Saturday: While We Wait…

The New York Times is still reporting that Hillary is going to take the job of SOS although there is no official word from her office. Unlike Tweety Matthews, I’m not reading anything nefarious in the tea leaves regarding the delay of this announcement. Powerful people can set their own terms to some extent and she is probably working out the details that balance what is right for her with what is right for the country. It is as appropriate for Hillary to do this as it would be for any man. You don’t accept a job offer if you’re not going to advance your career and the best time to get what you want is at the beginning. She’s not being stubborn, capricious or exercising her feminine prerogative. She is acting on her best behalf, but with considerably more credibility on foreign policy than Tom Daschle who has suddenly discovered his passion for healthcare reform after decades of work on intelligence matters.

So we wait.

In the meantime, here are some other items that might sthwike your fancy:

  • John West of 300 Delegates wrote a moving piece about what he witnessed in Denver as he was trying to accumulate those delegate signatures.  In Fair Reflection’s Absence, John writes:

    NOT ONE PERSON who voted for Hillary during the primaries/caucuses in American Samoa, New Jersey, New Hampshire, Vermont and Delaware had their vote reflected in the roll call tally by the delegates they elected for this sole purpose. The pledged delegates for Hillary in these states unanimously changed their votes from Hillary to Obama believing they did the voters right by supporting unity and following Hillary’s lead. Was this a fair reflection of the sentiments of the voters when they cast their ballots for Hillary during their primary/caucus?

    To this day, I can’t think back to that moment in Denver without intense anger when my governor took MY vote and the votes of millions of New Jerseyans who voted overwhelmingly for Clinton and gave them *unanimously* to Obama.  If he thinks my white hot anger over that is going to fade over time, he’s sorely mistaken.  Obama and his droogs thought of only one thing during the primaries: winning the nomination away from Hillary.  Obama is not about changing anything.  He is about maintaining the status quo for the Villagers.  That is what Jon Corzine rewarded with our votes.  Honestly, I have never seen a governor behave so disrespectfully towards his voters in the years I have lived here.  Even Christie Todd Whitman was better than this.  But Corzine is a Goldman Sachs guy so maybe we shouldn’t be surprised as to where is interests were, ie, not with his state’s residents.  Well, I intend to bring this arrogant smack to our face up every time Obama screws our state over in the next 4 years.  And for us, that’s going to start happening pretty soon because many of us work for the financial industry that is shedding jobs like crazy these days.  When the townships start hurting for money that is funded almost exclusively by property taxes on those houses of unemployed MBAs, I’m going to be right there, reminding our Governor that he handed our votes to a guy who took off for Berlin during the summer instead of planninn to do something about the financial market that showed signs of an imminent collapse.  If you want to blame the severity of the upcoming recession on someone, look no further than Jon Corzine.

  • Heidi Li recently attended an event at Baruch College in October called Politics, Pundits and Polls: Election 2008.  I haven’t viewed this video of the event yet but it should be interesting.  Check it out.
  • The New Work Times writes about how difficult it is for consumers to analyze costs versus benefits in this new economic landscape in Failing Home Economics.  The lady with the cauliflower dilemma has her own blog called EconoWhiner with helpful hints, plus tea and sympathy, for surviving the recession.
78 Responses

  1. As a Californian who voted for Hillary my vote disappeared. I made sure my vote in the GE didn’t go down the drain. I, too am still angry.

  2. I don’t even want to discuss what happens to Florida Democratic votes.

  3. The fact that my vote did not count at all, was never to be reflected at the Democratic Convention, and was pretty much swept up along with the rest of the of refuse in the end, is something I can neither comprehend nor accept.

    We basically put our lives on hold during this election and found we did not matter. It is something I can never forgive. We have handed the reigns of our country over to someone in whom we have no faith or trust and the most I can do is wish him and us well since that all I have left to offer.

    Our trust was broken.

