Le Sigh

Basel, Switzerland

Just got an email about a user group meeting for an application that I used to use regularly.  The meeting is in Switzerland and the agenda looks really good, including some things that I haven’t tried out yet. As I mentioned before, more and more of these kinds of meetings are now being held in Europe.  I suspect Pharmageddon had something to do with that.  The research groups in the US who used to attend these meetings stateside are either non-existent, have cut back severely on meetings or simply can’t afford it anymore.  Europe is where the money is for the software licenses so that’s where the meetings are these days.

For three days in Switzerland in September, I would sacrifice my comfort and fly coach. Alas, I am le poor American.

Maybe I could stowaway in a SwissAir wheel well and forage…

I know, I know, it sounds like a first world problem- until you think about it for awhile.

2 Responses

  1. Scientific conferences and workshops are also being cancelled because of the sequester. See this for example: http://nasawatch.com/archives/2013/04/more-meetings-c-1.html

Comments are closed.

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 413 other followers

