What is your female empowering equivalent to these songs?

72 Responses

  1. Aretha Franklin – Respect

  2. Independent Woman by Destiny’s Child

  3. One more

    Whitney Houston – I’m Every Woman

  4. I can’t embed to save my soul, but how about Helen Reddy’s “I Am Woman”

  5. I think the list of female empowering songs can get long fast.

    Aretha Franklin ft. Lauryn Hill – A Rose Is Still A Rose
    En Vogue – My Lovin’ (You’re Never Gonna Get It)
    Dolly Parton – 9 to 5
    Girls just want to have fun – Cyndi Lauper
    Tracy Chapman – Fast Car

  6. To embed just copy the url and paste

    TLC with Unpretty

  7. I like this one. You learn, by Alanis Morrisette.

  8. we can never forget this one
    Gloria Gaynor – I Will Survive

  9. I Will Survive.

  10. A front page with Bronski Beat… now that’s cool.

    • Jimmy C/Bronski Beat, The Smiths/Morrisey: politically important time.

  11. Here’s Cydi. I love this song.

  12. This is one of my favorite empowering songs *by* a woman.

    • Good pull. I love Dancing Barefoot.

      As a communal DJ, The Confluence kicks!

  13. I hope it embeds otherwise just click on it and you can watch it directly from youtube.

    Anouk – Nobody’s Wife

  14. i got my computer back !!!!! well, mostly, still a lotta stuff to try to recover … but i can speak again!

    • Good for you. I went through that last year during the GE. It suddenly stopped working and had to take it to this guy to find out what had happened. In the end I managed to change my first harddisk myself. I was surprised at how easy it was.

    • I’m happy. Did you use a hard drive enclosure?

      • no, i just managed to have a lot of stuff I could transfer over to my flashdrive before it completely melted down. I’m going to have to look into that. I have the old one still.

        • It’s good you got something. An enclosure has made two of my deceased hard drives into databases.

  15. She was one of her kind in her day when the industry was more dominated.

    Patra – Queen of the Pack

    • She was “one of a kind” in her day when the industry was more male dominated.

      • Power is ubiquitous and multivarious. She stands out.

        (I’m more of a soca fan, but that does not stop me from loving reggae.)

  16. dear Steve – this is why the Confluence is my absolute first, last and in between read all day, everyday. thank you for the wake up call and the wonderful songs in response!

    • e,

      TY, but I merely posed the question. Riverdaughter and her friends it worthwhile to do so.

      My readership at TC follows your pattern.

      s

  17. one from a good friend of mine(although I see much more of her exhusband and his new girlfriend then her these days)

    • dakinikat,

      She’s great. There certainly is an Ani difranco style. I’ve seen her play quite a few times and she’s always worthwhile.

      Somewhere in the recesses of my memory I hear her speak of a cloud following someone like a little sister.

      s

  18. A very dear (ex-g)friend suggested this tune.

  19. Some might fault this this for being a bit too other-directed, but I find it totally self-empowering.

    • Great tune. I didn’t get any work done tonight, but these tunes have created a smile so big it couldn’t be knocked off with a snow shovel.

      • the lack of a functional computer made me notice the kind weather today … and now I return to beautiful, empowering songs ….

        how can one work under these conditions?

        spring can be so distracting …

  20. Great thread idea!

  21. First song that came to mind, “Not Ready to Make Nice” Dixie Chicks.

  22. Here’s one:

  23. Woot! Good choices, gang.

  24. Hillary Clinton and Alicia Keys – Superwoman

  25. The Women United, Will Never be defeated
    International Women’s Day

  26. don’t know if there is a youtube but this oldie but goody has always been one of my favorites

    Got along without you before I met you gonna get along without you now Theresa Brewer

    WOMEN WITH INTELLIGENCE AND EXPERIENCE,MEN WHO SUPPORT THEM AND COUNTRY BEFORE PARTY ALWAYS

    PUMAS,BUBBAS,EQUALISTS AND THOSE PEOPLE RULE

    • Helenk!!!!-I’ve been waiting for you to show up. My son is going to California in a months time, part of a party of 14 students.

      Wanted to ask you what Amtrak is like. He was thinking of getting a California rail pass (valid 21 days/7days travel $159)

      (alternative is hiring a car-but he likes trains. He’d also like to know if he can sleep in them?)

      Thanks

    • And that is one of my favs too.

    • And this is for you Helenk- Harry Belafonte- “Man Smart, Woman Smarter”:

      http://tinyurl.com/pd8fut

  27. Couldn’t miss adding an Italian song. This was quite a jingle in 1982. I also loved Annie Lennox-“Would I lie to you”.

    Anyway here’s Loredana Berté- “Non sono una Signora” (meaning I’m not someone’s well-bred wife, living with crucifixes on the wall….)

    • I saw her in our local square that summer-the town hall financed a free concert. (they did that in the 80s). The town turned out and the whole square rocked, she was much better LIVE than on videos :-)

  28. Laurie
    Yes there are sleeper cars on some long distant trains. They are expensive. The coach car seats are ok for sleeping. If there is 14 people call usa rail and book the seats together as a group. That way they will set aside enough seats for you.
    What part of California is he going to visit?
    The California coast line is beautiful from San Diego north and if he goes to northern California it is a different kind of beauty than southern California.
    He will meet people from all over the world. I met two young men from Denmark traveling around the world. They were going to be in LA for 18 days then travel to New Zealand.
    I gave them some information on what to see in LA and got the On Board Service Rep to tell them about the places grandmoms are not supposed to know about.
    They send me a card from New Zealand.

    E-mail me at helenk@dishmail.net and I will give you my address and phone number in case he needs someone here for anything. I have grandchildren and if they were traveling in a different state I would want them to have a local telephone number and address if they needed any kind of help

    WOMEN WITH INTELLIGENCE AND EXPERIENCE,MEN WHO SUPPORT THEM AND COUNTRY BEFORE PARTY ALWAYS

    PUMAS,BUBBAS,EQUALISTS AND THOSE PEOPLE RULE

  29. Thanks Helen, will email later.

  30. As a clothes maker, how can I not add this one!!

    Dolly Parton-Coat of many colors:

  31. This was one of the first songs to make me realize that no matter how bad things are, there’s something better waiting “way over yonder”.

    I’ve always loves Carole King and in this rendition, she really shows off her pipes. She is accompanied by Brie Howard.

Comments are closed.

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 470 other followers