  4. you’d never know there was a recession at the starbucks I’m sitting in right now. The place is packed and the counter help is ridiculously cheerful.
    The coffee is good. Nice and warm. Espresso truffle. Grande. I’m splurging fir my birthday.

  5. I wanted Hillary for President. I’m 62 years old and I doubt if I’ll ever see a woman be inaugurated, but I’m starting to think I was wrong about Obama.

  6. Good morning! Is today your birthday RD? Have a very happy one! My birthday is in a week, Dec. 1. Off to follow the links…

  7. Birthday? Riverdaughter — is today your birthday?

  8. Charlie, I don’t think that any of us are wrong about Obama. I never thought that he was stupid. And happy birthday, RD. Mine was Tuesday. Scorpios are special people.

  9. Happy Birthday RD!

    This has been a year we will all remember. Hopefully with time we will remember it for the wisdom and lessons we have learned as opposed to the disappointments. I hope there is more than coffee on your celebration agenda.

  10. Happy birthday RD,

    I’m off to work now, but oddly cheerful after the SoS news.

  11. HAPPY BIRTHDAY RD!!!!!!!!!!!!!!! I hope you are spoiled today.

    If he thinks my white hot anger over that is going to fade over time, he’s sorely mistaken. Obama and his droogs thought of only one thing during the primaries: winning the nomination away from Hillary.

    The other day something came up that reminded me vividly of the RBC meeting. Whenever I think of that day, I experience an instant volcanic rage. I will never forget what they did, deliberately. There is no explanation, justification, or rationalization that help me to “get over it.” We were violated.

  12. Happy Birthday RD from the frozen NC mountains. The thought of the convention charade brought a spike of warmth – my blood is boiling still.

    Have a wonderful day.

  13. Happy Birthday to one of the most prolific writers I have ever had the opportunity to read!!!!

    We insist that you indulge yourself to your heart’s content as this day only comes around once a year!

  14. Happy birthday, Riverdaughter! Hope that espresso truffle is just the first of many treats for you today!

    We here are the people who know too much, I guess. We’ll never forget the avalanche of betrayals that buried our voices and our votes. Those who can just get over it weren’t paying attention or got their “news” from Obamedia. It’s a repeat of 2000, when the msm blatantly selected the candidate. We know how that turned out. :-(

    I’ve been of 2 minds about Hillary and the SOS job; but since it seems to be pretty certain, I will choose to be optimistic about it. We know she will be a constant voice for women’s rights and that as SOS she will be heard.

  15. RD- Today is the anniversary of JFK’s assassination. Was your bday the equivalent of a 9/11 bday is now? Sorry if it is a crazy question, but my 21 year old nephew shares your bday and I always think of JFK on his bday.

  16. honora,

    It has been 45 years since that awful day. At least knowing that RD was born today makes it a little better.

  17. Even if Hillary wanted the SOS job very much, she is smart enough to make leaving the Senate a painful big deal. Don’t get me wrong, I’m sure it is! .She EARNED that US Senate seat and served wonderfully in it . …but these other elected officials that are joining Team Barry, are they making the voters feel like they are torn at least a little bit between the job the voters gave them and Barky ? People don’t like being easily left for the new guy. My Mayor is about to close 11 libraries in the poorer neighborhoods, fire houses and 90% of the pools. I wrote to him suggesting he at least LOOK like these cuts are hurting him.ok?…can the grin already.

    Happy birthday RD!

  18. RD- Sorry, I did mean to wish you the bestest birthday ever.

  19. Feliz cumpleanos!

  20. HAPPY BIRTHDAY RIVERDAUGHTER !!
    If you want I can do your birth chart for you :)
    I need date time and place of birth and you can email it to me swannie2cygnusradio.com.

