• Tips gratefully accepted here. Thanks!:

  • Recent Comments

    paper doll on The Employment Index
    paper doll on The Employment Index
    Mr Mike on Monday: Research Professionals…
    Mr Mike on The Employment Index
    paper doll on The Employment Index
    ownaa on The Employment Index
    CB on The Employment Index
    katiebird on The Employment Index
    abc on The Employment Index
    Sweet Sue on The Employment Index
    Sweet Sue on The Employment Index
    bernard jenkins on The Employment Index
    CL on The Employment Index
    riverdaughter on The Employment Index
    riverdaughter on The Employment Index
  • Categories


  • Tags

    abortion Add new tag Afghanistan Al Franken Anglachel Atrios bankers Barack Obama big pharma Bill Clinton Chris Christie cocktails Conflucians Say Dailykos debate Democratic Party Democrats Digby DNC Donna Brazile Economy Elizabeth Warren feminism Florida Fox News General Glenn Beck Glenn Greenwald Goldman Sachs health care Health Care Reform Hillary Clinton Howard Dean Joe Biden John Edwards John McCain Jon Corzine Karl Rove Keith Olbermann Matt Taibbi Media medicare Michelle Obama Michigan misogyny Mitt Romney Morning Edition Morning News Links Nancy Pelosi New Jersey news NO WE WON'T Obama Obamacare OccupyWallStreet occupy wall street Open thread Paul Krugman Politics Presidential Election 2008 PUMA racism Republicans Sarah Palin sexism Single Payer snark Social Security Supreme Court Terry Gross Tim Geithner unemployment Wall Street WikiLeaks women
  • Archives

  • History

    November 2010
    S M T W T F S
    « Oct   Dec »
     123456
    78910111213
    14151617181920
    21222324252627
    282930  
  • RSS Paul Krugman: Conscience of a Liberal

  • The Confluence

    The Confluence

  • RSS Suburban Guerrilla

  • RSS Ian Welsh

    • The End of the Rebels in the Ukraine and the Ukraine’s Future
      We’re down to street fighting in Donetsk.  The Russian leaders resigned in the last two weeks.  The rebels appear to be done, at least in terms of their conventional military phase (of course, I could be wrong depending on how much stomach Ukrainian troops have for house to house fighting).  It seems like that would [...]
  • Top Posts

The Smartest President Ever? NOT!


I missed this part of Obama’s 60 Minutes interview on Sunday:

In an interview airing Sunday night on CBS’ “60 Minutes,” Obama said the health care system itself is huge and complicated and that changing it eluded previous presidents because it was so difficult.

“I made the decision to go ahead and do it, and it proved as costly politically as we expected — probably actually a little more costly than we expected, politically,” he said.

Obama said he thought that he would find common ground with Republicans by advancing health care proposals that had been introduced by Republican administrations as well as potential presidential candidate Mitt Romney when he was governor of Massachusetts.


What the fuck? That dumbass must be drinking his own Kool-aid.

So we get a Republican health care plan and the Democrats get blamed for it. Nice.

I guess it’s not really his fault. Nobody could have predicted how hard it would be.

Oh, wait:




58 Responses

  1. The worst part about all this is that you can’t make it up. It is SO far-fetched, that it comes across as a movie parody like Mars Attacks or something.

    BTW – I just saw the link of the interview with Hillary in Australia. That’s why my posts (at least 85% of the time) end with Hillary 2012. If there is anyone that can prove to me that she isn’t the ONLY person for the job, I’M ALL EARS!!!!

    Hillary 2012

    • Rock, Did you get to watch her “State Dept.” movie last night? It was so wonderful….this woman is just so great, others just pale in comparison!

      • Yes, I watched it (and TIVOed it so I can watch it again). Seeing Hillary work made me exhausted. She has stamina and focus and wisdom.
        I was thinking it is a good thing that her team is relatively young because it would take that youthful energy just to keep up with her.
        Amazing woman.

        • Oh, one thing I learned from the Nat Geo program,
          is that Hillary,
          as SOS is 4th in line for the presidency.

  2. His “health care” plan was so good that not only will I NEVER vote for him no matter who is running against him, I will NEVER vote for a Democrat at the National level again. EVER. AGAIN. I have never in my life been so furious about anything a political party has done.

    Basically, by implementing a horrific policy with no cost controls for people ont he individual market, he ruined my health care world. R.U.I.N.E.D.

    I hope someone from the “Democratic” party is reading this and gets it. All they have to do is read the Seattle Times and see what Regence is doing to “implement” the health insurance plan. Of course Regence is evil. But the stupid, right wing, corporatist Democrats did nothing to prevent the evil.

  3. I, I, I, …me, me, me.

    I’m sure that dems that just got tossed out don’t feel like he’s paid enough of a political price.

    “But I think that in terms of how I operated on a day-to-day basis, when you’ve got a series of choices to make — I think that there are times where we said let’s just get it done instead of worrying about how we’re getting it done,” he said. “And I think that’s a problem. I’m paying a political price for that.”

    Read more: http://dailycaller.com/2010/11/07/obama-surprised-by-political-cost-of-health-law/##ixzz14o42GzUE

  4. I saw that on Sixty Minutes and it was horrible. Besides looking 12 years old, every other word is uh.

    Plus, I thought that ‘it was hard’ comment was a dig at Hillary. Like she doesn’t know hard work. The D’s have not suffered enough for me.

    • Uh, you know, folks (I hate being referred to as “folks” and “guys” as I am neither) – those are the few words the man actually knows.

      • I thought O’s quote about ” gettin’ a bunch of stuff” done was just sooo Presidential.

