the world who will admit that!)

          • I blame everything on listening to Bobby Sherman. It’s not my fault….

          • Who’s Bobby Sherman?

          • Sort of the Zac Efron of an earlier time. Well, he sang, but I’m not sure if he danced. But he was really, really “a dreamboat”!

            He was TeenBeat material (Sort of like People magazine, but it was a magazine about teenage heartthrobs. Come to think of it, I can’t remember if any girls were in there, or if it was just boys…..)

    • I wanted to add, that it isn’t just older people helping the younger people to clean up – we still have things to learn. Now that I can see clearly (since May 31, 2008), I finally see how each side tends to speak up about sexism when it affects their own side, but we aren’t working together to fight it wherever it shows up. So, traditional women’s organizations and the 2nd wave women also have to clean up our OWN gardens…..

      • So true. I learn from younger people all the time–even my 4 year old nephew has things to teach me.

  7. OMG, LI! You’re another fundy refugee? What is it about us that makes it easy to see right through these people? I can’t even put a name to what it is I’m picking up with my fundy tinfoil but I know it when I see and hear it. We’ve got to crack this enigma so we can share it with other people.

    • It’s the blank stares and the Stepford smiles of the cultists

    • Damned straight! It is just so easy to see through the psychological brainwashing techniques and astroturfing if you were raised in that kind of environment.
      I agree that it is an enigma that should be cracked, and I think we should put our heads together to figure it out, because it is important.
      We have a lot in common, RD.

    • If you find an antidote, please share it with the needy. DOn’t know about fundy refugees but I was raised a Methodist of convenience. Had no trouble seeing through the shiny O-bs.

      • You must come by it naturally. We were nurtured.

        • I seriously think the Vietnam war helped. It’s impossible to trust in the same way after some experiences, if you were paying attention at the time 🙂

      • We started out Presbyterian, but then when my parents got tired of going, they switched us to Methodist, because that church was within walking distance! I guess that’s “convenience”, too…

        I remember when it was time for confirmation, and I asked them, how can I choose one religion, when you haven’t told me about the others? And no one answered me… then I began the movement towards agnosticism. It was actually a very friendly church, and I liked everyone there, but when they couldn’t explain that one thing to me, the whole thing made no sense to me….

        • My mother made me a Presbyterian because her golf partner at the country club was the Presbyterian minister’s wife. Otherwise, I’d have escaped baptism altogether.

    • RD whats a fundy refugee?

  8. Littleisis,

    I don’t think of you as superficial and materialistic. I can’t even imagine myself writing for a blog like this when I was your age. It was a different time, I know. But I’m very impressed with your down to earth understanding of the world. Thanks for a terrific post!

  9. You’re such a great writer. So many quoteables. 🙂 But is it really their mess their made? They had their intragenerational struggles, too. I think they have a right to be mad if they went through their own struggles with the Republicans and Obot equivalents of their day and thought things would turn out a lot different and now they turn around and Obama’s deliberately trying to stir up generational warfare and they’ve got some punkass kids screaming at them and trying to stop them from voting. Maybe they tried to stop it more than they made it and part of the disillusionment was having to watch as it got made anyway, and then all the stuff of now on top.

  10. LillleIsis
    Every day you are such a great representative of your generation.
    You and Regency and my grand children give me hope for the future in a time where it is hard to find.
    I have told you before you have the brains and character to do great things with your life.
    I will be proud to say ” I knew you both when”

    WOMEN WITH INTELLIGENCE AND EXPERIENCE AND MEN WHO SUPPORT THEM AND COUNTRY BEFORE PARTY ALWAYS

    PUMAS,BUBBAS,EQUALISTS AND THOSE PEOPLE RULE

  11. anyone know what a fundy refugee is?

    • Someone who’s left their fundamentalist religious upbringing behind. Like a recovering Catholic.

    • in my extended southern family my parents were the fundamentalist refugees. my father was raised baptist and my mom pentacostal. they looked for the most liberal church they could find to raise us in, so my experience was a liberal/agnostic veneer over fundamentalist guilt and anxiety. As a result my radar is fine tuned to cultish behavior and my definition of spiritual evolvement is the ability to treat others with human decency.

