Finnish Humor

I’m beginning to really like the Finns.  They seem to have a twisted sense of humor from the Porkka Playboys who play Bohemian Rhapsody in an old Volkswagon in the middle of a meadow to the Helsinki Complaint Choir to the Finnair crew who do a Bollywood musical number in the aisles of a plane.

Since I cut the cord on satellite, I’ve been surfing youtube for interesting things to watch and I haven’t been disappointed.  My latest discovery is a Finnish series with an ensemble cast called The People’s Party, which has problems that seem eerily familiar, like a tendency to wordsmithing.  The People’s Party is a group that meets every Friday to formulate a response to the ruling party’s latest moves.

This episode is called Forcing People.  If you like it, there (were) a ton of episodes online.  Enjoy!:

5 Responses

  1. lite brie, not a good idea.

  2. No sattelite or cable, get Netflix if you want to watch TV programs.

    • I have netflix. Sometimes, I want something different.

      • Good to cut the cord with cable. Don’t give the rentiers rents!

        • I don’t even miss it. Yet. I think I’m going to start missing it when season 2 of Game of Thrones starts and when Mad Men comes back. Mad Men I can buy through iTunes, but I’m not so sure about GoT. My secret wish is that just before he died, Steve Jobs worked out a deal with all of the premium channel providers I actually like to watch so I can get all the good stuff on cable without paying for all of the dross. What would the country be like if we didn’t have to pay to fill up ordinary people’s minds with reality tv and endless Nostradamus documentaries on the History channel? What if that shit all went away because no one was paying for it anymore? That is my dream.
          To dreeeeeeam, the imPOSSible dream…

Comments are closed.

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 470 other followers

