• Tips gratefully accepted here. Thanks!:

  • Recent Comments

    Monster from the Id on Why Ebola spread in Dallas:…
    paper doll on Why Ebola spread in Dallas:…
    paper doll on Why Ebola spread in Dallas:…
    paper doll on Why Ebola spread in Dallas:…
    Sweet Sue on Why Ebola spread in Dallas:…
    tdraicer on Why Ebola spread in Dallas:…
    Monster from the Id on Why Ebola spread in Dallas:…
    r u reddy on Why Ebola spread in Dallas:…
    r u reddy on Why Ebola spread in Dallas:…
    paper doll on Why Ebola spread in Dallas:…
    paper doll on Why Ebola spread in Dallas:…
    abc on Why Ebola spread in Dallas:…
    riverdaughter on Why Ebola spread in Dallas:…
    abc on Why Ebola spread in Dallas:…
    Partition Functions on Why Ebola spread in Dallas:…
  • Categories


  • Tags

    abortion Add new tag Afghanistan Al Franken Anglachel Atrios bankers Barack Obama big pharma Bill Clinton Chris Christie cocktails Conflucians Say Dailykos Democratic Party Democrats Digby DNC Donna Brazile Economy Elizabeth Warren feminism Florida Fox News General Glenn Beck Glenn Greenwald Goldman Sachs health care Health Care Reform Hillary Clinton Howard Dean Joe Biden John Edwards John McCain Jon Corzine Karl Rove Keith Olbermann Matt Taibbi Media medicare Michelle Obama Michigan misogyny Mitt Romney Morning Edition Morning News Links Nancy Pelosi New Jersey news NO WE WON'T Obama Obamacare occupy wall street OccupyWallStreet Open thread Paul Krugman Politics Presidential Election 2008 PUMA racism Republicans Sarah Palin sexism Single Payer snark Social Security Supreme Court Terry Gross Texas Tim Geithner unemployment Wall Street WikiLeaks women
  • Archives

  • History

  • RSS Paul Krugman: Conscience of a Liberal

  • The Confluence

    The Confluence

  • RSS Suburban Guerrilla

  • RSS Ian Welsh

    • How Ebola Aerosolized in Pigs Could Kill Millions
      Up until today I’ve been moderately sanguine about Ebola outside of some poverty struck African countries with compromised health care systems (and places like Greece.)  The main danger is incompetence and austerity, as with the CDC and Texas fumbling their Ebola cases. No more. Ebola is aerosolized in pigs.  This may not seem like a [...]
  • Top Posts

S.H.I.T. Open Thread


I’m a little too old to get excited about this movie. The G.I Joe I remember had “kung-fu grip” and fought Nazis.

I’m sure happy it’s Thursday. What’s on your mind?

109 Responses

  1. I’m just sitting around watching an NCIS marathon on the boob tube. Ordered in chinese for dinner, because I spent half the day downtown in 101 – 105 heat, and could not bring myself to cook.

    • Burn Notice is on next, followed by Royal Pains.

      • I love Burn Notice. Royal Pains, not so much.

      • The character that Sharon Glass plays as Michael’s mother could be modeled after my Mother in Law.
        According to her my father in law was a bootlegger and some of the stories she told were a riot. Nothing bothered her. She was what you call ” a tough broad”.
        She raised four kids alone after she left my father in law and this was during the depression.
        I admired her and loved her.

        WOMEN WITH INTELLIGENCE AND EXPERIENCE,MEN WHO SUPPORT THEM AND COUNTRY BEFORE PARTY ALWAYS

        PUMAS,BUBBAS,EQUALISTS AND THOSE PEOPLE RULE

        • Sharon Glass is one of my favorite parts of that show. She just rolls her eyes at all the explosions and killers running about, and bitches them out regularly. Completely unruffled. And she always has that cigarette, and big earrings. Love her.

      • Two winners.

  2. I am plotting strategy for my upcoming game of hardball…
    :twisted:

    • Am I missing something with that post? it was flagged. oh well. back to my “Action Jackson: and Old school GI Joe. You remember them don’t you Myiq?

    • link to the list is gone now

  3. This movie might be worth a look-see:

  4. I am not going to mention the cheap r-rated grinding that Joe and my Barbies used to stage for me… Ken was just too pretty for my girls to be naughty with.

    • good thing my brothers never caught on, as to why their G.I. Joe’s would disappear for a day or two… I lent them to my girlfriends, so their Barbies could have some of that strange too. LOLOL yup… Deadgirl was pimpin’ their G.I. Joe’s out.

    • LOL!!! So funny … that’s exactly what I used to do! But GI Joe was called “Action Man” in the UK. And I do mean action baby, yeah!