  12. I’m so boring, I didn’t have a fundy or Catholic upbringing. You guys had all the fun.

    • Me neither. I just grew up being a skeptical pain in the ass. I got into a fight with my Sunday school teacher (United Church of Canada) as a kid for insisting that there was no way she could REALLY know that God wasn’t a woman. I also insisted that I wasn’t going to have any kids when I grew up, just lots and lots of boyfriends.

      Clearly I was born with my convictions.

  13. Lil Isis you are right.

    I have never likes blaming young kids for what’s happening. A lot of them had working moms, no grandparents, and had to rely on their peer group for information.

    It’s a no-win situation for all concerned-and moms today have to work to pay off those excessive mortgages, or to keep health care or whatever.

  14. LI, your writing is beautiful, but please tell me you didn’t say this…

    “Yes, my age group is superficial and materialistic. Yes, girls my age don’t get it and have low self esteem. But who made us? Where did those values come from? You. We didn’t start the fire. You did. Who raised us? You did.
    Who is going to inherit your debt? Us. Who’s futures are in jeopardy? Ours.
    So own up to it. Be responsible. Be adults. Suck it up. We’re your children, and we didn’t ask for any of this.”

    Are you blaming the generation before you for having the means to spoil you rotten? How terrible for you. Why in the world would you have low self-esteem? We older women fought our asses off for you younger women. We started the fire and your generation has snuffed it out. Inherit your debt? Well, if parents had saved instead of indulging every whim- oh wait, that would have been lost in the market crash, too. Good thing we blew it on the kids. In case you didn’t notice the last three election cycles, we don’t always get what we want. We protest and try really hard, but we can only do so much. So suck it up yourself.

    You sound like my 14 year old grand-niece at our cook-out this weekend. “I’m never gonna be like you all are! When I have kids, I’m gonna let them do what they want!!”

    LI, the day you stop blaming the “adults” will be the day you become an adult. Own up. (or suck it up as you say)

    • And how does the civil war photo above relate to your wonderful post?

    • We don’t always get what we want but nothing ever came from throwing up our hands and saying oh, well. If it’s all right for all the people who came before to call it a day; then, why should my generation be under the impression that any issue is worth discomforting their every day lives?

      Isis is damned right, our generation is materialistic. I know I came out that way by not having much of anything when I was little. I came to value things as a sign of security. My mother didn’t mean to raise me that way, but here I am. I know what I am and what my faults are. My friends aren’t all so self-aware.

      We’re a by-product, not of excesses, but the complexes that resulted from really not having much. Our parents wanted to give us everything, so we think we’re entitled to it, a negative consequence of well-intended actions. Our parents “blew it” on us and didn’t teach us what to do with it. So what’d we do? We threw it away. History is a Disney movie to us. Why? Because that’s the way our parents wanted it. They wanted it soft and unassuming, and just not too terrifying, because children need a sense of security to thrive. Well, they got their way and the children that came of it are exactly what should have been expected: blind, self-involved imbeciles without internal editors who believe the wrapping on the box.

      Now, I believe that every member of my generation is as accountable for their actions as every member of any generation before. However, I do not believe it is enough to tell us (paraphrase) “we fought every battle for you and gave you everything–there ya go.” We’ve got tools we were never taught to use and the chief repair people have all retired. We’ve got no skills to do what’s fallen to us. We’re unbelievably thankful, but I’ll be damned if that makes us particularly able.

      • WORD.

      • We all develop skills as we mature, reg.

        • Yes, we do, but that skill set is only as good as the people we’ve learned to be. I don’t know how to start a movement, but I do know how to set up a website. That’s stuff I learned by trial-and-error. I wouldn’t know how to juggle two or three jobs and still manage to get my kids to school on time. That’s not something that’s just going to come to me.

