• Tips gratefully accepted here. Thanks!:

  • Recent Comments

    r u reddy on Give Democrats a piece of your…
    Mr Mike on Give Democrats a piece of your…
    paper doll on Give Democrats a piece of your…
    paper doll on Give Democrats a piece of your…
    paper doll on Give Democrats a piece of your…
    Propertius on Give Democrats a piece of your…
    katiebird on Give Democrats a piece of your…
    Mr Mike on Give Democrats a piece of your…
    Mr Mike on Give Democrats a piece of your…
    CB on Give Democrats a piece of your…
    Sweet Sue on Give Democrats a piece of your…
    r u reddy on Why Ebola spread in Dallas:…
    r u reddy on Give Democrats a piece of your…
    r u reddy on Give Democrats a piece of your…
    r u reddy on Give Democrats a piece of your…
  • Categories


  • Tags

    abortion Add new tag Afghanistan Al Franken Anglachel Atrios bankers Barack Obama big pharma Bill Clinton Chris Christie cocktails Conflucians Say Dailykos Democratic Party Democrats Digby DNC Donna Brazile Economy Elizabeth Warren feminism Florida Fox News General Glenn Beck Glenn Greenwald Goldman Sachs health care Health Care Reform Hillary Clinton Howard Dean Joe Biden John Edwards John McCain Jon Corzine Karl Rove Keith Olbermann Matt Taibbi Media medicare Michelle Obama Michigan misogyny Mitt Romney Morning Edition Morning News Links Nancy Pelosi New Jersey news NO WE WON'T Obama Obamacare occupy wall street OccupyWallStreet Open thread Paul Krugman Politics Presidential Election 2008 PUMA racism Republicans Sarah Palin sexism Single Payer snark Social Security Supreme Court Terry Gross Texas Tim Geithner unemployment Wall Street WikiLeaks women
  • Archives

  • History

    December 2008
    S M T W T F S
    « Nov   Jan »
     123456
    78910111213
    14151617181920
    21222324252627
    28293031  
  • RSS Paul Krugman: Conscience of a Liberal

  • The Confluence

    The Confluence

  • RSS Suburban Guerrilla

    • Good news
      Look at all the other drugs we’re not researching because of our backward drug laws: In a study published this month in Translational Psychiatry, researchers have found that a drug called ketamine can help quickly reverse anhedonia in patients with treatment-resistant bipolar depression (also known as manic-depression or bipolar disorder). Ketamine has previ […]
  • RSS Ian Welsh

    • The Technology of Violence and its effect on prosperity and freedom
        Prosperity is two things: 1) How much you can produce with your technology and social organization; 2) Who gets how much.   The second is determined by a number of factors, but the simplest is the structure of violence.  Those who aren’t good at fighting, don’t get as much of the surplus created by [...]
  • Top Posts

Conflucian Cocktail Party: We need a little Christmas

Oh, man!  I am all lost now.  WordPress has changed its post page.  All the icons have moved to different places.  Bear with me while I figure this sucker out.

It’s that time of year again.  Time to break out the decorations.  You don’t even have to be Christian to play along, as my mother, the Jehovah’s Witness never tired of reminding me.  Much of the Christmas holiday is grounded in Saturnalia that the Christians copped from the Romans.  That whole holly and ivy thing?  Probably copied from the Celts who had a thing for dragging greenery into the house, as did the Germans with their trees.

This year, I’m a little more excited about Christmas than I have been in the past.  The days got short on me almost without warning.  I don’t know where the summer went while I was blogging and coming home from work in the dark is just dreary.  But right around Christmas time, the days will start to lengthen again and before you know it, the birds will be waking you up at 5:00AM.  It’s something to look forward to, not to mention the smell of Christmas tree, the sparkle of tinsel and the taste of cinnamon and cloves.

So, settle back and join in this first of many Conflucian Holiday Parties.  I hope to see a Hannukah party and a little something on Kwanzaa too.  Rico our bartender with flair is taking the night off.  He’s beat.  I know just how he feels.  But never fear.  We still have cocktails.  Our guest bartender tonight is Alberta Straub, or “Flighty”.  Her special drink for the night is a Date With David Bowie.  Check it out:

I’m sipping a Bulleit Bourbon with middle notes that remind me of Juicy Fruit gum.  Delish!  But you can order anything you like.

Our entertainment tonight is from an American classic, a Charlie Brown Christmas.  Vince Guaraldi’s cool, west coast jazz was a perfect accompaniment to the round headed kid who was the very opposite of cool.  Feel the anticipation with Christmas is Coming:

Or Saturnalia.  Feel your inner pagan.