    In the meantime ..
    While we wait ;) its SATURDAY and that means

    GODDESS RADIO LIVE 10 Am – 1 PM EST
    click here to listen or copy paste this url into your player where it says play url http://audio.cygnusradio.com:8000/cyg1_hi.m3u

    or go right to the Cygnus Radio web site and click the HUGE listen button

    http://www.cygnusradio.com
    and as always everyone is welcome in live chat as well
    This show will have a special dedication to YOU RD for your birthday !!
    eva Cassidy set starts at 10 Am EST
    in the queue
    Allison Crowe
    Ruthie Foster
    The Be Good Tanyas
    Grammy nominees :
    Alice Smith
    Belladonna from Italy
    and more…….. you may not have yet heard !

  21. For those of us who are old enough to remember this day in Dallas, it was the day we lost our innocence as a nation, a day we will never forget.

  22. oops I am in moderation again pesky linkage ….

    I remember Pat I was in high school and weeping openly at my locker

  23. swanspirit: Me too. It was the beginning of the worst weekend in my life. I can still see my mother, grandfather and myself sitting almost motionless in front of the tv those awful 4 days and weeping constantly.

    The hole in our hearts never quite mended.

  24. Mnoha yaleeta, RD.

    I was planning on reversing my daily “Skinny Vanilla Latte @ 140º ” for a luscious Truffle extravaganza one time. Now, today will be the day in solidarity of the celebration of your life.

    Cheers!

  25. I don’t understand how just the thought of Denver can enrage us without being angry with Senator Clinton for her complicity in what happened. I thought then and I think now that she was wrong for not fighting that the votes cast for her were not counted. It isn’t all about “her”, it’s about respecting the wishes of the voters.

    I loathe John Kerry for not fighting for the voters of Ohio in 2004, why should I feel differently about Senator Clinton not fighting for her voters in 2008 in Denver? I say that as a supporter who voted for her. I thought she was wrong for allowing her “voters” to be tossed aside like garbage. That’s not “fighting” for us in my opinion.

    Did she make a “deal” as Marc Rubin suggests over at Tom in Paine? If so then I think it’s despicable.

  26. Even if Obama walks on water, makes the sun rise in the west and turns out to be the most amazing president evah, it doesn’t change the fact that democracy was lost in the primaries and that the woman got the shaft. I’m not forgetting or forgiving.

  27. Happy Birthday, riverdaughter.
    Many happy returns of the day.

  28. kenoshaMarge: Something changed after June 3rd. It may be years before we find out but the direction of the campaign radically turned off course from that point on. We resisted but it may have been in vain.

  29. Hillary is being hit on a number of blog posts with the theme that she lost because she didn’t fight for it.

    The press was against her. The DNC was against her. She still took the popular vote, every major state, the battleground states. Even if she had fought until the end, she would have been so bloodied and hated it would not have been worth it.

    A lot of us were wrong on this blog. I never thought Obama could take Florida. I might be wrong on this too, but I don’t think Hillary had any choice but to do what she did.

  30. As a Massachusetts resident I cannot get over the fact that my state’s senators (they aren’t my senators) did everything they could to suppress and destroy Hillary’s candidacy — after we voted for her in the primary. No forgiveness. I didn’t vote for my rep or state senator, either — they also endorsed O. The only reason I went to the polls was to vote for marijuana decriminalization, which passed, yay! After thirty-nine years I am no longer a closeted criminal, just a miscreant…

  31. Like kenoshaMarge, I have been around long enough to discern when something is not quite right. This “wisdom” would have much better suited me in the past toward decisions I made in my youth but it somehow comes into fruition with time.

  32. tavyprof: Like you I dragged myself to the polls to vote McCain under the possible assumption that an Obama defeat would help pave the way for HRC come 2012. I also cast my vote against the likes of John Kerry and voted to cast against Prop #1.

    I can at least live with my decision if nothing else.

  33. I think Hillary Clinton fought longer and harder than just about anyone else in her position would or certainly did. I hate that in the end, she joined ranks with Barry. But the entire 1% and its media wanted Barry, the compleat Dem party apparatus was against her and the massive vote stealing was solidly in place for both primary and GE.There was no way she would win ….now she’s about to be named SOS . I also dislike how this takes her away from the domestic stage…however the boys in the Senate made it known she would not be allowed to be effective there.

