Lovely stuff

I am not a domestic goddess.  Go ahead and ask anyone who knows me.  But even I can learn how to do stuff.  Yes, I can be taught.

Lately, I’ve been watching the “Arrange Your Own” videos from the flower subscription service HBloom.  A flower subscription will send you a pre-arranged bouquet of flowers or a variety of seasonal flowers that you can arrange for yourself.  But if you are not Martha Stewart, how the heck do you do it?  With HBloom’s Arrange Your Own videos, you can learn what you need to do to make a nice bouquet.  And once you learn the tricks, using greenery as a structural element and all the weird things you can do with aspidistra leaves, you will start seeing all kinds of potential bouquets around you.

I bought some posies today with some seeded eucalyptus and on the way home saw a whole lotta free flowers in vacant lots.  So, I scooped some up and brought them home and made some arrangements.  I am not a professional but I like the way they turned out.  It’s very soothing and it’s amazing how quickly you will get used to ripping leaves off of stems.  Too much fun.  It’s not a high stakes activity.  Just relaxing with a lovely payoff.

So, to inspire you to try this yourself at home, here’s Hannah from HBloom with a how-to:

and Hazel using some roadside flowers in her arrangement:

13 Responses

  1. Thanks! I am horrible about flowers – just stick them in a vase hope it comes out OK.

  2. RD, you are better than the teacher because your arrangement is more beautiful

  3. Girl, that’s lovely.

  4. Beautiful! I love flowers but have always been intimidated by the arrangement part.

    • It’s not difficult

    • The secret is greenery. That’s what I learned from HBloom videos. With the greenery, you create the structure of the arrangement and either use them to form a matrix or a prop for the rest of the flowers.
      Trust me, I sucked at making arrangements before I saw these videos and I’m still no pro but when I came home yesterday with those big armfuls of flowers, I started ripping the extra leaves off of the stems and placing them easily. It seemed like second nature. And I really like the way they came out. I have four vases filled with a combination of bought and picked flowers. The eucalyptus smells wonderful.

      • Hugs you. I have done that all my life out here? When the wildflowers come up. You never know RD. You never know. One of my male friends? He was a florist after changing jobs. He actually learned Ikebana from a teacher — and worked at a very prominent place here? NJ and NY are prolly full of big flowers, and big bucks.

        • ps: those tall glass cylinders? are about 5 bucks at Ross — last year I did paperwhites in glass, with stones and water — they were lovely at Christmastime. I used to like early Martha, in 89 or so. She taught me some things, not that I follow…totally…xxoo!

  5. RD, your talents are endless!!

    • Um, this wasn’t that hard. That’s my point. You don’t need to be Martha Stewart. You just need someone to show you how to do it.

  6. Someone in a plant-supply store once told me that if you pour a little sprite into the flower vase-water, the flowers placed in it will last longer than otherwise. I have never tried it so I don’t know . . . . but that’s what I have been told.

  7. Many years ago when I realized there must be more to life then waiting to see how long it took the ants to find the chips on the floor, I happened to see and buy a book about beautiful living by Alexandra Stoddard. I don’t know if it is “good” or not, but here is the relevant website so people can decide for themselves. At least I stopped letting chips stay where they fell to see how long before the ants found them.
    http://www.alexandrastoddard.com/book.asp?ID=19

  8. Brava and odd you should have this, because RD? I’m going in that biz. Is looking at a house on your side of the world on an acre. I’m so in love with the little house. It’s a saltbox colonial that needs a restoration (dates from 1871). My house is getting sold. Keep your fingers crossed. I’m going to grow those. I know how. Nice bouquet.

Comments are closed.

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 414 other followers

