• Tips gratefully accepted here. Thanks!:

  • Recent Comments

    katiebird on Scary things 2014
    Sweet Sue on Scary things 2014
    katiebird on Scary things 2014
    bigolpuma on Scary things 2014
    bigolpuma on Scary things 2014
    riverdaughter on Scary things 2014
    Sweet Sue on Scary things 2014
    riverdaughter on Scary things 2014
    S. Wright on Scary things 2014
    r u reddy on I smell a (plague) rat
    r u reddy on I smell a (plague) rat
    Partition Functions on I smell a (plague) rat
    riverdaughter on Ghost Stories
    riverdaughter on I smell a (plague) rat
    alibe50 on Ghost Stories
  • Categories


  • Tags

    abortion Add new tag Afghanistan Al Franken Anglachel Atrios bankers Barack Obama big pharma Bill Clinton Chris Christie cocktails Conflucians Say Dailykos Democratic Party Democrats Digby DNC Donna Brazile Economy Elizabeth Warren feminism Florida Fox News General Glenn Beck Glenn Greenwald Goldman Sachs health care Health Care Reform Hillary Clinton Howard Dean Joe Biden John Edwards John McCain Jon Corzine Karl Rove Keith Olbermann Matt Taibbi Media medicare Michelle Obama Michigan misogyny Mitt Romney Morning Edition Morning News Links Nancy Pelosi New Jersey news NO WE WON'T Obama Obamacare occupy wall street OccupyWallStreet Open thread Paul Krugman Politics Presidential Election 2008 PUMA racism Republicans Sarah Palin sexism Single Payer snark Social Security Supreme Court Terry Gross Texas Tim Geithner unemployment Wall Street WikiLeaks women
  • Archives

  • History

    September 2012
    S M T W T F S
    « Aug   Oct »
     1
    2345678
    9101112131415
    16171819202122
    23242526272829
    30  
  • RSS Paul Krugman: Conscience of a Liberal

    • An error has occurred; the feed is probably down. Try again later.
  • The Confluence

    The Confluence

  • RSS Suburban Guerrilla

  • RSS Ian Welsh

    • What Toronto’s Election Means for Progressive Viability
      As many have heard, John Tory, the mainstream right wing candidate, won convincingly in Toronto and Olivia Chow came in third place, even doing worse than Doug Ford (brother of the famous crack-smoking Rob Ford.)  Much hand wringing has ensued that progressive just can’t win elections in Toronto. While it’s true that Toronto is hard [...]
  • Top Posts

Happy Labor Day to those of you who still have jobs!

Since I cut the cord, I have been blissfully unaware of all the meme pushing out there.  Lambert says there has been quite a stir on the Democratic side over the Clint Eastwood speech at the RNC.  A couple of days ago, I checked out the youtube video of it but couldn’t get past the first few minutes.  But it wasn’t because he sounded incoherent.

It was because I was so touched that Clint Eastwood remembered the unemployed that I didn’t want to see the rest of it where he might have gone completely off the rails.

Remember when Ross Perot went on and on about the deficit being the crazy aunt in the attic or wherever?    Well, he always was one sandwich short of a picnic.  Nowadays, all you hear about is the deficit.  One party is going to gouge us.  One party is going to gouge us and ask for a token sacrifice from the bonus class.

No one is talking about unemployment except everybody I know.  Because everybody I know has been laid off, got a new job, got laid off again, is about to get laid off, is retraining before they get laid off.  Layoff is inevitable.  It’s a fact of life now.

Just because an old semi-conservative Hollywood star talks about unemployment in front of a bunch of heartless, mean spirited rich people doesn’t mean that his criticism of Obama and the Democrats is incorrect.  As Karl Rove said recently, you don’t have to get personal.  The truth is the best thing the Republicans have going for them.  They might have caused the crisis to begin with but they weren’t in charge when the decision was made to ignore the unemployed so the bankers wouldn’t feel inconvenienced.  Don’t get me wrong, that’s something the Republicans would definitely do but voters never expected that kind of behavior from Democrats.

All I want to hear from the Democrats in Charlotte is how they are going to deal with Unemployment.  I don’t want to hear about the deficit or “entitlements”, i.e. those benefits we PREPAID, or any other stupid thing the bonus class would like to use to commandeer our attention.  I don’t want to hear about how this has been “played”, or the style, or the inside baseball, horseracey, competition.

Unemployment is not a competition.

Fortunately for me, I don’t have to watch crappy cable news coverage of things that are of no importance to me.  But I will be periodically perusing the videos coming out of the convention.  You’d better not let us unemployed people down because we may not have money anymore but we do have votes and there are a lot of us out here in the suburbs where four years ago you thought you had us in the bag.

Time to rewrite those speeches, Democrats.

*****************************************

I hate Facebook.  Just thought I’d throw that out there.

I thought I was the only one who hated Facebook.  It’s not like I don’t want to be social. It’s just that I don’t like the interface or any of the stupid things people have to do in order to remain relevant.  I have an account but I NEVER use it except if I have to sign into the damn thing in order to get registered for a sweepstakes at my favorite design blogs.  If I had bothered to accept all the friend invitations I received since 2008, I’d look like one of the most popular people on Facebook.  We hit 58,000+ unique hits here at  The Confluence on one day in 2008.  Everybody wanted to be my friend (I don’t take this as an indication of the attractiveness of my many wonderful qualities or charisma.  As if. It’s just what people do, they “friend” you when you hit their radar).  And I’m sure that most of you are very lovely people…

But I hate Facebook.  Yep, I just hate it.  I’m right up there with George Clooney’s hatred of Facebook when he said “he would rather have a prostate exam on live television by a guy with very cold hands than have a Facebook page”.  Fortunately, I don’t have a prostate but I know the feeling.  Er, not of cold hands in my rectum.  Wait, that didn’t come out right.  Well, anyway, you know what I mean.  I don’t want to get into too many examples and extended metaphors.  Let’s just say that Facebook requires me to use my brain in ways that I find unnatural.  As a person whose former profession involved quite a bit of learning new interfaces, Facebook is non-intuitive to me and besides, why?  Just… why?  I don’t understand what is the big draw?  Don’t people get enough of my trivialities and whining here?  And I’m not interested in your trivialities and whining anymore than you’re interested in mine.  Post a blog and I’ll read it.  I want to hear your thoughts and the way you’re figuring things out in writing, your internal monologue.  That’s interesting.  That you’re eating breakfast?  Not interesting.