    If by joining team Barry, Hill can help one person, she’ll do it. As SOS or Senator from NY , she can help many people . IMO , for Hillary, it’s always been about what can be done …given all that was against her, it’s amazing what she has done .

  34. The offer of SoS to Hillary has been revealing of the motivations of Obama supporters.

    Many of them are suffering now from a crisis of conscience. They must make up their minds whether their abject love of Obama is greater or less than their primitive hatred of Hillary.

    If it’s the love of Obama that comes out on top, they will manufacture spin saying that Obama’s choice is good because it issues from the Great and Powerful Obama. If it’s their hatred of Hillary that wins the day, then they manufacture spin that Hillary is so eeeevil she should never have been considered, and that this is not the Obama they once knew.

    Many of them don’t know which lie to tell. Poor little lads and lassies.

  35. If you can believe the Obots in some quarters, this choice just goes to prove how “confident” he is in his own skin and that he is patterning his administration along the lines of Lincoln.

    God save me from having to listen to this tripe when the truth remains that this jerk is so over his head that his only saving grace may be to bring back those architects from the Clinton years to determine policy once again. Nothing so far has shown the “stamp” of an original thought coming out of his inflated head.

    If it weren’t so tragic it would be laughable to say the least. Hope and change? Only in the dictionary.

  36. HAPPY BIRTHDAY RIVERDAUGHTER !!
    If you want I can do your birth chart for you
    I need date time and place of birth and you can email it to me swannie2cygnusradio.com.

    In the meantime ..
    While we wait its SATURDAY and that means

    GODDESS RADIO LIVE 10 Am – 1 PM EST
    click here to listen or copy paste this url into your player where it says play url http://audio.cygnusradio.com:8000/cyg1_hi.m3u

    or go right to the Cygnus Radio web site and click the HUGE listen button

    and as always everyone is welcome in live chat as well
    This show will have a special dedication to YOU RD for your birthday !!
    eva Cassidy set starts at 10 Am EST
    in the queue
    Allison Crowe
    Ruthie Foster
    The Be Good Tanyas
    Grammy nominees :
    Alice Smith
    Belladonna from Italy
    and more…….. you may not have yet heard !

  37. Pat, he has not had an original thought his entire career of running for office , what possibility is there of one occurring now?? NIL i say He is weak .. and he will try and take credit for what everyone around him is doing . I expect that , it is what he has done thus far.

  38. I will not get over the fact that democracy was deemed less important than ‘feeling good about our post-racial world’. I think we should stay mad and I hope that primary reform is something we really work to accomplish. Like RD, I will not vote in a presidential primary unless and until I am assured that my vote will count. I also gave a lot of money to Hillary to run in the primary, that contribution was for naught.

    I know that those of you who remember Kennedy’s assassination (I was alive but too little to remember), see that as a changing point in the nation. I have 911 , the Supreme Court decision in Bush v Gore and the RBC meeting as my touchstones. I still hope to fight w/in the DNC for change, but I am not the same political being that I was before.

  39. The press was for George Bush’s war. Even the NYTimes.

    The press wanted Obama. Even the NY Times called the seating of Michigan and Florida the nuclear option.

    Maybe they’ll turn on him. But one thing’s for sure, it will be Hillary’s fault.

  40. ‘feeling good about our post-racial world’

    The irony about this is that the election of Obama is very likely to undercut a lot of arguments for affirmative action. The political argument from the right will now become, How can anyone say that AAs are suffering from serious bias in the marketplace for jobs, given that the majority of Americans chose, in the privacy of the poll booth, to hire an AA for the most powerful position in the country — and an AA who, no less, had demonstrably the thinnest resume in modern political history? What kind of “bias” is that? Are we to believe that all the power in America resides only in the clear minority of actual unregenerate racists in our society? If most Americans are clearly willing to select an AA like Obama for the most important job in the country, why would they not select any AA who they felt would do the best job for their company? What kind of sense would that make?