Ladies and Gents, regulars and newcomers, we run a respectable joint around here.  If you can’t say something nice, leave it with Florence, our lovely checkroom attendant.  The waiters will be circulating with some of the marshmallows we made earlier in the day, some cheddar cheese sticks and piggy back dates.  Please drink responsibly, tip your wait staff generously and join me at 10PM EST for Conflucians Say on PUMA United Radio (PURrrr).

73 Responses

  1. already qued and waiting!

  2. damn now one could find a vid of ms landsbury in Mame singing need a little christmas?

  3. Merry Christmas to all.
    I wish you all joy and peace and comfort for the coming year.
    I wish you all laughter and I am glad to have come to know all of you through this site.

    Riverdaughter if you do decide to run for congress I will support you and ask my family in NJ to help you all they can.

    WOMEN,MEN WHO SUPPORT THEM AND COUNTRY BEFORE PARTY ALWAYS

    PUMAS,BUBBAS AND THOSE PEOPLE RULE

  4. fuzzy — no video on youtube of Angela Landsbury, but you can listen to her on napster for free:

    http://home.napster.com/ns/music/track.html?track_id=15286022

    or buy the song for .99 cents at amazon:

  5. Eek! I’m in moderation — I’m trying to give fuzzy links for Angela Landsbury

  6. Good night everybody — I’m beat.

  7. Now that I’m thinking more and more about our upcoming big move, I’m in the move for this:

    Song Around the World “Stand By Me”

  8. Nite Angie!

  9. Slow night.

  10. Everyone is quiet this evening except, of course, the voices in my head.

  11. lol, since the VG vid wasn’t available, I had to head to my piano and play it myself prolix …

  12. I don’t know if it’s my machine or what, but these pages are loading so slowly that Amy Whitehouse could detox in between page refreshing.

  13. MABlue – that Stand By Me version is fantastic! One of the ones you don’t forget.

    No drinks for me – I’m on call.

  14. Prolix:

    I do what the voices in my pants tell me to do.

  15. MyIq,

    Isn’t it difficult to pick the voices out in a crowd?

  16. Apparently the debt still isn’t settled but they haven’t quit trying. (way to go, P-Elect BO)

    Please join me on Monday, December 16 to help retire Hillary’s debt at:
    Hillary Live!
    with Senator Hillary Clinton and President Bill Clinton, hosted by America Ferrara.

    *shrug* I may be alone in this but if I was in NYC right now, I’d be all over this.

  17. What I need to be all over is this brief I have to write.

    Good night to all the lurkers.

  18. Prolix:

    It’s easy – the voices in my head don’t speak English.

    They do argue with each other a lot though.

    At least it sounds like they’re arguing.

  19. A friend just wrote that Hillary’s Mom is going to write a children’s book on Hillary’s run for president and the proceeds will go to pay off her debt.

    Hmm. Children would not be able to read the book I would write on Hillary’s run for president.

  20. Obama give to his followers another episode of “So long… Suckers!”

    Campaign Promises on Ending the War in Iraq Now Muted by Reality

    And here is my long deep thought for the day:

    David Frum is…wait for it… an IDIOT! Does he really get paid for such tripe? Hillary’s putsch

  21. Wonderful renditions of “Stand By Me.” Ben E. King was a great one though.

  22. David Dumb wrote:
    Everybody understands that she wants very badly to be president.

    Does everyone understand Obama wanted to be president so badly he’d lie, cheat and steal to do it? It’s pathetic to read the Frums and Olbermans and Sullivans of the world – weak men who have a problem with strong women.

  23. Dems Give White House Ultimatum on Auto Bailout

    http://blogs.abcnews.com/politicalradar/2008/12/dems-give-bush.html

  24. Remember Save the Last Dance for Me?

  25. Vince Guaraldi’s “Christmas time is here” instrumental, ahhh, thanks for the selection RD …

  26. BB:

    That song’s a K-I-L-L-E-R.

    I danced to the much newer rendition when I was in high school. You just threw me a couple of years back.

    Wow!

  27. More Vince Guaraldi, “Skating”

  28. Did you see this comment on the Detroit bailout piece?:

    “The guys in Detroit in dread of their jobs vanishing before Christmas are making $28 an hour, maybe $38 with benefits and pension.”

    I’m in the wrong business. Plus I’ve got school loans.

  29. MABlue,

    I’m an oldie but a goodie. I practically remember the whole history of rock ‘n roll. I started watching American Bandstand when I was in 4th grade.