So, on the final day of the summer season, but not the season of summer, I’m stepping away from all the tech for awhile so I can do other stuff.  Maybe go outside, go shopping for the kid’s school supplies, see a movie, finish cleaning my basement, you know, useful things.  Don’t look for me on Facebook.

15 Responses

  1. You and Joe Cannon. Facebook as a CIA data mining operation.

    • Celebrate the end of summer holiday while we still have it. Knowing republicans it will be the third thing cancelled right after Social Security and Medicare.

    • Oh, I’m sure it’s a data mining operation but the CIA is not the only customer. Noooo doubt about it, Facebook is the motherlode of descriptors. You’re being mined, baby.
      But that’s not why I object to it. I just don’t like it for aesthetic and functional reasons. As interfaces go, it’s a fricking kludge and I don’t see the point, actually.

  2. RD, see you when you come back. I hope you feel like posting sooner than you think. I like reading your blog. I have no doubt that things always work out. When people are unemployed or underemployed nobody wins, so corporations and politicians will have to fix the broken economy.

  3. Btw, I agree with your views on Facebook.

  4. The point Rachel and the kids miss was this: Everybody in the hall and who were listening on Fox, where the networks’ coverage didn’t count a bit, “heard” the WORD that Clint DIDN’T say but Dirty Harry did. It was “punk.” The Old Man, who is respected by the accomplished in the business, basically called the guy a punk, ’cause that’s what he is. He’s disrespectful, dismissive, no gentleman and would or should have been corrected by his grand daddy for his freshness each and every time he gets up in front of a crowd of bots on the trail and speaks disrespectfully of the elders. He uses the word “folks” like a poor ignoramus and feigns a country boy down-to-earth while he arrives on the scene armed to the teeth, surrounded by mercenaries who – as Secret Service Agents – are of questionable character themselves, and whines when the gun-toters in states where carrying is legal, do so. Simply put, the cagey old man and his ilk wonder, Do You Feel Lucky, Punk? Well, DO ya?

    • He uses the word “folks”

      If he didn’t use the word “folks”, he’d have to use the word Americans, and that doesn’t suit him. And it’s not because I believe like the Republicans that he’s anti-American, because I think it’s his way to sound more Black. The way I see it, Blacks aren’t totally convinced that he’s worth their vote. The only they vote for Obama is because of the color of his skin, not because his policies helped them get jobs or provided more opportunities for their future.

      • Correction: The only reason they vote for Obama is because the color of his skin, not because…

  5. Yup. Both Bill and Hillary got screwed. Of course, the quote is taken out of context, but sometimes the truth lies right beneath the surface.

    “Obama can’t say what Bill Clinton can, which is ‘I got screwed”

    • I forgot to mention that the quote is from the excerpt of Cannofire’s blog on the side bar of this website.

  6. I like Facebook. I have reconnected with people I haven’t had contact with in decades. I also think it’s fun to keep up with my former students, It is true that some people post trivial stuff, but, from the people I see on my news feed, ifyou constantly post stupid stuff, somebody will jump you about wasting everyone’s time. I also subscribe to science & political feeds which often generate highly readable items, nothing I couldn’t find by using Teh Google, of course, but still convenient. I don’t find getting my data mined troubling, other than increasing spam.

    • I’m not paranoid. I believe that there are no secrets in this world, so the mining of Facebook is an annoying issue. I guess I like being left alone by corporations and politicians. I’m not against getting in contact with old acquaintances, but when I look deeply into why I lost the connections is because I or the other side didn’t care enough to stay in touch. I have no use for Facebook.

  7. Enjoy your respite. And don’t hold your breath expecting much from the Democrats in Charlotte. Oh, the President will trot out to the podium in smiles and he’ll talk about the middle class. He’ll use the focus group-tested buzzwords to excite everyone, and he’ll do his best to ensure the faithful are pumped heading into the election.

    But those of us who have been following this closely for the past four years know what’s up. Policies will be pursued that will reduce wages and salaries, unemployment will remain high, unpayable debts will remain on the books so the mafiosi banks get their cut. And inequality will worsen. At the top of the ticket, we’ll get treated to a generous helping of cheap slogans ( ” winning the future ” ) as we descend- slowly- if the Democrats have their way – into Third World status.

    I have a feeling you’ll be posting sooner than you think, riverdaughter. Happy Labor Day and good luck to everyone here.

  8. I have gotten to the point where I hate facebook because it has gotten so political. Today I had had enough and went and removed all these people posting political stuff that was going into my news feed. I mean one chick was posting aborted fetuses and screaming about how you had to vote for Romney.

    What most of these idiots seem to not know is that we are royally screwed no matter who wins in November.

    • I’m worried that some of my personal friends who just don’t happen to think about politics EVERY second of the say will get pissed at me. So, I put them in a group that doesn’t see all my stuff — just until the election is over. I can’t seem to stop myself. well. No aborted fetuses though. There IS that.

Comments are closed.

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 467 other followers