          Again, I reiterate, I did not grow up being totally aware of hardship, so I don’t have a pure understanding of it. I know so many people my age who don’t realize how close they came to not having a phone or lights or water, or a home for that matter. That was on the other side of that wall that our parents built. We’re not going to be able to just guess. We have to learn through trial-and-error, just like our parents

      • You know, that’s a really good point. I often wonder where the hell my parents came from, since their upbringing was a million miles away from my siblings’. They grew up in healthy, stable environments, with really good parents–but maybe that’s part of it. Maybe their parents fought so hard to make a better life for them they never learned the tools they needed to cope when things didn’t turn out. Thanks, Reg, that’s something to think about. 🙂

    • and GAGal, take a look at Laurie’s post up there. Many of us, including Regency and I, did not have parents that indulged our every whim, and we most certainly were not able to do whatever we wanted. You make an assumption about us and our generation that is a form of, shall we say, stereotyping.
      And for the record, children learn from their parents.
      btw, thanks for backin’ me up, Reg!

    • GAGirl, that’s really harsh. Parents who indulged our every whim? You can’t even begin to know what you’re talking about. Let’s not let stereotypes substitute for our actual experiences here.

  15. dont think im a fundy reject theory’s doesn’t seem to fit me & i can see tru all his BS

    • I don’t think we’re immune to the Obama cultism because we are former fundies

      I think we are former fundies is because we are immune to cultism

      • We’re cynics.

        • That is, we don’t mind being grownups. Obots mind that a great deal

          • We were the ones who drove teachers nuts by asking a million questions When stuff doesn’t make sense we ask “But what about . . . ”

            When they told us that Santa comes down the chimney to bring toys to all the kids we asked “What about the kids that don’t have fireplaces?”

  16. Little Isis…I agree that *we* are a part of the problem because we failed in many instances to pass on the lessons we learned from our parents. We wanted to give you a better life than we had just as our parents did — the problem is that the the economic situations are cyclical and we may have led our children to believe that instant gratification and wealth are there for the taking and are a right. Unfortunately, the times your generation is coming of age into are going to be more economically challenging than we had hoped.

    My friends and I were discussing this very subject the other day.

  17. well one thing is for certain there is something we have in common that lets us see all the BS that is BO .
    and that others don’t that lets them get sucked in.

  18. Aggravating, isn’t it?

    We Baby Boomers know all about being badmouthed. We’ve heard all our lives how we’re just not quite as cool as the other generations.

    Personally, I think we’re every bit as good as any generation. We get dissed because we refused to go off and die quietly in Viet Nam.

    A lot of the flak young people are is taking comes from the Obamites, who played everyone off against everyone else during the primaries.

    • EVERY generation grows up being told that they’re ungrateful little snots who don’t know how good they have it.

      “Children today are tyrants. They contradict their parents, gobble their food, and tyrannize their teachers.”
      -Socrates (470-399 B.C.)

  19. You bet, Perry. LI, most Boomers have children in their 30’s. Y’all were raised by Generation Jones, or Obama’s end of the Boomers. Sorry, but I’m bored with Blame the Boomers., We got a lot done in our day, and I’m proud of our accomplishments. We did a great deal towards civil rights, and we ended conscription.

    • The boomers, currently , are the famous sandwich generation: Caring for both their parents and kids. Of course we come in for flack. We are human and can’t be two places at once 24/7 . We can’t make our parents 50 again or stop the financial oligarchs from stealing everything from our children …bad boomers! Bad for not be super heroes! bad! /snark.

    • Generation Jones? please explain

    • My kids are in their 30s and I’ve been truly blessed. They are kind wonderful people raising a fine group of grandchildren.

      Every generation has it’s share of successes and failures. We shouldn’t dwell on them, we’ve got to move forward.

    • I don’t blame the boomers at all, and demonization of them is wrong. I was just pointing out why many people in my age group fell into the trap Bam set for us in blaming boomers.

  20. I think the problem arises from the great expanse of time covering the “boomer” generation. Some were born as late as 1960, a group my husband and I fall into.

    My father was a WWII veteran who lived through the depression. Somehow I was ineffective as fully conveying to my daughter the economic values he instilled into me. I think it’s because I was given a great life because of my father and felt the responsibility to give my daughter the bounty of that life.

    I successfully conveyed social values which are in tact and the values of my generation were certainly more socially tolerant than my father’s, but economics and realism about the financial aspects of life have not made it through for some reason.

    Mass media has complicated things by painting a picture of what everyone *must* have and the youth were targeted very effectively.

