The Occupy Handbook: The Great Recession

This econ dude from Princeton, his econ wife and some other people (including Matt Taibbi), wrote an economic field guide called The Occupy Handbook for the Occupy Movement and published it.  Salon has posted the first chapter called Economy Killers: Inequality and GOP Ignorance.  Go check it out.

The official publication date is tomorrow, April 17.  That it’s also Tax Day is probably no coincidence. I love stuff like this so I’ll spend a bit of my vanishing budget to by a Kindle edition.  My question is, will this book be read by the average Joe Bag O’Donuts?  Aren’t the writers preaching to the choir when they excerpt to Salon?  Does this book have the capacity to cut through the media filter to reach a broader audience?  Let’s hope so.

2 Responses

  1. RD, excellent recommendation and I probably wouldn’t have found it had you not pointed it out. Thanks.

    As for cutting through the clutter and getting to Joe and Jane Bag O’Donuts, I doubt it. The siloization of society is so prevalent that the opening to break through is just a smidgen smaller than the synaptic divide in a gnat’s brain.

    Perhaps the authors do this in the following chapters, but something that has been largely ignored in all the economic characterizations is the fact that beginning with Reagan, the tax code has been systematically amended to reward consolidation, M&A, decoupling growth from debt, and rewarding debt over employment. If they haven’t included it, there’s a book in it for someone.

    Thanks again for ferreting this out and bringing the issue some much needed attention.

    • I’m glad you mentioned M&A. It reminds me that I need to write another post on Karen Ho’s book.
      Yeah, I think this book will be a great addition. I only worry that it will not reach the USA Today crowd which needs a little more predigested pizazz. People just don’t have time to do this kind of reading or research.

Comments are closed.

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 471 other followers