    Unintended consequences can be a real bitch.

  41. Happy Birthday, riverdaughter! You have provided a sanctuary and a steady voice for me over the last year. Thank you and please have a Starbucks for me!!

  42. Just put myself in moderation because of the “r” word.

    Help! Please save me from my own stupidity!

  43. I felt good when the press was doing its job and taking a close look at Watergate. It brought down a corrupt presidency and showed a 4th estate that was willing to do its job.

    Since 2000 at least the press has gone to ground. Investigative reporting has all but disappeared. Today we have nothing to show but paid shills working for corporate masters and asking nothing more than a well rounded paycheck in the end.

    We will look back at Katherine Graham and Ben Bradlee as the last of those willing to take on the establishment at a risk to their own credibility by placing the interests of the nation at stake.

    Katherine Graham is a woman who should be held in deepest regard for her decision to go forward and let the chips fall where they may. She did a service to the country at that time that has since been eroded to the point that we no longer admire or respect what we are fed on a daily basis by those who should know better.

    Her achievements have been lost to history while we continue to find excuses for the neglect of speaking truth to power. Helen Thomas is another whose principled stand will not be replaced.

  44. frankly0, on November 22nd, 2008 at 10:43 am

    The FISA vote seemed to go down fairly easily for Obots after a stunned 48 hours….but Obots were taught for nearly two years to hate Hill with a burning passion that was only matched by Obot love of Barry. …. and many of them have hated Hillary for a long time already . So how do you reconcile the two thoughts of Barry =God like/ Good. Hill= bad/ girl parts /evil . But Obama is giving Hill an important position in the hopey changy world? Not wonder Obots heads are a popping! Is there that much kool-aid to cover this ? Rarely does the ” I told you so” payoff comes this fast! lol!

  45. I like to pop the plastic bubble stuff too .. the popping heads are like that fun AND satisfying :)

  46. The fact that we were able to recognize this duplicity for what it is means that we will be hearing a lot of “I told you so’s” for the next 4 years.

    Obama got what he wanted. A place in history as the first AA to be sworn in as president. His job is done. The heavy lifting will be left to others while he basks in his own spotlight. At a time when a nation begs for leadership, we have been once again thrust onto the world stage with another “entitled” chooch head who has no clear pattern of the qualities so needed in a time of crisis.

    When the fawning spigot has for once been turned off and a clearer picture begins to emerge, perhaps then, and only then, will the nation awake from its stupor and realize that substance, experience, and qualifications do count for something.

    I am not holding my breath.

  47. I guess Tom Daschle and Hillary Clinton swapped roles. Each went from their own lifelong jobs to the other’s. I really did think Clinton was determined to fight for Health Care even in this resistent climate. I was wrong. She just wanted as powerful of office as she could get. She’s endorsed Obama’s behavior and is now part of the “New Democrats” that I despise.

    The funny part is that people who hated the Clintons are still getting the Clintons and probably just about everyone that the Clintons would have hired! The only difference is that once again, as ever, the figurehead is an airheaded man, not the more competent woman. So nobody is happy, not the Obama voters, and not the folks who hated the notion of a woman playing second fiddle.

    I just want to know, how bad are things going to be under a leaderless vaccuum during this horrible economic time? The media’s attempt to morph Mr. Obama into Roosevelt won’t make it so.

    As I said last night I also want to know how many euphemisms for leaderless vaccuum the media can come up with, while still making Obama look as shiny as possible. Here’s one

    Obama keeps low profile in auto rescue talks

    And speaking of shine, I also want a good source for Shinola. I figure I can give each of my Obama-loving friends a container of it for Christmas, so that next time they vote they’ll know the difference between it and that other thing.

    Meanwhile we should brace ourselves.

    Oh well.

  48. Buon Compleanno Riverdaughter, and many more of them.
    I hope that this will be the year, that you, Darragh, Paola, Lynette, Amy, Lady Lynn, Patsy, Sugar, Heidi, Betty Jean, Hire Heels, Matt, Philip, Pagan Power and so many others will finally enter Politics in a big way.