  21. SOD, Older boomers (late ’40’s, early ’50’s) came of age into the terrible economy of the early 1970s. We worked hard to achieve the social tolerance that became reality. We worked hard for economic successes and to pass them on to our kids. I get tired of apologizing for whatever part of Nirvana I was unable to provide for those who followed. The “I hate Boomers and I hope they die” feelings were all over this past election, and they were disgusting.

    • I don’t think that’s what Lil’ Isis is trying to say. The message I take is that *we* are also part of the problem and should help them find their way in the mess we are all in.

      My comment is that I do take some responsibility as a Boomer. That’s all.

      • and I was married in the 70s, at the age of 18. I remember not having enough money to buy cough medicine. there were times when my husband was on strike and i was making minimum wage. But we made it through. We started saving together when we started dating at 15 and when we bought our house the year we married, we also had the money to buy things we needed.

        This is what I believe I failed to convey to our daughter, and much of that financial value system has been lost to this generation. It has a great deal to do with the current economic crisis where so many people are in debt up to their eyeballs.

        • I honestly believe that the financial value system you’re talking about no longer applies. It’s a beautiful thing to work hard, make money, save prudently, and then be able to invest that money wisely in something you can be proud of (like say a first home).

          But there are new factors at play. A huge proportion of jobs now require university degrees, and tuition costs have gone up. So, student loans are a factor. You have to have credit to get credit, so student credit cards are pushed hard. If you get one, you end up with debt. If you forgo it, you have no credit history and it’s impossible to get credit.

          Urban sprawl and concentration of jobs in cities means that most of us either spend huge proportions of our wages/salary on housing in the city (more expensive), or live far from our jobs and have a long commute (spending more money on gas, insurance, car maintenance, in-city parking, etc.). We have to spend our lives saving up for retirement (start young, kids!) because we grew up with the no pensions, no social security rhetoric.

          All of this makes saving up for a home pretty damn hard. My husband and I make nearly $100,000 a year, and we won’t be able to afford to buy a house until I’m at least 36 unless we plan to move way out of the city. That leaves my husband (who has carpal tunnel) with a long car commute that he can’t physically handle, and also means that we have to buy a car (we don’t have one now). So, more expenses. That’s not the pattern that my parents grew up with, and they can’t understand why we won’t just save more money. It’s a different situation now than it was thirty years ago.

          • You did without food? You did without medical care? You did without education? You did without transportation to your job? You did without housing?

            I’m not about to suggest that nobody is screwing themselves over out of short-sightedness, but I think you’re making some assumptions about people’s ability to live on what they make.

            The fact that I’m barely keeping my head above water financially now is not my parents’ fault, or due to poor planning on my part either. The fact of the matter is that the world is complex and the new financial reality is that a lot of people realistically cannot live on what they make.

          • SOD-

            Here are some good articles discussing the ways that people (often young people are becoming part of the growing population of the working poor).

            Student Loans debt- http://www.seattlepi.com/local/257094_studentloandebt26.html

            Escalating costs of living- http://www.seattlepi.com/dayart/20050209/livingcostschainblack.gif

            Who is and is not working poor- http://www.seattlepi.com/local/259649_pooroverview16.html

            The impossibility of home ownership- http://www.seattlepi.com/local/224532_overextendhousing17.html

            And- http://www.seattlepi.com/local/251608_housing10.html

          • I am well aware of all of those things. You have no idea who I am or what my life experiences are. I understand having little so please don’t lecture me. You’re getting defensive without even getting my point. I’m discussing Little Iris’ comments about the materialistic views of many youth. and she’s right that those materialistic attitudes have some parental origins.

            And for heavensake please stop taking it as a personal affront. It’s not about you. Geebus.

            Plus, the work ethic of today is vastly different than the boomers or the WWII vet generation. My dad worked 3 jobs, night and day and my mom worked too.

      • Thanks, BB.

    • Yes, The 70s came along just as I was entering the job market- in some ways we were a lost generation (those born 1950-55), similar to what my son (1988) will have to put up with, and similar to what my father (1925) found at 20-a whole line of ex-vets before him. (But he still blessed his lucky stars that the war ended then in 1945).

      Things aren’t easy and that is why social nets are an essential part of government.