      • Oh, yeah, we all did that. Ken was just too pretty and pristine for real Barbie action. You need that G.I Joe or the equivalent.

        • well Ken is gay and I am sure he would much rather have boffed GI Joe too.

  5. I just got back from getting a cheese steak. We have a shop in Hemet that imports the rolls and makings from Philadelphia.
    Every once in a while when I need a fix I go get one.
    My grand daughter just called to thank me for sending her the dvd of the Carol Burnett show. She is 14 and loves the show.
    Am waiting for burn notice and royal pains. Glad that the Leverage season started.

    WOMEN WITH INTELLIGENCE AND EXPERIENCE,MEN WHO SUPPORT THEM AND COUNTRY BEFORE PARTY ALWAYS

    PUMAS,BUBBAS,EQUALISTS AND THOSE PEOPLE RULE

  6. okay… done with my stand-up routine, someone else take the stage, quick (where is the shepherds crook when you need it)

  7. Veeeery interesting. POTUS is making private visits to CitiGroup?

    U.S. President Barack Obama visited Citigroup Inc.’s (C) headquarters in New York Thursday, Fox Business Network reported. The presidential limousine was at 399 Park Ave. around 6 p.m. EDT, and the building was on security lockdown, although Fox had no information about what Obama did during his visit. Citigroup is scheduled to report its second-quarter earnings at 8 a.m. EDT Friday.

    http://www.foxbusiness.com

  8. “Knowing is half the battle” is what GI Joe says.

    • I like the Sphinx from Mystery Men:

      To learn my teachings, I must first teach you how to learn.

      You must lash out with every limb, like the octopus who plays the drums.

      He who questions training only trains himself at asking questions.

      You must be like wolf pack, not six-pack.

      We are number one. All others are number two, or lower.

  9. Since this is an open thread…(sorry, it’s not about a movie)…

    But the Episcopal Church General Convention has been going on over the past week–they have these every three years.

    In 2003, they consecrated an openly gay man as Bishop. The Anglican Communion blew a fuse and conservatives have been leaving.

    In 2006, they elected a woman (gasp) as their Presiding Bishop and agreed not to consecrate any more gay Bishops, lest we create a schism in the Communion.

    So far this year, they have decided that they can indeed consecrate gay Bishops AND they can have liturgies (services) for same sex couples in states where that sort of thing is legal (like most of New England).

    This is a big deal and I am quite proud of my church for it. They will probably have hell to pay with the World Wide Anglican Communion, but they’re moving forward anyway.

    • That very small pop you just heard was Peter Akinola’s brain exploding.

    • Ah, the social club, er, I mean church I grew up with. Aren’t they sweet. My favorite part of the Episcopal church is now they’re not Protestant and they’re not Roman Catholic but are instead the middle way. They just crack me up.

      But I am very happy they’re moving forward like this. Definitely one of the more progressive jeebus clubs around.

      • Heh, I grew up Episcopal, too. We were big on coffee and cigarettes and conversation after services, but we just didn’t really do that whole guilt thing.

        • I think Robin Williams says they’re Catholics without the guilt. Yep, coffee and snacks after. Took me longer because I was into that acolyte thing. Don’t joke around with the wine and holy water, the priests just have no sense of humor.

  10. Our media is so obsessed with trivial matters, CNN did a clip on Obama’s “Mom” jeans, and Politico is wondering if Obama is losing his cool.

    http://news.yahoo.com/s/politico/20090716/pl_politico/25022

    “Obama losing his cool?

    It’s been a tough week for President Obama’s cool factor.

    Not only is he weathering criticism of his policies, but the Cool One has also taken a few dings to his immaculate image in recent days.”

    Maybe our media views its role as one of distraction, to keep us from focusing on the important issues.

    • My mom could throw a better pitch than Obama.

      (she’s lost some zip on her fastball but her spitter will tie you in knots)

    • His immaculate image? Watch out, soon CNN anchors will be burning their shrines on air.

  11. Well, since this is an open thread– I’m looking over the Emmy nominations right now. Glad about the nods for Breaking Bad (my favorite scripted show on tv right now), Big Love, and In Treatment (although I’m still catching up on the last season of In Treatment), and a few other shows/actors. I enjoy Mad Men, but the hype over that series gets on my nerves.