  30. I missed the entire rock’ n roll story. I wasn’t even born when the Rolling Stones were in their prime.

    However, I know tons of R&B oldies, although I mostly come across the most recent rendition and walk back to discover who performed the original version.

  31. Try this one:

  32. MABlue:

    Why do you think the Stones are past their prime?

    They’re still selling out concerts and sleeping with teenaged groupies.

  33. I had the Rolling Stones First Album. In fact it’s probably in my basement.

  34. The first music album I ever bought was “Frampton Comes Alive”

    I previously owned a couple Alvin & The Chipmunks albums but they were gifts.

  35. Did someone fart? I smell shit but I don’t see any turds.

  36. I can’t remember the first album I bought. In my day everyone bought 45s. But it was probably in the early ’60s.

  37. Yeah, some troll dropped in briefly.

  38. Myiq:

    I have The Stones entire discography. There’s no question that their prime war the period 1968-1972.

    Sticky Fingers? Exile on Main Street? Nothing better came after that.

  39. One of the first 45’s I ever owned was “Snoopy vs. The Red Baron”

  40. I used to have the “Some Girls” 8-track

  41. I’m off to bed, at least for a while

  42. Sleep well…

  43. There seems to be some senators & congress critters who want Obama to ‘ramp it up ‘ .. . they are publicly applying pressure …. hmmmmn .

    http://news.google.com/nwshp?sourceid=navclient&ie=UTF-8&ncl=1277601055&hl=en&topic=h

  44. It seems Obama has a friend on the SCOTUS, one C. Thomas, for whom the issue of citizenship is of “interest”.

    http://www.washingtontimes.com/news/2008/dec/05/court-to-weigh-question-about-obama-citizenship/

    …and all the while the Russians have a Panama cruise arranged for their navy, and the Israelis are at the drawing boards on how to “go it alone” with Iran. Sleep? I wish I could… *envy*

  45. Good luck to any Dems hoping Obama will “step up.” They shouldn’t have chosen Mr. Cautious if they wanted leadership.

  46. Democrats: doesn’t have the word ‘dim’ in it for nothing.

  47. When the world ends …:)

  48. DOWN BY THE RIVER/BUDDY MILES

  49. All you rock and rollers
    I was around when it started. Had one of the Eberly Bros carry me across a street so my shoes would not get wet.
    At that time they went to clubs and bars did not have stadium shows.
    If any of you remember Live Aid in Phila and London, I have the whole show on tape and I converted it to dvds for my kids.
    Commercials and all.
    The ads for a camaro are a riot.
    I had one of the conductors on my extra list who did not know who duane eddy was. I sent him a cd and he learned how to play Rebel Rouser on his guitar for me.

    WOMEN,MEN WHO SUPPORT THEM AND COUNTRY BEFORE PARTY ALWAYS

    PUMAS, BUBBAS, AND THOSE PEOPLE RULE

  50. Dems want him to ramp it up? ROTFLMAO!

    That’s not who you elected Barney. You gave us the guy who’s never made a decision of his own in his entire political career.

    If you wanted ramp it up you all should have backed the woman!

  51. Obama’s donor list asked to help pay Clinton debt

    http://www.iht.com/articles/ap/2008/12/05/america/NA-US-Clinton-Debt.php

  52. When myiq wakes up, somebody tell him about the odor down on the Riverdaughter thread from yesterday.

  53. My generation had the beginning of rock and roll, big band, country and western, rhythm and blues. and blues.
    Bill Haley used to play at a tavern that a friend of mine stepfather owned.
    I wish the music today was as good and as varied.
    The kids now get cheated big time.

    WOMEN,MEN WHO SUPPORT THEM AND COUNTRY BEFORE PARTY ALWAYS

    PUMAS,BUBBAS, AND THOSE PEOPLE RULE

  54. I love “Down By The River”! Thanks, Briana for posting it. Don’t know if there are any funk/fusion/jazz fans here, but Billy Cobham’s “Snoopy’s Search/Red Baron” was fun back in the day with Boone’s Farm and a bong. It was also a good “freak out the parental units” thing, too.

  55. billy cobham snoopys search / red baron

    Is this the one you like Cinie ?? .. I hope so . sounds Good . I like these drums . !!!

  56. rotf….. Bb & Fredster .. you both making me laugh .. hard.

    Oman’s gonna ramp it up .. !!! ..

