• Tips gratefully accepted here. Thanks!:

  • Recent Comments

    katiebird on Serial: I think I figured it…
    katiebird on Serial: I think I figured it…
    katiebird on Serial: I think I figured it…
    strangelybrown on Serial: I think I figured it…
    riverdaughter on Serial: I think I figured it…
    elliesmom on Serial: I think I figured it…
    katiebird on All Roads Lead to Jay
    riverdaughter on All Roads Lead to Jay
    katiebird on All Roads Lead to Jay
    katiebird on All Roads Lead to Jay
    katiebird on Getting a jump on Serial,
    riverdaughter on Getting a jump on Serial,
    katiebird on Getting a jump on Serial,
    katiebird on Getting a jump on Serial,
    riverdaughter on Getting a jump on Serial,
  • Categories


  • Tags

    abortion Add new tag Afghanistan Al Franken Anglachel Atrios bankers Barack Obama big pharma Bill Clinton Chris Christie cocktails Conflucians Say Dailykos Democratic Party Democrats Digby DNC Donna Brazile Economy Elizabeth Warren feminism Florida Fox News General Glenn Beck Glenn Greenwald Goldman Sachs health care Health Care Reform Hillary Clinton Howard Dean Joe Biden John Edwards John McCain Jon Corzine Karl Rove Keith Olbermann Matt Taibbi Media medicare Michelle Obama Michigan misogyny Mitt Romney Morning Edition Morning News Links Nancy Pelosi New Jersey news NO WE WON'T Obama Obamacare occupy wall street OccupyWallStreet Open thread Paul Krugman Politics Presidential Election 2008 PUMA racism Republicans Sarah Palin sexism Single Payer snark Social Security Supreme Court Terry Gross Texas Tim Geithner unemployment Wall Street WikiLeaks women
  • Archives

  • History

    November 2012
    S M T W T F S
    « Oct   Dec »
     123
    45678910
    11121314151617
    18192021222324
    252627282930  
  • RSS Paul Krugman: Conscience of a Liberal

  • The Confluence

    The Confluence

  • RSS Suburban Guerrilla

    • Of course it was a policy
      Real shocker, right? We might be out of this mess by now if they’d thrown these people in jail: U.S. government protection of big banks is a policy the Obama administration has adamantly denied, but during a Senate Banking Committee hearing on Friday, William Dudley, president of the Federal Reserve Bank of New York, candidly […]
  • RSS Ian Welsh

    • A word on Abenomics, QE and doing Stimulus right
      Quantitative Easing, to put it simply, no matter what form you do it in, is only marginally effective. Most of the money goes to the rich, you may or may not get a technical win in GDP, and in many cases the money may flow out of the country. If you want to improve the [...]
  • Top Posts

Things that drive me crazy

In no particular order:

1.) An unchargeable iPhone.  Yep, completely unchargeable.  Thanks for the helpful suggestions you are about to give me.  Be assured that I tried ALL of them (as confirmed by the apple store genius).  Still no charge.

2a.) Having to go to the mall on Black Friday to visit the genius bar at the apple store to diagnose problem with dead iPhone.  It was a logic board problem. (I know what some of you are thinking.  Don’t go there.)  They gave me a “new” iPhone.  It charges.  I am happy.  But still don’t like to go to the mall on Black Friday.

2b) Predatory parking at the mall on Black Friday.  Aggressively blocking other cars from snatching the parking spot you have been hunting for 20 minutes.  Realizing that population density and forced competition for resources in New Jersey have changed one’s personality and not for the better.

2c) Having the reception person at the apple store tell me that it is really inconvenient to have a broken iPhone on Black Friday.  No shit, Sherlock.

3.) The “check oil” light indicator on the dashboard.  No, there are no oil stains on the driveway.  I don’t know where the oil is going.  It’s just going.  I am most seriously displeased.

