• Tips gratefully accepted here. Thanks!:

  • Recent Comments

    r u reddy on Lions, George Bush and Li…
    Monster from the Id on How religious narcissism …
    Sweet Sue on How religious narcissism …
    Monster from the Id on Lions, George Bush and Li…
    Sweet Sue on Lions, George Bush and Li…
    riverdaughter on Lions, George Bush and Li…
    Monster from the Id on Lions, George Bush and Li…
    riverdaughter on Lions, George Bush and Li…
    Monster from the Id on Lions, George Bush and Li…
    Monster from the Id on Lions, George Bush and Li…
    riverdaughter on Lions, George Bush and Li…
    bellecat on Lions, George Bush and Li…
    riverdaughter on Lions, George Bush and Li…
    Monster from the Id on Lions, George Bush and Li…
    churl on Lions, George Bush and Li…
  • Categories


  • Tags

    abortion Add new tag Afghanistan Al Franken Anglachel Atrios bankers Barack Obama big pharma Bill Clinton Chris Christie cocktails Conflucians Say Dailykos debate Democratic Party Democrats Digby DNC Donna Brazile Economy Elizabeth Warren feminism Florida Fox News General Glenn Beck Glenn Greenwald Goldman Sachs health care Health Care Reform Hillary Clinton Howard Dean Joe Biden John Edwards John McCain Jon Corzine Karl Rove Keith Olbermann Matt Taibbi Media medicare Michelle Obama Michigan misogyny Mitt Romney Morning Edition Morning News Links Nancy Pelosi New Jersey news NO WE WON'T Obama Obamacare occupy wall street OccupyWallStreet Open thread Paul Krugman Politics Presidential Election 2008 PUMA racism Republicans Sarah Palin sexism Single Payer snark Social Security Supreme Court Terry Gross Tim Geithner unemployment Wall Street WikiLeaks women
  • Archives

  • History

  • RSS Paul Krugman: Conscience of a Liberal

  • The Confluence

    The Confluence

  • RSS Suburban Guerrilla

    • NOAA: Alaska fisheries and communities at risk from ocean acidification…
      The NOAA has released a study on the acidification of the oceans and the impacts it will have on Alaska’s coast. The predictions are very grim… What is ocean acidification? When carbon dioxide dissolves in this ocean, carbonic acid is formed. This leads to higher acidity, mainly near the surface, which has been proven to […]
  • RSS Ian Welsh

    • The Beginning of an End of the Trans-Atlantic Alliance
      Ian described the proposed EU sanctions on Russia as “not shabby”, but while they are somewhat more serious sanctions than heretofore it’s only somewhat. The most serious ones are the ones on Russia’s financial institutions. Yes it’ll raise costs but will hurt London and Frankfurt including reputationally. It will also have the effect of encouraging [...] […]
  • Top Posts

How dare Hillary run for President?

As suggested by Grace (Updated)

[UPDATE]

I have two things:

First here’s the link to donate to Hillary’s campaign in Pennsylvania. We can specify where we want our money to go. And I’m only waiting for advise: How should I distribute my donation? Choices are, TV Airtime, Online Ads, Radio Airtime and Signs.

Second, PLEASE follow the video to the YouTube site to recommend and comment on Hillary Clinton: Mad As Hell/Bitch. They’ve had a lot of viewers today, but they could sure use some public love from us. Out of over 7,000 viewers, they’ve had only 225 ratings. And many of their comments are negative and abusive.

We can change that for the better!

36 Responses

  1. It’s not for the faint of heart. But it does end on a high note.

    (still shaking)

  2. The Patrick Bateman/talking head hydra was hilarious.

  3. Also, and not that this would surprise anyone, MSNBC was in full “Hillary in trouble” mode this morning as they are every morning. Today was especially notable because they’ve begun using the “some have said/some are saying” blind item tactic made famous by Fox News.

    I am sure Keith is adding his own network to Worst Persons tonight. Uh huh.

  4. riverdaughter…you’re gonna love this!!!!!
    ——————————————————-

    Sunday, April 06, 2008

    By: Connie Schultz – Plain Dealer Columnist (Cleveland, OH)

    Full Article:

    Someone tell me, please, how grown men in 2008 can believe it’s their
    right – their duty, even – to tell a woman when she should rein in
    her ambition and go home.

    Male columnists, male politicians, male talking heads,
    male “surrogates” – all of them harrumphing that it’s time for
    Hillary Clinton to stop it, just stop it, with all this talk of being
    president.

    Who cares if the race is close? So what if millions of Americans
    believe their yet-to-be-cast votes matter? Voters, schmoters. When
    was this ever about them?