  12. I do not know what to think about health care. Congress critters scare me—they are so far removed from any reality that I have little hope that they will come up with anything that does any good for any body. I went to see my doctor this week. I have medicare. When I checked in, the receptionist had me fill out a form on medicare eligibility. I noted that I had filled that form our on a prior recent visit. She said, “Oh you will have to fill it out each time you come in. We have to submit a new one with each billing or we can not get reimbursement.” I had also just had to contact Blue Cross on my supplemental insurance—they said they had not received billing—but my clinic gave me the dates they had sent the billing. The receptionist laughed and said to me, “Oh, they do that all the time; it takes sometimes 6 or 7 month for them to finally pay up.” This is nuts. It has to inflate the costs with all the time spent; I spent almost 3 hrs of my own time on the Blue Cross issue tracking it down. Nothing that is happening in DC touches these realities. We have a government system, medicare, that is going broke and dances around paying our doctors and clinics. We have the same thing from insurance companies, except they are not going broke. The patient and the doctor—the medical results for all of us, just seem to get lost.

    Guess I will watch House and Royal Pains and anything else that adds up to escape.

    • Once you quit caring about stuff life gets much simpler.

      Alcohol in large quantities helps.

    • 1000 pages and counting that, again, nobody has taken the time to read. We’re gonna end up with nothin’ but another huge bill that we cannot possibly ever cover.

    • BC/BS sucks for supplemental medicare coverage. You can get a J plan for less than you are spending for your (I am assuming) C or D plan you have with blue cross. They can bilk you because they have the brand recognition.
      If you are 71 or younger and you are in good health with no heart attack, insulin dependent diabetis, no COPD, stroke or cancer in the last two years, call Bankers Life and save yourself a hell of a lot of money…… in addition they pay doctors in 7 to 10 business days and doctors like them for that reason.

      No I do not work for them.

  13. what’s on my mind is that my worst nightmare about Barry winning (stealing) the nomination is coming true – the dems are f’n it up on health care with Barry at the helm, nothing is going to get better anytime soon with this whimp in charge, and Mitt F’N Romney is going to poised for a 2012 win.

  14. “Kung Fu Grip” man, that’s way later than the original G.I. Joe I had. OK, here’s a commercial for him. Remember, only G.I. Joe is G.I. Joe. That last bit was because counterfeits started coming in, from the very factory that was making them from Hasbro. Nothing changes…

    This explains why we baby boomers are a bit off in the head.

  15. No Quarter has posted the full text and q and a of HRC’s major foreign policy address. It also has a lively discussion of the fact that BO stepped all over her speech by pulling a pres. health care news conference at the same time—just as HRC started speaking. Apparently the only station to pick up on HRC’s speech was MSNBC—now there is a surprise.

    The speech and the q&a are both learned and billiant—no surprise there. So if you are at loose ends you might want to check it out.

  16. G.I Joe, Schmi-I Joe. I had a JANE WEST. She kicked ass. I loved my Jane West.

  17. Remember cool toys like this?:

  18. Denninger (of Market Ticker) rips Wall Street’s cheerleaders, also known as CNBC, a new one. Evidently they completely misrepresented the statements of noted economist Roubini in order to pump the market, and Roubini was a mite pissed about it

  19. I had this one too:

  20. My sister got an EZ-Bake Oven, I got this:

    • Loved those. OK, so far we’ve had the same toys.

    • Okay, “You can tell it’s Mattel, it’s swell” might be the best tagline ever.

    • You know what I remember most about the Thingmaker? The SMELL. It is a very distinct olfactory memory for me.

      You couldn’t have a toy like that now. Junior might get burned! Feh, maybe someone ought to teach Junior to have some damn common sense and not stick his fingers on hot metal, instead.

    • I loved my creepy crawlers!!!! I used to make tons of the little suckers!!!

  21. My younger cousin had one of these in the 70’s. That thing was indestructible. We jumped it off cars and out windows. It never broke. Why do all toys break in 15 minutes these days?

    • Kids are more fragile too.

      We never wore helmets when we rode bikes – even when we were playing “destruction derby”

      We had dart guns that fired hard plastic darts (after you removed the rubber tip)

      We had Lawn Darts!

      • Hell, we used to think nothing of grabbing dad’s hacksaw, sawing off the front forks of a junked bike, then jamming those puppies over the front forks of OUR bike. Tada! Instant “Chopper”!! We rode that unsafe thing, too. Without a helmet, and with an extra person on the back of the banana seat, and one perched on the handlebars. When we were 8.

        I spent the majority of my early childhood covered in bruises, scrapes, etc. I think I had permanent huge scabs on my knees. Never thought anything of it.

        My sister asked me the other day: “How often do you see a kid walking around with big scabs on their knees these days? It’s weird. ALL of us had scabs, all the time!”

    • Same with everything, there was an article in the Times a couple weeks ago about why old people live with their old stuff and don’t redecorate. Because their stuff is cute and still in good shape. When they start to replace it, it’s either a bazillion dollars or it’s ugly and really poorly made.