4.) The companies that will not give you a quote for materials and have no prices for their products on their websites.  When you “chat” with a representative, the *first* thing they want to know is your name, email and address, “In case we get disconnected”. uh-huh.  It couldn’t be to run a credit check and on the spot market research to see how much money can be extracted from the prospective customer, right?  The thing I have noticed about NJ contractors is that they have a dollar figure in mind. YOU may only want to know how much a door costs.  THEY want to get $3000 out of you.  The door may cost $989.95 but they are going to charge you $3000 for it.  The extra $2000 is for the labor.  Oh, sure, it won’t take more than 2 guys more than 4 hours but you will still have to pay $2000 for the labor.  That’s just the way it is.  Be forewarned, those of you who are being forced to move to New Jersey.

Is anyone else seeing something similar to this?  You can’t get an absolute price for your new AC unit, sliding patio door or any other item you need to get a quote for?  The contractor won’t break down the price for you into materials and labor?  Why isn’t there a law for this?  It seems to me that prices are disappearing rapidly and there’s no way to know if you are paying what your neighbor paid or whether you are getting first class or economy goods and services.

5.) Rand Paul.

6.) People who like Rand Paul and Libertarians in general.

9 Responses

  1. I have heard this from my sister in Long Island too (about prices) … I am sorry about the iPhone. What did the Genius think you were supposed to DO without a phone this weekend? You would think a Genius would get it that you would need a replacement!!!

    • I don’t really have a complaint about the apple store. But they were jam packed. I mean, there should have been a fire marshall. They guy was just being honest. I had a genius bar appointment for today but since the iphone is my only phone and I had already been out of commission for a day, I was in a bit of a tizzy. So the reception guy was like, “not a good day to get to see the genius. It’s black friday”, like I couldn’t see that already.
      What does your sister say about contractors? Is she getting the same shit about no breakdown of labor and materials? I’m having an email exchange from one of them and he’s still being elusive about the cost of the door although he says it will cost me $650 less if I install it myself. That means the door is $2300. Let’s just say I’m skeptical because a door that price means that it will not fit the townhouse’s relentlessly rigid standards for aesthetics. It must be a particular kind of door of a particular color and the only ones that come like that are not $2300.

    • OMG, I have been going back and forth with the patio door person in an email and he is an amazing asshole of gigantic Fox News proportions. I wouldn’t buy a guaranteed miracle from him if my life depended on it.
      I might publish the emails though. They’re wildly entertaining.

  2. About that “check oil” light: I had a car (a Mazda, if I remember right) where I took it to a garage for that. The fellow hooked it up, punched up some code which reset the oxygen sensor, and $90 later I drove away. I never went back there again.

    I talked to an honest mechanic about it a couple of years later and he said that the best thing to do about it was to put some black electrical tape over the indicator light on the dashboard. Ymmv, of course.

    • Normally, I would agree with you that the oil sensor thingie is flaky since it seems to come on when I am idling and not when I am on the highway.
      Unfortunately, I have also noticed that it goes off altogether when I add oil.

  3. If you have to add oil frequently it could be as simple(?) as a leaking oil pressure switch or as bad as a rear crankshaft seal. But then you would get oil drop marks. Look at the tail pipe for a sooty residue that indicates it’s burning oil … piston rings and or head gasket.

    If none of the above apply, depending on the amount of mileage I’d up the oil weight (viscosity) from let’s say a 5W-30 to a 10w-30. When I have to run 20W-50 I sell the car.

  4. One of the nicest, most generous people I know is a libertarian who has kept a huge Ron Paul sign in her window for years. She’s an engineer and couldn’t care less about legal pot. It really messed with my mind when I found out that this sweet, hard-working woman that I met on a church mission trip had actually ordered a t-shirt from the Glenn Beck website.

    I hate Rand Paul. I hate everything he says and does and I hate that funky mat of pincurls on the top of his head.

  5. ” . . . the check-oil light” . . . hmm. . .

    When I was a child, our car didn’t have indicator lights. It had moving needle gauges. One could “see” just how “high” or “low” the oil was.
    I hate the switch from “gauges” to “indicator lights”. After all this time, I still hate that in principle.

Comments are closed.

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 471 other followers