    I watched that dreadful video of Politics, Pundits and Polls: Election 2008, and listened to all the tripe being talked about Barack’s wonderful use of new technology(another name for credit card scams) and thought about YOUR use and OUR use of it (and the future use to be made of it.)

    I thought of Darragh’s little army of underprivileged women, doing their daily prowls, trying to take on the media and the DNC elites, and tears came to my eyes.

    I do agree with Pat and others- something did happen after June 3rd, and we won’t know what that was for a long time.

  49. Happy Birthday RD .. have a beautiful Day .. !!

    and once again – Thanks for providing this sanctuary .

  50. swanspirit, on November 22nd, 2008 at 11:19 am Said:
    I like to pop the plastic bubble stuff too .. the popping heads are like that fun AND satisfying

    a vid with obots and the sound track of plastic bubble wrap popping every faster, would be hilarious .

    I think many on some level like a POTUS who is a nothing, because they then feel they could easily be POTUS too and without leaving the arm chair, always an important component . /snark

  51. Laurie: So true. Many of us did as requested because we really thought it would make a difference: faxing, phone calling, e-mailing, blogging, pleading with those who held the power to turn this around.

    Instead, all I see are those people who knew differently and are probably still laughing up their sleeves at those of us who believed we had a chance.

    The PUMAs and their leaders, Darragh, Sheri, Heidi Li, and so many others, have nothing to be ashamed of. We all tried. The odds were always against us from the beginning.

  52. John West’s piece is fabulous. Thank you, RD, for bringing it to my attention.

    Meanwhile, here’s a match offer I’ve extended over at PUMA Pac:
    Heidi Li 11.22.08 at 11:06 am

    An idea:
    I was going to donate $50 to Puma Pac – but I will donate $150 if people donate $150 collectively in the next 2 hours (it is 11 am where I am). Post receipts on this thread [AT PUMA PAC} and I will come back and see if the tally hits $150.

    **********
    So, if you have a few bucks, donate to Murphy here: http://pumapac.org/2008/11/22/the-three-musketeers/#comment-244981 and if you are signed up at her blog post the receipt.

  53. Pat Johnson, on November 22nd, 2008 at 11:32 am Said:

    Thank you for your kind words. I want to share something with you all that I KNOW. While PUMAs and The Denver Group were not able to get a truly unrigged convention, I KNOW for certain that The Denver Group’s pre-convention ad campaign played a key role in making sure that a) Senator Clinton’s name was put in nomination and b) she had the opportunity to make her great speech in prime time. I know this from specific reliable sources with connections to the Democratic Party.

    Change – real change, not just the rhetorical kind – happens slowly and incrementally.

    Every person who phoned, faxed, boycotted, donated to The Denver Group, joined the PUMAs etc. did make a difference and one for the better.

    The fight for fairness is going to be long and hard. We have to keep going.

  54. I do not feel bad for not having voted for bush , iam very happy with myself for that…
    and i am equally happy I did not vote for bo ..possibly more so .. I have to live with myself !

  55. Heidi: It is through the efforts of people like you who give us the hope and courage to soldier on. If not for your strength and commitment it is unlikely that a movement of any sort would exist.

    The simple fact that we have to “fight for fairness” says so much about our country and those we have elected to represent us. As long as there are voices like yours and so many others who have registered their disgust and dismay at this travesty, a glimmer of hope remains.

    Perhaps your rolls will be considered as that of the referees who manage to bring that fairness to the playing field. Your actions are much appreciated whether or not you realize that.

  56. Happy birthday, RD!

  57. I will assume that Hillary is making the best decision for where she can accomplish the most good. I believe that there are reasons involved in this decision that we do not know about. Some very nasty threats went down in this election cycle. (I watched, appalled, as one person I respected after another fell in line. I cannot believe so many lack character. I think the threats were of that magnitude.)