    Hillary Clinton, they insist, must quit.

    Well, boys, you’d better sit down for this one: This is no longer
    the playground of your youth. The girls aren’t sitting in the stands
    keeping score and cheering whenever you’re at bat. In fact, the girls
    aren’t girls at all anymore. We’re all grown up, and we are so done
    with this notion that the trajectory of our lives must end at the
    border of your comfort zone.

    Hillary Clinton marched across that border miles ago, and she is not
    about to surrender. Not now, anyway, and not ever because you said
    so. And if you’ve got anything besides hubris knocking around in
    those heads of yours, you will take note of the potential backfire in
    your volley.

    “OK, now I’m mad,” a friend, Karen, told me last week. “Who do they
    think they are?”

    She supports Barack Obama, but the thought of finger-wagging men
    telling a woman what to do really set her off. She might change her
    vote, and anyone reading some of the comments on newspapers’ Web
    sites and blogs knows she’s not alone.

    I’m thinkin’ that’s not where you fellas were going with this one.
    But I also think I can help.

    The problem here is that you don’t understand the tenacity of
    American women.

    It’s not all your fault. Your history books were full of tales of
    manly men beating each other up and then taking the livestock and
    womenfolk as prizes. Frankly, you were misled.

    You didn’t learn about how women risked their lives birthing babies
    in open fields and harboring escaped slaves on their flight to
    freedom. You probably didn’t spend much time on how Alice Paul and
    her fellow suffragettes were tortured in prison because they dared to
    picket for the right to vote. And chances are you’ve never cracked
    the spine of the book “Women’s Letters: America From the
    Revolutionary War to the Present” by Lisa Grunwald and Stephen J.
    Adler. If you had, you would have seen the letter Abigail Grant wrote
    to her husband, Aszariah, in 1776 after she found out he had been
    less than heroic in the battle at Bunker Hill.

    “Loving Husband,” her note began. “I hear by Capt Wm Riley news that
    makes me very Sorry for he Says you proved a Grand Coward when the
    fight was at Bunkers hill & in your Surprise he reports that you
    threw away your Cartridges So as to escape going into the
    Battle. . . . [I]f you are afraid pray own the truth & come home &
    take care of our Children & I will be Glad to Come & take your place,
    & never will be Called a Coward, neither will I throw away one
    Cartridge but exert myself bravely in so good a Cause.”

    See, that’s the thing. You’ve got to remember that there’s a bit of
    Abigail Grant in a whole lot of us women. Granted, we hide it well.
    Most women are all fervor and no fanfare, running everything from
    companies and campaigns to families and food drives without so much
    as a plaque with their names on it at the end of it all.

    We’re full of fight, too, which is the only way we got the vote, the
    pill and the right to own property, as opposed to being property. We
    don’t beat our breasts and brag about this, though, which appears to
    be part of the problem. Some men apparently still confuse humility
    with acquiescence, and then they think we need their permission to
    make a difference.

    One mile at a time, Hillary Clinton is clearing a new road, taking
    hits for the rest of us along the way.

    “It feels so personal,” another friend, Mary, told me. “Whenever I
    hear men bash Hillary, it feels like they’re attacking me.”

    See, guys, that’s not good.

    Remember: Abigail Grant lives.

  5. I just keep thinking of that Times “endorsement” which said she had to watch her “tone.”

  6. Hi, I’m not from America, so, it’s not really my place to comment on your politics. But I’ve to say, watching this and reading the comments on this youtube is painful.

    In my most humble opinion, the lack of respect for a public servant who has given and done so much for your country is horrifying. I don’t presume to know everything about your country but the hatred towards Senator Hillary Clinton, I emphasize, a public servant, who is certainly not perfect (who is?) but has certainly contributed a lot and is a internationally respected figure, is really shocking.

    You don’t have to like someone’s character or personality to respect someone. You don’t have to agree with everything a person did to respect someone. Someone who has contributed so much to public service, to your country, in my most humble opinion, deserves respect.

    Even if you don’t agree with everything Senator Clinton did, do you not agree that she did contribute to your country? Do you not agree she did do something for the people, no matter how little or self serving you think it is? Compare what she did for the people to what you did in your life, do you not agree that respect is the least you can give her?

    So, what did she do that make her so hated and lost her all that respect? Some votes in the congress? Then you have to find out all those who voted the same way as her and hate them and disrespect them as well. There are reasons it’s a congress. One person cannot make the ultimate decision. So why???

    Think before you answer and don’t give the answers to me. Those answers, belong to you.

