• Tips gratefully accepted here. Thanks!:

  • Recent Comments

    r u reddy on I smell a (plague) rat
    r u reddy on I smell a (plague) rat
    Partition Functions on I smell a (plague) rat
    riverdaughter on Ghost Stories
    riverdaughter on I smell a (plague) rat
    alibe50 on Ghost Stories
    riverdaughter on I smell a (plague) rat
    r u reddy on I smell a (plague) rat
    riverdaughter on Ghost Stories
    katiebird on Ghost Stories
    riverdaughter on I smell a (plague) rat
    r u reddy on I smell a (plague) rat
    riverdaughter on I smell a (plague) rat
    riverdaughter on I smell a (plague) rat
    r u reddy on I smell a (plague) rat
  • Categories


  • Tags

    abortion Add new tag Afghanistan Al Franken Anglachel Atrios bankers Barack Obama big pharma Bill Clinton Chris Christie cocktails Conflucians Say Dailykos Democratic Party Democrats Digby DNC Donna Brazile Economy Elizabeth Warren feminism Florida Fox News General Glenn Beck Glenn Greenwald Goldman Sachs health care Health Care Reform Hillary Clinton Howard Dean Joe Biden John Edwards John McCain Jon Corzine Karl Rove Keith Olbermann Matt Taibbi Media medicare Michelle Obama Michigan misogyny Mitt Romney Morning Edition Morning News Links Nancy Pelosi New Jersey news NO WE WON'T Obama Obamacare occupy wall street OccupyWallStreet Open thread Paul Krugman Politics Presidential Election 2008 PUMA racism Republicans Sarah Palin sexism Single Payer snark Social Security Supreme Court Terry Gross Texas Tim Geithner unemployment Wall Street WikiLeaks women
  • Archives

  • History

    September 2012
    S M T W T F S
    « Aug   Oct »
     1
    2345678
    9101112131415
    16171819202122
    23242526272829
    30  
  • RSS Paul Krugman: Conscience of a Liberal

    • An error has occurred; the feed is probably down. Try again later.
  • The Confluence

    The Confluence

  • RSS Suburban Guerrilla

  • RSS Ian Welsh

    • What Toronto’s Election Means for Progressive Viability
      As many have heard, John Tory, the mainstream right wing candidate, won convincingly in Toronto and Olivia Chow came in third place, even doing worse than Doug Ford (brother of the famous crack-smoking Rob Ford.)  Much hand wringing has ensued that progressive just can’t win elections in Toronto. While it’s true that Toronto is hard [...]
  • Top Posts

The problem with pharma in 5 whys (plus unrelated complaining)

It’s pretty much the same problem we have with the financial sector, the auto industry, political consultants, marketing…

Actually, this scenario already feels anachronistic for some reason.

*****************************
When did lawyers decide to become arrogant assholes? I’ve had to consult a couple lately and they all have a tendency to talk down to you, cut you off in the middle of a sentence when they jump to the wrong conclusion and generally act like you’re taking up their precious time.

Is it just New Jersey or did they all decide to become insufferable pricks at the same time?
*****************************
About iPhone maps that atrios wrote about this morning: I have an iphone. It’s my only phone. I am rarely separated from it. When I’m in the car, I use my TomTom to navigate but when I’m in the city, I use my iPhone to figure out where the nearest metro station is and to locate restaurants and other businesses. So, when I heard that apple was replacing the google maps app with its own mapping app, I was initially optimistic that it would be as good or better.

As it turns out, it’s not. That’s too bad. I was really looking forward to the transit information being on the new app. Apple says it will be eventually as more transit systems add their data.

But just because we’ve grown used to looking stuff up on our iPhones doesn’t mean that we’re incapable of using a schedule. My grandfather was a bus driver and even he made me learn the hard way how to navigate the PAT system in Pittsburgh. You just gotta do it and figure it out as you go along.

Nevertheless, taking the transit and business information out of the app is a giant step backwards. Sure, you can still figure stuff out the hard way by sitting for an hour for the next bus when you might have just walked or called a cab or another ride. But when the information is out there and isn’t incorporated, well, it’s just a missed opportunity to get more people to take mass transit.

Somehow, I don’t think Steve would approve. The app isn’t ready for release yet and I don’t care how many times the phone bugs me, I’m not updating to the new version until I hear that apple is taking the issue seriously.

12 Responses

  1. I suppose there are lawyers who aren’t pricks. But, it’s been a required course at Law Schools for many years.

    • I’m seriously considering switching lawyers. I don’t like it when men talk to me like I’m an idiot when they haven’t even let me finish my sentence.

      • You absolutely should find another lawyer — I’m sure he has plenty of competition. We’re treated that way too often in situations where we don’t have control. When we have ALL the control, we shouldn’t tolerate it.

      • Sounds like you have a Grade-A mansplainer. I’m sure there is a respectful, competent woman in the area who can mind your affairs.

      • It isn’t just male lawyers. I had a female attorney pull that behavior on me when I was trying to determine if I had a legitimate case against my former employer. I wasn’t experienced enough to recognize that I needed find another attorney immediately. Instead, I wasted my opportunity trying to get her to do something on my behalf.

        To this day, I wonder if she had worked some kind of deal with my former employer, a large private university that dominates Winston-Salem, to sabotage people like me who need help against the powerful. She never billed me for her hours; perhaps she felt double-dipping was tacky.

  2. I don’t take the bus anyway. In Cleveland we have a really crappy RTA system and you get a lot of shady characters that ride those mother f*ckers. You gotta look like you’re crazy as hell and wear plastic bags and mumble to yourself if you’re gonna ride the bus around here, that way no one will bother you.
    I miss my iphone. Tragically, it was stolen from me at work a month or two ago.

    • Damn! that sucks. I just saw a report tonight that says that iPhone/ipad theft is on the rise in NYC. It’s an epidemic. I don’t know if turning on “find my iPhone” is helpful since you don’t exactly want to confront the people who stole it and the police are unlikely to get involved.
      I know there are crazy people on buses. But I’m going to try to use them anyway.

      • Well, my lil’ toyota corrolla (her name is baby mama) gets great gas mileage so my conscious is clear at the moment. I’m pretty sure the person who stole my phone is a prostitute and a drug addict. She got fired before I could even confront her about it anyway. She also stole my really nice hoody, which I am also pretty steamed about.

      • Too bad there’s not a “stink bomb my Iphone” feature whereby if the Iphone was stolen you could push a button which would instruct the Iphone to “release the putricine or butyric acid” or whatever suitable stench agent the Iphone was armed with.

  3. Looks lika Apple ts taking it seriously:

    This morming:
    Apple – A letter from [CEO]Tim Cook on Maps

    To our customers,

    “At Apple, we strive to make world-class products that deliver the best experience possible to our customers. With the launch of our new Maps last week, we fell short on this commitment. We are extremely sorry for the frustration this has caused our customers and we are doing everything we can to make Maps better…”

    More:

    http://www.apple.com/letter-from-tim-cook-on-maps/

Comments are closed.

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 468 other followers