    • OMG! Now you’re really bringing back memories. We had that Evil Knieval launcher thing. Also a Muhammad Ali doll, Bionic Woman and Bionic Man.

  22. This toy was fun for 3-5 minutes:

    (take a close look at those stairs – would you want to walk up and down them?)

    • LOL. That’s about right. Never worked quite right. And really kind of dangerous.

      • Just imagine being in the company board room deciding on new products:

        “I know, let’s package some razor wire and tell the kids it will walk down the stairs. That way they’re running after razor wire down the steps.”

        “My god, he’s a genius. Let’s do it.”

        • Lol! They make plastic ones now. They’re safe, but they don’t really work too well.

  23. You guys are having too much fun while I’m pissed off.

    The real price of Goldman-Sux giganto profits

    http://trueslant.com/matttaibbi/2009/07/16/on-goldmans-giganto-profits/

  24. From George Washington’s Blog:

    http://borowitzreport.com/article.aspx?ID=7047

    “Goldman Sachs in Talks to Acquire Treasury Department

    In what some on Wall Street are calling the biggest blockbuster deal in the history of the financial sector, Goldman Sachs confirmed today that it was in talks to acquire the U.S. Department of the Treasury.”

  25. My sister had this one:

    • LOL! My sister had stuff like that, but I was always the tomboy. There were all boys on my street in my age group, and I had to be tough enough to hang or I couldn’t play.

      One of them shot me in the leg with a BB gun once (it wasn’t pumped up very hard – just stung). I smacked him upside the head with a shovel. None of our parents ever dreamed of interfering. We worked it out.

      Our favorite occupation was building forts. And we weren’t above larceny – we ripped off plywood and boards etc from local construction sites all the time – hauled them into the woods with our bikes.

  26. Oh, and I had these. Loved ‘em.

    • Ha…I just bought my hubby “rockem’ sockem’ robots’ last Christmas. It was his favorite game as a kid and he loves playing it with our nieces. it’s hysterical.

  27. http://www.npr.org/blogs/money/2009/07/the_tim_hortons_economy.html#more

    Love Tim Hortons, but not sure I would feel comfortable picking up a box of “Timbits.”

  28. OK, while we’re on 60’s stuff, this was the ultimate show. And of course Emma was the reason:

    • Love Emma! But if we are going to do 60’s TV, nothing beats Dark Shadows:

    • the just had the movie The Avengers on tv. No where a good as the show. Just did not have the cool.

      WOMEN WITH INTELLIGENCE AND EXPERIENCE,MEN WHO SUPPORT THEM AND COUNTRY BEFORE PARTY ALWAYS

      PUMAS, BUBBAS,EQUALISTS AND THOSE PEOPLE RULE

  29. Roller skates that had a key. Scooters made of boxes and skate wheels, huffy bikes that had a front headlight. Chatty Cathy dolls,Betsy Wetsy dolls, candy that came in glass bottles shaped like cars or boat etc.
    Saturday afternoon movies with a feature film,serial chapters and cost 7 cents to get in and 10cents for popcorn.
    Ice pops, penny candy, ice cream trucks.
    Listening to The Shadow , The Green Hornet, The Whistler, FBI stories on the radio
    Tv that did not have 24 hour viewing. The mtv idea came from short musical films used between programs.
    Go out and play after school come in for dinner then homework.
    In the summer you came in when the streetlights came on.
    Soapbox derbys

    And no I did not have to walk to school up hill both ways.

    WOMEN WITH INTELLIGENCE AND EXPERIENCE,MEN WHO SUPPORT THEM AND COUNTRY BEFORE PARTY ALWAYS

    PUMAS,BUBBAS,EQUALISTS AND THOSE PEOPLE RULE

  30. Why is my comment at 1:37p in moderation?

  31. should be 11:37p I can not see anything wrong with the comment, No links

  32. there I was remembering toys that now are collector items and spam ate my memories/////////

    small screen black and white tv that you could buy a magnifying screen to fit over the tv screen.
    Not everyone had a tv and neighbors used to go to the houses that had one and watch the shows

    WOMEN WITH INTELLIGENCE AND EXPERIENCE,MEN WHO SUPPORT THEM AND COUNTRY BEFORE PARTY ALWAYS

    PUMAS,BUBBAS,EQUALISTS AND THOSE PEOPLE RULE

  33. If you haven’t seen it, here is Hillary’s full speech (video) at the Council on Foreign Relations. Great speech and Q&A to follow. Highly recommended:

  34. thanks for the memories.ahhhhhh.the good old days

Comments are closed.

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 470 other followers