  22. These young people who blame us for all the problems in the world don’t seem to realize we worked through the 70’s and 80’s at minimum wage of 3.25 an hour. (or less). It just kills me that it took 30 years to bring minimum wage to 7.50 an hour. The Democratic Party use to care.

    Would it make them feel better to know I busted my ass back when I could at 80 hours a week? Wow, I made double time. 6.50 an hour. Yee haw. So I’m sure I’ll get a huge retirement. I really don’t understand why anyone apologizes to the younger generation. It would never enter my mind to blame my parents. They should be thanking them, not blaming them.

    • From what you are saying, the example that you provided should have been enough.

    • Yep

      The problem with young people today is that they sleep too much.
      […]
      I slept 2 hours a night and that was only if my dad didn’t need me to guard the henhouse or stand in the cornfield with a straw hat on. We worked ‘til we dropped. And when the dizziness and disorientation set in, we drank black coffee by the jug and slapped each other repeatedly across the face. It was decent and right and made for a better America.

      • Don’t forget Monty Python who got up half an hour before he went to bed in order to lick the road clean!

    • Talk about it, GaGal! When I graduated (from UGA, I might add) nurses made the whopping salary of $2.85 an hour. I too busted it so that my spouse could get his MBA and we could have a life. It also never occured to me to blame my parents, but we don;t do that a lot in the South. My parents gave up a lot to send me to college and let me live in the sorority house. I helped my Dad with “extras” until the day that he died, and it was my pleasure to do so.

    • Nothing about “blaming” parents in this post. What I am suggesting is that parents take some responsibility for what they created, rather than whining that we are all “ungrateful.”
      We are very grateful for what you sacrificed and for your achievements, but that doesn’t mean we should be saddled with your failures as well.

  23. Boomer dissing is a great way to get out of helping your boomer parents just when THEY need help. Does it occur to anyone the aging boomers could use a hand? I’m real tired of it going all one way. The problem seems to be we can’t supply our children with thier now grown up wishes, like we did as they grew up. It’s beyond our depleted means….. and they are facing reality. Boomer dissing seems to stem from this idea that we are being horribly selfish for drying up since we are unending founts . Well, we aren’t unending founts.

    • Well said.

    • You have a right to be mad, but we’re coming from a different place, a very similar place. You’ve done the right thing and deserve appreciation and help. But a lot of us are not these overindulged spoiled kids. Instead we were forced to raise ourselves and our younger siblings while dealing with our parents’ addiction/abuse/mental illness/general uselessness and self indulgence/inability to act like adults. And now who’s going to care for our grandparents? Not our parents, that’s for damn sure. The point is, we’re not necessarily that far apart in experience. You did the right thing and we tried to, too. We need to work together.

  24. I don’t understand the guilt trip and I’ll say again, what does the civil war photo have to to do with the post?

    • She’s been asleep for hours now. I’m sure she’ll be glad to answer you when she’s awake.

      As for my theory, I’d say it’s because the Civil War pit people who were supposed to be family against each other in the worst way.

    • Yup. I just got to the lappytop now.

      Barack Obama is the psychological result of a wound that has festered on America’s Social Conscience for hundreds of years. It has it deepest roots in the Civil War, but an observant understanding of the past sixty or so years of American History puts his presence, and notably, the Villagers love for him, into perspective.

      That is why the civil war photo is at the top of my post. The entire point of said post was to point out the generational differences Bam exploited to win certain votes… many of which you are now reinforcing with your comments, bb. 😛

    • I assume it’s to reflect the notion of “Brother against Brother” that was considered part and parcel of the Civil War. Several states had residents fighting on both sides and in many instances members of the same family served in opposing armies. If I recall correctly, this split was evidenced by the formation of West Virginia which broke away from the rest of Virginia (part of the Confederacy) and entered the Union as a state during the Civil War.

  25. I think the problem is in all this seeking who to “blame”. We all do it…attribute blame…because that is part of human nature and serves a social purpose. But we aren’t trying to keep thieves off the street here. Shit happens…by which I mean culture, society happens. Things change and there’s only so much enlightenment to go around.

    We’re always going to screwing up somewhere and forgetting some “truth” we once learned a generation ago. And the younger generation will always be not caring what its forgotten while it sings the praises of its own “new” “truths”. I vote we just scramble through and lay off the blame game.