    This morning I realize how disgusted and angry I am again with the empty suit and those who supported him. I was pointing out to my Dad last night that we have no leadership. Then today I saw Krugman’s lame duck article. I think it is really up to Obama to show leadership. But, he does not know how. He quit his job already!!!!! He had no plans for doing the next job. He just wanted to BE president. Hillary had a plan for the mortgage crisis a long time ago, among many other things. He never had any.

    Every time he does nothing, his supporters say he is ‘calm’, ‘above the fray’, respectful, etc……… I keep thinking he is just out of it (like Bush reading My Pet Goat)!!

    We’re in a crisis. He wanted to lead. He even had a seal for his new posiiton – The Office of the President Elect!! What does the officeholder of this position do?

    Well, he has to choose a puppy. And visit private schools. The Super Mom cannot be trusted to choose a school?! (Somehow I, as a single/windowed mom, managed to take up such extremely difficult tasks by myself WHILE I supported us. And I am just an ignorant, lazy OWL (old white lady) according to SuperMom and her brilliant husband who are going to make me work and tell me how to be a good person/parent).

  58. Fran, on November 22nd, 2008 at 11:51 am Said:
    “This morning I realize how disgusted and angry I am again with the empty suit and those who supported him. I was pointing out to my Dad last night that we have no leadership. Then today I saw Krugman’s lame duck article. I think it is really up to Obama to show leadership. But, he does not know how.”

    Agreed!

    “Well, he has to choose a puppy. And visit private schools. The Super Mom cannot be trusted to choose a school?! (Somehow I, as a single/windowed mom, managed to take up such extremely difficult tasks by myself WHILE I supported us. And I am just an ignorant, lazy OWL (old white lady) according to SuperMom and her brilliant husband who are going to make me work and tell me how to be a good person/parent).”

    This sort of sarcasm is most welcome.

  59. Thank you. I was somewhat afraid to vent.

  60. btw, I think that the Denver Group and the Pumas made amazing accomplishments – far beyond what people thought possible. It is a fight/struggle that goes on. Things do not happen overnight. The only choice is to keep on going. I learned this from the older people I met along the way, striving for peace and justice. They had been doing for their entire adult lives – and are still doing it.

  61. Happy Birthday to you!

    I’ll never forget how you went off to Denver and did what you did, RD.
    My vote was stolen too. (California).

    Every mistake? I’m going to laugh. Every mag cover I pass? Ditto.
    Rigged. We’ll be seeing a draft next what so you want to bet? You can rub cheety-poos nose in that one, bigtime if it happens.

    & huffypoo & m’dowdy.

    I still have to go get that book, Tipping, but they say it is a quick little read. Have fun!

    It’s going to be four years of a bitter pill, and I have my fingers crossed for Hillary — what a snakepit she’s in. Ugh.
    She will always have her defenders in us though. Even the LAT mentioned how he should pay off her bill, the cheap little…

  62. Fran,
    Thoughtful venting is something I, at least can relate to – and maybe because you were a bit fearful it kept you from going over the top – so I could relate to everything you said. And, humor helps leaven the venting so that one isn’t just spreading raw anger. Although, sometimes we need to do that too, I realize.
    Heidi Li

  63. vbonnaire, on November 22nd, 2008 at 12:03 pm Said:
    I’m with you.

  64. cmon now.. they both bo and mo called HIlary to consult with her right after taking a tour of the White House… mo is moving mom in and bo is choosing Hillary fof SoS …
    They also have chosen the same school that the Clintons chose for Chelsea , along with more than half their previous staff and members of their administration…

    must be something the Clnons did they liked ……..

    where is that bubble wrap with the BIG bubbles ??

    here you go online bubble wrap

    http://www.danpat.fi/janne/flash/kuplamuovi.swf

  65. Hillary wins Texas by 100,000+ votes, but after the caucuses, she loses the delegate count by 4 delegates. Now that’s Democracy in action! If you think Obat heads are exploding, go to the PUMA site. My head exploded last night. I am a Hillary supporter and really do not know what to make out of all this mess. I wish there was a viable third party, I sure as hell would join!