      • I read the transcript and he also said “you know” numerous times. I can’t believe people still describe him as eloquent.

  5. I guess we are supposed to feel that he is on top of things now, huh?

    Asshat.

    http://news.yahoo.com/s/ap/20101109/ap_on_re_us/obama_asia

    Hey Myiq. You must be thrilled to hear that the economic stress in this country has dropped. Yaay!!

    http://news.yahoo.com/s/ap/20101109/ap_on_bi_ge/us_stress_map

    Hillary 2012

  6. I’m very sorry to be posting OT but did anyone catch the documentary on the SOS yesterday on National Geographic? I actually teared up at one point as I watched HRC be her usual competent, reassuring self and thought ” This is who we could have had as President.How could we let this happen?”. If they show it again , please watch it .Its a great behind the scene look at the Secretary of State job.

  7. I missed that but am gonna check for when, and hopefully if, they re-play it.

  8. Oh hell yes:

    Twinkie diet helps nutrition professor lose 27 pounds

    Twinkies. Nutty bars. Powdered donuts.

    For 10 weeks, Mark Haub, a professor of human nutrition at Kansas State University, ate one of these sugary cakelets every three hours, instead of meals. To add variety in his steady stream of Hostess and Little Debbie snacks, Haub munched on Doritos chips, sugary cereals and Oreos, too.

    His premise: That in weight loss, pure calorie counting is what matters most — not the nutritional value of the food.

    The premise held up: On his “convenience store diet,” he shed 27 pounds in two months.

  9. It always seemed obvious to me that the people who said Obama was brilliant were really telling you how brilliant THEY were.

    http://www.veoh.com/browse/videos/category/comedy/watch/v20575053WhCmrT8m

  10. Well, not him anyway.

    At least we know now.

    “Brilliant,” ah yes.

    Must remember that characterization for next time.

    Thanks for your reporting!

    Suzan

    Nobody could have predicted how hard it would be.

    Oh, wait

  11. Joan Walsh Flees Debt-Ridden Salon.com.

    Salon’s stock price has dropped precipitously over the last decade. Ten years ago, shares of the company traded for approximately $26. By January 2006, Salon’s share price had dropped to $10. As of this writing, shares of Salon Media group are currently trading for $0.10, down from a 52-week high of $0.80 in September.

    Like MSNBC, the presidential campaign helped Salon make its numbers, until it didn’t.

  12. To paraphrase something Wesley Clark said about NCLB and public education, Obama was a hand grenade thrown at the Democratic party.
    With lots of help from many of the Ds.

    • Is there someplace I can find the list of super delegates who drug O over the line for nomination?
      I would personally like to gloat and snear as they all are forced out of office or when karma bites them in the ass

  13. Wow. Look at who the Republicans have lined up for 2012.

    • Party like it’s 2008!

    • Christie won’t run, although Rubio might. Those I think would be the GOP’s best bets.

      Although, for sheer superficial reasons, I would go with Thune! ;)

      • Can you believe Thune is on the list – wasn’t it just yesterday when everyone was talking about what a dolt he is? And Rubio…the first words out of his mouth was to thank God and his Lord and Savior – my husband fell onto the floor gagging!

        • You know, I am an atheist but I don’t have a problem with someone, even a politician I may not like too much, thanking his or her god for whatever reason. I can see gagging at someone’s political beliefs but gagging at someone for their personal religious beliefs seems, well not so nice to me.

          • I don’t have a problem with religions and expressions of faith- but when a politician’s first words are related to religion, it makes me nervous. I guess it also tells me how s/he will govern.

    • Rubio only makes sense because 0 set the experience bar so low.

      It’s hilarious that the writers said they didn’t take Palin very seriously because she’s made so much on books, speaking engagements, and reality show appearances. Isn’t that exactly what 0 has done? Maybe repubs have different standards….

  14. Found this over at the Os

    WH not happy about Pelosi remaining Dem leader?

    A reporter traveling with the prez (didn’t catch his name; think he’s with USAToday) told Tim Farley on POTUS radio today that behind the scenes the WH is not happy that Pelosi wants to continue as Dem leader. He said they’re not keen on hearing about “The Obama/Pelosi agenda” for the next two years.

    Anyone else catch any reporting on this? Hope it’s not true – imo Nancy could teach the WH a thing or two about fighting.

    • I would be delighted if Pelosi continued BECAUSE all we would hear is the Obama/Pelosi agenda for the next two years. And then surely ABO (anyone but Obama) will prevail in 2012.

      • So far, I am simply delighted to see Obama throwing her under the bus. As one O said in that thread: “She did everything he asked her to”
        See the scorpion story.

  15. Chris Tingles up the ass, just commented on Hillary in the Aussie Interview: If she had acted like this in 2008 she would have become the president, WOW, he says.

    • A little late to the show, Chris. I love how everybody and his brother is jumping on the anti-Obama bandwagon now. It’s like the media stuck a collective finger in the air and saw which way the wind is blowing and is just spouting what listeners want to hear. Such courage! Such independent analysis!

      • This is the same media that sneeringly trashed Al Gore and gave us 8 years of Dubya.

        Somerby has pages and pages of archives describing the fickle shallowness of the media, emphasizing the so-called “liberal” media” the most.

        Americans aren’t even listening to them anymore.

        • Yeah, President Gore would have put our social security money in a lock box and saved it for – (drumroll)- actual retirees. What a crazy idea, it was so much better to spend it all on wars and pork. What was with that guy???

    • A true b@st@rd, Tingle. She did act exactly like that Chris, but you were either too bought or too vibratory to catch on.

Comments are closed.

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 450 other followers

