• Tips gratefully accepted here. Thanks!:

  • Recent Comments

    Sweet Sue on Happy Thanksgiving!
    katiebird on Happy Thanksgiving!
    katiebird on Serial: Cold Turkey
    Sweet Sue on Happy Thanksgiving!
    riverdaughter on Serial: Cold Turkey
    katiebird on Serial: Cold Turkey
    riverdaughter on Serial: Cold Turkey
    riverdaughter on Serial: Cold Turkey
    katiebird on Serial: Cold Turkey
    katiebird on Serial: Cold Turkey
    riverdaughter on Happy Thanksgiving!
    riverdaughter on Happy Thanksgiving!
    riverdaughter on Happy Thanksgiving!
    Sweet Sue on Happy Thanksgiving!
    Sweet Sue on Happy Thanksgiving!
  • Categories


  • Tags

    abortion Add new tag Afghanistan Al Franken Anglachel Atrios bankers Barack Obama big pharma Bill Clinton Chris Christie cocktails Conflucians Say Dailykos Democratic Party Democrats Digby DNC Donna Brazile Economy Elizabeth Warren feminism Florida Fox News General Glenn Beck Glenn Greenwald Goldman Sachs health care Health Care Reform Hillary Clinton Howard Dean Joe Biden John Edwards John McCain Jon Corzine Karl Rove Keith Olbermann Matt Taibbi Media medicare Michelle Obama Michigan misogyny Mitt Romney Morning Edition Morning News Links Nancy Pelosi New Jersey news NO WE WON'T Obama Obamacare occupy wall street OccupyWallStreet Open thread Paul Krugman Politics Presidential Election 2008 PUMA racism Republicans Sarah Palin sexism Single Payer snark Social Security Supreme Court Terry Gross Texas Tim Geithner unemployment Wall Street WikiLeaks women
  • Archives

  • History

  • RSS Paul Krugman: Conscience of a Liberal

  • The Confluence

    The Confluence

  • RSS Suburban Guerrilla

  • RSS Ian Welsh

    • Ferguson and the brokenness of America’s “Justice” System
      There isn’t much to say that others haven’t, but let’s go through it anyway: There was never any chance that Darren Wilson would be charged; the prosecutor acted as defense attorney, not as prosecutor; A grand jury, for all intents and purposes does what the prosecutor tells it to; Doing the announcement at 8pm at [...]
  • Top Posts

Conflucian’s Say: Stress and Shin Splints

How are you handling the Great Recession of 2009?  Are you getting enough sleep?  Eating well?  Exercising? Wanna talk about it?  Join us tonight at 10PM EST for Conflucians Say  on PUMA United Radio for the Wellness Edition, among other things.

Update:  Whooops!  There is no show scheduled tonight.  Next week for sure.  But let’s not waste a post.  How are you handling the recession?

54 Responses

  1. ill try my beet 2 make RD

  2. hey it says on May 28th what the hey?

    • Hi FuzzyBear!

      I just checked the website and it looks like it was mistakenly scheduled for 8pm.

      I’m really sorry we missed it.

  3. am I missing something?

  4. hello out there….

  5. fuzzy: There is no show scheduled tonight. My bad.
    But why waste a good post?

  6. Ok, so I went running today with the new running club at work. My shins are aching even though I did a 10 minute post stretch and took plenty of motrin. Don’t tell me to change my shoes. They’re Nike Airs with lots of cushion and stability and I reinforced the suckers with inserts. So, what gives? What am I doing wrong?

    • poor thing I walked 8.25 miles RD be sure to spend 10 minutes stretching before your run and at least 15 minutes after also walk at least 10 minutes after a run to get the lactic acid out of your muscles these should prevent shinsplints a serious condition for forming!

    • You’re not necessarily doing anything wrong. Is this your first run after a hiatus? that could be the reason. re the recession I’m buying more “house brands” . bought America’s Choice brand o.j. for the first time yesterday. Tropicana just reached $4.99 for a 64 oz container. That’s a lilttle steep when you drink a lot of the stuff.

    • RD, shin splints are the bane of new runners. The pain will subside with time. Give your shins time to recover between runs, even if you have to rest for two or three days. Continue with the ibuprofen and alternate ice and heat.

      It’s been my experience as a trainer that while most exercisers are proficient at stretching their calf muscles, they don’t have a clue as to how to stretch their shin (anterior tibialas) muscle. What are you doing to stretch the shin?

      Shin strengthening exercises (also rarely done) are beneficial for runners as well.

  7. I just tried calling in. What happened?

  8. i just tried calling in and it says there are no shows scheduled for the next 24 hours.

  9. lol, jinx bb!!!

  10. poor thing I walked 8.25 miles RD be sure to spend 10 minutes stretching before your run and at least 15 minutes after also walk at least 10 minutes after a run to get the lactic acid out of your muscles these should prevent shinsplints a serious condition for forming!

  11. Um, do I have to unjinx you two? I forgot how to do that.
    I don’t do the scheduling. I think Stateofdisbelief does that. So, maybe we got skipped this week accidentally.