  57. Helenk .. Sounds like YOU has some fun .. !!!!

  58. My generation had Disco

  59. Briana, you know as well as I know…it’s going to be everyone else making the decisions and then putting Obie out in front of the mics to mouth the words.

    That’s what we have for the next 4 years. Sad, very sad.

  60. My generation has Hope-Hop.

    Music’s been in a steady decline since video killed the radio star.

  61. myiq2xu
    You poor deprived child.
    We had a ball. we danced and sang and the only drug was alcohol.
    When I was 18, I had cards making me 23. I went to a bar that we all went to every Friday.
    The bartender was carding everyone that nite. I answered all the questions right until he asked the year I was born. Dumb me I told him the truth.
    He said I could still come in but could not drink. Which was fine with me. But being 18 and young and dumb, I decided to drink orange juice so people would think I was drinking screw drivers.
    One night when I came in, it was two deep at the bar and being the cool person that I was I yelled to the bartender “I will have the usual”. At the top of his lungs he yelled “one orange juice coming up straight.”
    Taught me a good lesson , don’t try to be what you are not.

    WOMEN,MEN WHO SUPPORT THEM AND COUNTRY BEFORE PARTY ALWAYS

    PUMAS,BUBBAS, AND THOSE PEOPLE RULE

  62. myiq2xu, on December 5th, 2008 at 2:40 am Said:

    My generation had Disco

    Did you have a leisure suit?

    http://www.dressthatman.com/cgi-bin/shopper.cgi?preadd=action&key=SUIT447

  63. Yeah Fred .. You are right …. He has told us twice now that “He is the decider ” .. not the exact words .. but that’s what he meant …

    This doesn’t sound too great ..good news is that it hasn’t happened .. ..

    http://www.partizane.com/node/489#comments

  64. Yeah Fred .. You are right …. He has told us twice now that “He is the decider ” .. not the exact words .. but that’s what he meant …

    This doesn’t sound too great ..good news is that it hasn’t happened .. ..

    http://www.partizane.com/node/489#comments

  65. Myiq .. give us a hint ..

    The Trammps Disco Inferno

    I was in love with Donna Summer ..

  66. I still want to know if myiq had his leisure suit?

    I had one! Oh shades of aunt poly and esther! :lol:

  67. I’m thanking Taylor Marsh for a good night laugh. I went over there for the first time in probably 6 months since I dropped in once to see what kind of drivel she was writing about PUMAs. It feels good to see 15 comments in many of her posts. Some have 0 comments. She’s back to being a hack for MSNBC. Any former Clinton supporter who lived through this election year and can still stand watching Olbermann and Matthews and even praise them on their blog is someone who will do and say anything to further their “career”. I don’t suggest going over there. No need to give her the extra hits.
    It’s also good to see NoQuarter getting more hits than TM or TalkLeft these days.

  68. Briana, I meant to post the link, my bad. Here’s another version, I like it too because it features George Duke.

    I also love Steely Dan, this version of “Show Biz Kids” with Michael McDonald is a fave.

  69. Fredster:

    Powder blue, with a pair of platform shoes

  70. DisenfranchisedVoter
    Thanks for that report — I left, just before she got on her knees to the trolls — and never looked back.

    I do give her credit for doing some good digging on Obama’s shady past in Chicago and his strange friends — plus that crooked deal on his mansion — but then she was only copying others work. I tootled over the NQ to see the real research on the Obama’s deal with Rezko.

    This has been the strangest election YEAR in history. The next 4 years will be hell. Sometimes I really wish I was just an artist and didn’t have degrees in Behavioral Science — I’ve studied personality development — and was trained how to do personality assessments. But you do NOT need a degree — you merely look at a person’s past behavior in order to predict future behavior. It is really just common sense. The longer we live the more people we meet and we begin to see patterns of behavior.

    Obama is an Academic Gadfly — he is a BS artist — he knows a lot of tricks (mind games) — but he is NOT a leader. He can play a leader on TV — but he does not have the personality of a leader. I’m not telling you all anything new.

    Thankfully there are enough of us who can see that the guy is a con artist . . . .

  71. Who is going to go argue with that Kate tr011 thing on the Riverdaughter thread from yesterday? Ii sure don’t have the time.

  72. nijma:

    If you feed a tro!! it will never leave and may bring its friends.

  73. The problem with tr0ll$ is that there is always someone willing to take them at face value and feed them. This one is particularly passive-aggressive. But now I think I’m remembering that WordPress doesn’t let you edit comments unless you initiated the thread. Hopefully RDs remarks did the trick.

Comments are closed.

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 470 other followers