  66. happy birthday ,,river daughter..somehow i knew it..
    a red headed scorpio…lol.
    with the happiest hubby in town….

  67. Jessie Britton, on November 22nd, 2008 at 12:15 pm Said:

    We are going to make there be a viable third party, although it might just be a reformed version of one of the major parties – by which I mean that first we get ourselves organized as a voting bloc, to be courted by both parties – and the Dems need us more, yes they do, which is why Senator Clinton worked so hard on behalf of BO – she is not at a point in life to give up on the Democratic Party and she’s seen all along what trouble the Obama faction was creating.

  68. There’s a lot of constructive healthy anger on this thread. This is good. This is what will help us organize around projects ranging from a Commission on Women to reform of the primary process.

  69. Call me crazy , but I have a very strong feeling Hillary will be leading him around by the nose , and he might not even know it ………….
    He is just that weak

  70. I still find all this sinister. The candidate had no resume and covered his tracks. Mysterious paymasters. The corporate-propaganda press. The one-party State. This was all set in train long ago. Hillary will be helping to establish the New World Order. We will be impoverished. I don’t like any of it one bit.

  71. Regarding the match drive for Puma Pac. To donate go to http://pumapac.org/2008/11/22/the-three-musketeers/#comment-245035

    Heidi Li 11.22.08 at 12:37 pm

    MATCH TALLY UPDATE:
    95 dollars in toward a possible $150 match to Puma Pac, with twenty minutes to go. Got five bucks? Donate to maximize the value of your contribution!
    120

    Heidi Li 11.22.08 at 12:39 pm

    If 5 people donate ten bucks, the match will be met!
    121

    Heidi Li 11.22.08 at 12:40 pm

    Dedicate your 5 dollar donation to the person who brings you or has brought the most joy in your life – and tell us who that person is…

  72. ALICE SMITH
    FAKE IS THE NEW REAL

    Full speed ahead
    Rock n Roll is dead
    The girls and boys from the mickey mouse club clocked it in the head
    TV makes people so tired
    Bored like a bird on a wire
    I check the pulse and I light a match then i set the tele on, i set the tele on fire

    Tell me what’s the deal
    Tell me what’s the deal
    Cause it really seems to me
    Bonafide is the old deal
    Fake is the new real

    Take a bite out of crime
    As long as it’s not on your dime
    If honesty can put you in jail you know that we’re living in fony times
    You say you wanna get turned on

    You visit fuck me hard dot com
    You take a moment and kick yourself then you drop yourself, you drop yourself a bomb

    Tell me what’s the deal
    Tell me what’s the deal
    Cause it really seems to me
    Bonafide is the old deal
    Fake is the new real

    Tell me what’s the deal
    Tell me what’s the deal
    Cause it really seems to me
    Bonafide is the old deal
    Fake is the new real

    posted these before just seems appropriate for the “president select “

  73. Heidi – I donated $10 just under the wire. (Not signed in to comment on Pumapac.)

  74. Heidi Li,

    Hi, YOU ROCK! Donated $50.00 to celebrate RD’s birthday. RD, have a super day and give the world that big smile of yours.

  75. The only difference is that once again, as ever, the figurehead is an airheaded man, not the more competent woman.

    …and that’s what I will never forget.

  76. Re: Hillary–should read Marc Rubin and Cannonfire on the SoS subject. Different and both interesting.

  77. Happy Birthday, RD! Many more to you.

  78. “To this day, I can’t think back to that moment in Denver without intense anger when my governor took MY vote and the votes of millions of New Jerseyans who voted overwhelmingly for Clinton and gave them *unanimously* to Obama. If he thinks my white hot anger over that is going to fade over time, he’s sorely mistaken”

    Well said – from one Jersey to another

Comments are closed.

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 415 other followers