  26. Fantastic post! And no, I do not blame your generation – any generation. These blamefests are media constructs, marketers models – like soccer moms or security moms. Obama in no way belongs to your generation – he’s closer to mine – just took advantage of many in yours (less wise than you). I am glad you’re not buying media’s hype. Neither do I.

    • THANKS Edgeoforever! THANK YOU! I don’t blame anyone either. I don’t blame boomers OR my generation or any other. The entire point of this post was to say that we need to work together and lay off the blame game, regardless of our ages, else we will fall into a media marketed trap like this again.

      And I think a lot of you here are confusing my call to action with personal blame I seem to have for boomers. ppsssshhht. hogwash! I love boomers, as I said in my post, because of the awareness they brought to the American psyche in the sixties and seventees! And I detest the manipulation and demonization of them by the forces of racism, sexism, classism and the Old Order that both Obama and Bush represent.

      My entreaty at the end of the post was to see past the media manipulation of generational blame games, of which mine is included in, so we can work together to fix the problems we currently have.

      Because part of not placing blame is taking responsibility for failures of your own.

      One day, people of my generation will have to take responsibility for Obama.

      So do the same service to us, and we’ll have something to go by in the future.

  27. littleisis, now that I know you’re 19 (!!!) I have even more respect for your mad writing skillz. I’m old enough to be your grandmother!

  28. Comment deleted – OT

  29. Lil Isis — your writing just keeps getting better each time I read them; this is the best to date! BRILLIANT

    Your rant put this whole Obama worship into an easily understandable contxt (i.e., fall out from the Civil War) and its historical progression. Rev. Manning also said something in one of his “rants” about Blacks still being caught up in their one major accomplishment slavery & the fall out that ensued from it [This is really worth listening to just because it is so provocative and I can’t do his rants any justice by summarizing them].

    Yes, WE ALL have a part in this. I keep wondering maybe I *should* have sent that letter to all my friends and family members about my perception of the Obama movement in the context of my 20+ years of working for the Democratic Party. I didn’t, because like religion which we don’t discuss (me being a Liberal also brought up in a Fundamentalist home), we clash on politics too.

    But now I’m making up for this in spades, by reminding them every chance I get how Barky is not living up to his campaign promises. What is the most frustrating is you have to constantly remind them that the DEMOCRATS have control of all levels of government now, so the old arguments about it being the Republicans’ fault do not hold water.

    • I am also getting sick of blaming Republicans. DEMs control all levels of government and they have the political capital. No more excuses.

  30. you are arguing about a moot point for no reason, which is what Obots tend to do when they hilariously attempt to cause division.

    Big Dawg’s signing os “DOMA” was a form of triangulation, and both he and Hill claimed it was stregatic and an attempt to keep the federal marraige amendment from passing later. Hillary only wanted to repeal section 3 of DOMA, which would probably prevent things like proposition 8 from happening.

    Regardless of whether you think that was wrong, they had far less political capital on this issue at the time (and they also fought for LGBT rights back when it wasn’t politically expedeint. Not like it is now) than BO does now. He promised to repeal DOMA, and of course, he lied. I know for certain that a President Hillary Clinton would keep her promise and repeal section 3, and even if she didn’t she wouldn’t use the revolting homophobic language he used to justify her position.

    Besides, what difference does it make what she would have done? He is our Preznit now, and he promised to be an advocate for LGBT rights. We are just holding his stinky feet to the fire.

    • In 1996 the Big Dawg was running for reelection and the GOP wanted to use gay marriage as a wedge issue.

      During most of his two terms the GOP controlled Congress and Bill Clinton made several “bad” compromises to prevent “worse” from happening.

      • Indeedy. Many of which could have been reversed if his wife/RFK/better half hadn’t been prevented from getting the nomination by her own party.

        I still L Big D though. Considering the circumstances, he achieved a lot and was one of the best Preznits this country has ever had.

    • *his* position.

  31. oh, good. *Rhonda* is gone.

  32. In the end, despite how much a reviled DOMA, I decided that although Hil supported it with reservation, she was supporting discrimination against LGBQT only during the campaign. So I enthusiastically voted for her on that basis.

Comments are closed.