  7. I love this video, I think it summarizes Hillary very well. This is what I love about her, she’s strong, compassionate, angry, inspirational, thoughtful and brilliant. This is our president. Hail to the Chieftess!

  8. thanks to you, katiebird, here’s me, spreading the goodness! ;-))

    i have a dream, too.

  9. squib:

    Senator Hillary Clinton, I emphasize, a public servant, who is certainly not perfect (who is?) but has certainly contributed a lot and is a internationally respected figure, is really shocking.

    I totally agree. As to why these people say these things about her (and why the commenters at youtube are so hateful), I don’t know.

    But, this site is dedicated to fighting them and supporting Hillary in her campaign.

  10. Whaleshaman, I stopped by briefly at your site. I have to run off for a blood test, but I’ll be back to comment on your blog later.

    xxoo

  11. squib: Oh, dear! We LOVE Hillary and this song celebrates Bitch in the nicest possible way. We embrace that word. Hey, if the other side is going to fling it at us, we should wear it well.
    I hope you didn’t think we thought less of her because of it. Nothing could be further from the truth.

  12. Shainzona, I’ll be back as soon as I can to read that more carefully — thanks for sharing it!

  13. Sha: Thanks for the article. It sounds like us all right. I don’t think Markos et al really know what they’re dealing with.

  14. Katiebird, riverdaughter
    I know this is a site that supports Hillary. =)

    Just had to get that rant off my chest. I’ve been following this election for some time because the economy of USA does affect the world’s economy. That rant is not for you but for those who are blinded by etc, etc, etc, etc………..

    For all of you on this nice site, this is what I have to say. Keep up the good fight!!!!

  15. Squib: Thanks for the encouragement. We need all of the positive thoughts we can get.

  16. oh, that was Patrick Bateman. I knew it looked familiar. nice. the vid was a bit over the top but props for taking the piss out of Keith Olbermann.

  17. riverdaughter: “I don’t think Markos et al really know what they’re dealing with.” Oh no they don’t, and they are in for a big surprise. Enough is enough.

  18. Great video.

    Honestly, I don’t know why anyone ever was enamored by Olberman. He is extemely shallow, has a flat voice devoid of passion, and he pathetically tries to fake passion at each Special Comment.

    OTOH, Joe Scarborough (elected as an R in 1994) is falling in love with Hillary! There is a video of him saying, he likes to write a book about her, and call it “True Grit”. “John Wayne played it on TV, Hillary Clinton lives it every day”.

  19. I’d say great video but it really is too fucking depressing. I think it is clear that the people of the United States of America do not deserve to have a wonderful president that Hillary would undoubtedly be. I also think that it is clear that every female and rational male should in fact write in Hillary’s name in the general election if she is not the democratic nominee. With a concerted effort by us and the overwhelming majority of women she could really win the general despite being crooked over by the dems. One thing is clear is that a vote for Obama is a vote for blatant sexism and relegating women back to second class citizenship. How the dem elite could prop up such an inferior candidate is bone chllingly and beyond my comprehension. Even if she isn’t the nominee we can still elect the president of our dreams. We just need to throw conventional wisdom (not that it was ever right anyway) out the window.

  20. I was utterly sickened and pissed off for women while watching this. I am now a more determined voter for Hillary.

    It gave me pause to think about my own mother and grandmother. Both, during WWII, were “Rosie the Rivieter” types working in an aircraft plant.

    My grandmother, married at either 14 or 15 and divorced soon after, raising a child on her own during the Depression. My grandmother and her sister moved in together, both raising their children. My mother, during summers, going down to Dothan in south Alabama to work on great-granny’s place, working in the fields along with the grown-up field hands so she could earn money which, at the end of the summer, she brought back to Birmingham and that’s what she and my grandmother used to buy material so clothes could be sewn for school in the fall.

    LOL! Whenever my dad got orders for overseas (and always unaccompanied tours) Mom was left to get the house ready for moving, clear quarters, get us packed up and move to wherever we were going while my Dad was out of the country. In other words, she was always cleaning up the shit!

    After seeing this, I’ve got to go donate some more to the campaign.

  21. Katiebird, thank you. This is just so shocking. Yet inspiring. We can’t be silent.

    I am indeed mad as hell and won’t take it anymore.

  22. Seeing all of the sexist, hateful comments on top of each other really brought home the fact that the MSM is completely irresponsible and void of journalistic ethics. It also inspired me to donate to HRC again and make more calls for her in PA!

  23. I’m a 50 year old woman who has been supporting Clinton because she is leaps and bounds better than her opponent on every level.