  12. poor thing I walked 8.25 miles RD be sure to spend 10 minutes stretching before your run and at least 15 minutes after also walk at least 10 minutes after a run to get the lactic acid out of your muscles these should prevent shinsplints a serious condition for forming!

    • Yep, I did follow up with 10 minutes walking on a treadmill to cool down. I think it helped. But I think I just have a heavy heelstrike. Not sure how to correct that.

  13. Um, do I have to unjinx you two? I forgot how to do that.
    I don’t do the scheduling. I think Stateofdisbelief does that. So, maybe we got skipped this week accidentally.

  14. Here’s what it says at the website: “Upcoming Show: 5/28/2009 8:00 PM”

    So it looks like we got the time wrong when we set up the schedule.

  15. poor thing I walked 8.25 miles RD be sure to spend 10 minutes stretching before your run and at least 15 minutes after also walk at least 10 minutes after a run to get the lactic acid out of your muscles these should prevent shinsplints a serious condition for forming!

  16. I am not being allowed to post? what gives:

    poor thing I walked 8.25 miles RD be sure to spend 10 minutes stretching before your run and at least 15 minutes after also walk at least 10 minutes after a run to get the lactic acid out of your muscles these should prevent shinsplints a serious condition for forming!

  17. poor thing I walked 8.25 miles RD be sure to spend 10 minutes stretching before your run and at least 15 minutes after also walk at least 10 minutes after a run to get the lactic acid out of your muscles these should prevent shinsplints a serious condition for forming!

  18. i haven’t done running for a long time. It’s too hard on your body. I have a stair stepper and do free weights for strength training. I also walk a lot around campus with my rockports and my ipod. My favorite exercise remains swimming.

  19. Wow – did someone just delete all my comments?

  20. some one fooling with the nesting options? This thread is acting spastic.

  21. poor thing I walked 8.25 miles RD be sure to spend 10 minutes stretching before your run and at least 15 minutes after also walk at least 10 minutes after a run to get the lactic acid out of your muscles these should prevent shinsplints a serious condition for forming!

  22. My comments are disappearing too. I don’t know what is happening.

  23. My comments just came and went about 3 times in different configurations. VERY freaky.

    • I had heard from Murphy that Cinie’s blog was shut down by WordPress due to some antics by a site we will not mention here (but from which Murphy took a snapshot of the culprits admitting to doing the deed). The site in question says we’re next.

      I will be contacting WordPress if we start getting harrassed.

    • As dakinikat said, “Jinx.”

  24. I cant post what is wrong have tried to post below:

    poor thing I walked 8.25 miles RD be sure to spend 10 minutes stretching before your run and at least 15 minutes after also walk at least 10 minutes after a run to get the lactic acid out of your muscles these should prevent shinsplints a serious condition for forming!

  25. The only time I got shin splints was when I was wearing the wrong shoes (sorry!), but I was really keen to get training for a marathon. But it could also be you’re doing too much, too soon. How long did you run for? Did you take any walk breaks? Be kind to yourself. Shin splints are hell!

  26. (shrugging)

    OK, well – maybe I should just go back to the couch.

  27. Meh! No show tonight? *pout*
    I am handling the recession like a pro. I just got a job as a sales rep for cutco and as of Sunday I became a CNA (certified Nursing Assistant). I won’t be state tested until july, but in the fall, it is back to skewl for me to begin my LPN pimping/training!

    New post up.

  28. BTW, Cool Running is an excellent site. Loads of good info there:

    http://www.coolrunning.com/engine/2/index.shtml

  29. what is going on I cannot comment

  30. hey the chat is open at puma united

  31. wow those obats they are so dumb they won and thay have to live with the piece of $hit in the white house why not leave us in peace…I mean I limit myself to telling them “I told you so” to no more than 100 times a day what do they expect?

    • fuzzy what else what u expet out of those O-fools ..i mean there kinda slow & suffering from ED….(electile dysfunction )

    • Did you see this post at Corrente referencing a post at the big orange cheeto? Obama has jumped the shark. Of course, it could just be a stealth republican posing as a kossack.

      • Funny — (sort of).

        Could be a Republican — but it sounds more like a disillusioned voter who believed the ONE. (That was his first mistake.)

  32. hey katiebird-

    • Hey fuzzy! I got lost for a while!

      I’m finally back up to walking 5 miles a day. Wow do I get a good nights sleep after that!

      • Tell me about it. I’m up to 4 workouts during the week with a mix of running, aerobics, strength training and bootcamp. I’m exhausted.

        • I’m exhausted just reading about it! :)

          OH — I just realized. I never told anyone that I’ve finished the Physical Therapy for my shoulder!!! It’s completely healed. It’s amazing how exhausting some of those tiny exercises were.

          (well the spur is still in my shoulder but the inflamation is gone and my range of motion is back to normal)

        • How did you get a spur in your shoulder? Playing chicken with a cowboy?

        • (giggle) At least I’d have a fond memory ;)

  33. something funky is going on…

Comments are closed.

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 471 other followers