    If it was Hillary vs Al Gore, I’d go with Al in a heartbeat since my main life-long concern is environment.

    It has been an amazingly clear choice to me since I first started researching her opponent and found a plethora of reasons to find him ill equipped for the job.

    That she is a woman is just a bonus. That she brings along the brilliant ear and sounding board of Bill is also just an added extra.

    Hillary IS our only true hope.

    This video is so powerful and true and needed.

    Thank you!

  24. Hi,

    I’m IndyRobin and my frined and I GeekLove made the video you are discussing. Could ya do us a favor? Run over to YouTube and post a commet, rac it and mark it as a fav.

    The Obama Supporters are leaving a nasty trail.

    It took us a month to make this video. Please take a few sec’s to help us. We want it to stay on YOUTUBE to help Hillary. THANKS

  25. What a wonderful video! It’s the best one I’ve seen yet.

  26. Hey folks. I sent the link to a friend of mine in OH (already voted in primary and for Hillary). Phew! The email I got back was full of expletives! She had not seen all the sexist remarks put together that way and was madder than hell.

    I told her to channel that anger and got give $$$s.

  27. IndyRobin, I bumped the video and added your request.

  28. Charles, that was my feeling too. In fact the first half was so upsetting, I’m not sure I would/could have posted it without that second half.

    Since then, I’ve found myself stewing about all the people who DON’T defend her.

    That it’s acceptable to talk about her in terms that would get people fired if they said it about anyone, anyone else.

    Why doesn’t Dean or the other NY Politicians stand up for her. Why is it allowed?

  29. IndyRobin – Great vid – thanks, I rated and commented.

    How do we reach Howie – I have a string of emails back and forth to the infamous screeching D. Brazile, she has lost it. I have in the past emailed a Phil McNamara but I would like to reach out and touch Howie – anyone know?

  30. [...]   Sexism in All Shapes and Forms – US Media Edition April 7th, 2008 by SocProf and tagged Gender, Patriarchy, Politics, Sexism As per orders from Riverdaughter: [...]

  31. @IndyRobin: I see you’ve disabled the ratings and comments. I’m so sorry you had to do that. But I’d like to thank you for doing such a remarkable job even though the first half was like a punch in the gut. Again, thank you.

    I wish I could send more money to her campaign but I’m officially maxed out. I’ll be sending that video to friends of mine, though, to see what scraps we could muster.

  32. Wow. That video made me shake, just like Katiebird. And then it made me so angry. My husband watched it with me, and finally had to turn away. He couldn’t take the first half, all the horrible vitriol spewed at her because she’s a woman.

    So far, we have so far to go still. Well, the only way to get there is to keep trudging on and fighting. So I’m off to give her the few dollars I saved up to eat out this week.

  33. Sending this out to my list… Hopefully, they’ll feel the same anger and then hope that I did.

    So glad I found you Riverdaughter, I always respected your opinion at Kos (where I was a daily lurker) and yours was one of the voices I missed when I got “as mad as hell” and couldn’t take it any more over there. I’ll be sending out your url to my list too.

    “Give ‘em HEALTH Hillary” … my new favorite quote!

  34. I’m down here in NC and will vote on May 6th. I’m barely hanging on as a Hillary fan. I like virtually all of her policies in comparison to the Irish kid’s… you know, O’Bama. Nonetheless, I’m at the point where I can’t believe anything she says, I recently read an article wherein she teamed up with some lunatic fringe Republicans on bills that were contrary to our interests: partnering with people like Rick Santorum and Bennett of Utah. The article can be found here. (http://www.motherjones.com/news/feature/2007/09/hillarys-prayer.html ) She has always supported the ill-named “Defense of Marriage Act” and wants a Constitutional amendment to ban flag burning.
    As I learn more, her values v. my values are coming into question.
    Next I have to question the scorched earth policy campaign her campaign seems to be following. The chap who compared her to Tonya Harding had it right on the money, I believe. It really does appear to me that if she can’t win, she does not want Obama to win. That’s just wrong.

  35. oh Burce – thou art so phony. Keepth thy crapth for thyself and refrainith from wasting our time (eth)

  36. Oh Judice, (I can misspell too) in what way am I phony and full of crap? Do you have some authoritative refutation for any of my points? Are you a fan of the Defense of Marriage Act? Do you think flag burning should be banned, even though it rarely happens and the Supremes have ruled that it is protected speech? Did you read the MoJo article? Do you approve of the behavior of Hillary’s surrogate’s in the campaign?

Comments are closed.

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 433 other followers

